Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great film and transfer with Bluray authoring glitch
Yes, the film is a cult classic, and the Bluray transfer is excellent. We finally get to see this film in its uncut glory, with all the excised scenes restored. Great. However, as has been noted elsewhere at forums on the Internet, the first batch of this release has an error on the Bluray disc, where the image breaks up and moves in slow motion for a few seconds. Other...
Published 4 months ago by Daniel Lantz

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great movie but defective mastering?
I love the movie and I love the packaging, but I've now had to send two copies of this back because of defective picture. On the Blu-Ray disc, on the 1.37:1 version of the movie, the picture breaks up at the 14:37 mark. One defective disc I can wave away, but two? With exactly the same defect in exactly the same place? Check your copies. I understand other customers are...
Published 4 months ago by S. Woolston


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great movie but defective mastering?, 30 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frankenstein And The Monster From Hell( 2 DVD + 1 Blu-Ray) (DVD)
I love the movie and I love the packaging, but I've now had to send two copies of this back because of defective picture. On the Blu-Ray disc, on the 1.37:1 version of the movie, the picture breaks up at the 14:37 mark. One defective disc I can wave away, but two? With exactly the same defect in exactly the same place? Check your copies. I understand other customers are complaining too on other forums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great film and transfer with Bluray authoring glitch, 6 May 2014
By 
Daniel Lantz "Lantz" (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frankenstein And The Monster From Hell( 2 DVD + 1 Blu-Ray) (DVD)
Yes, the film is a cult classic, and the Bluray transfer is excellent. We finally get to see this film in its uncut glory, with all the excised scenes restored. Great. However, as has been noted elsewhere at forums on the Internet, the first batch of this release has an error on the Bluray disc, where the image breaks up and moves in slow motion for a few seconds. Other posters here have the exact timing information. I use an OPPO with the latest firmware and have usually never any problems with playback, but these issues are evident at first glance.

So please, Icon, you need to issue a replacement Bluray disc. These glitches truly upset the film experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Replacement Disc, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frankenstein And The Monster From Hell( 2 DVD + 1 Blu-Ray) (DVD)
I loved the set, despite having the two minute glitches on the two ratios of the film.

I sent my Blu-ray disc to this Freepost address (on Saturday 18th May and the replacement arrived yesterday, on the 21st)

Freepost RTJA-KZTL-JECZ
ICON RETURNS
Wednesbury One
Black Country New Road
Wednesbury
WS10 7NY

(Don't forget to add your contact details, address etc with the faulty disc)

To make sure they had my details, I also sent an email to: dvdteam@sonopress.co.uk

The new disc was free of the problems and proudly goes with my other Icon Hammer discs. Thanks Icon for the quick response!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why is Amazon still selling defective copies?, 8 May 2014
By 
George R. Reis "Bansheeman" (East Meadow, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frankenstein And The Monster From Hell( 2 DVD + 1 Blu-Ray) (DVD)
If Amazon has an initial batch of defective copies of this for sale, why are they still selling it? If buyers send back their defective Blu-rays, they're going to get a copy with the same problem in exchange. Now is the time to suspend this until Icon straightens things out. Here is their response to the problem:

Dear Hammer Fans,

Icon Home Entertainment have released this statement regarding an alleged fault with the Blu-Ray release of Frankenstein & the Monster from Hell:

"Further to the results of an independent quality control review we can confirm that there was an inherent fault present in the first run of the Blu-Ray included in “Frankenstein & The Monster From Hell”, catalogue number: ICON70235

We will be re-issuing the film from a corrected master with a fresh catalogue number.

We are in the process of setting up a freepost address to which customers affected can send the faulty Blu-Ray disc of “Frankenstein & The Monster From Hell” for replacement by return.

The address and further instructions on the return programme will be confirmed and announced tomorrow.

It’s great to hear all the positive comments about the product and the recognition of the amount of effort that Icon, Hammer and our various partners have put into this release. We’re very proud of it and want to ensure that people have the best possible experience of it. We thank you for your patience in this matter."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "And how is God today?", 27 Sep 2007
By 
Terence Fisher's last film for Hammer sees him re-united with the excellent Peter Cushing and doing what he does best: Creating a dark, alien world by applying lush, watery colours and employing aqueous camera tracking shots and pealing, nagging music themes to tell a simple, gory fairy-tale.

Fisher's influence is omnipresent in today's cinema.
I saw 'Pan's Labyrinth' recently and afforded myself a grin at del Toro's gentle homage; his camera moving smoothly yet malevolently through the forest trees on the edge of the soldier's camp - just as Fisher's so often did. And am I alone in thinking that the asylum set here at 'FATMFH' (though making 'Cell Block H's look like 'Lord of the Rings' in terms of budget) bears more than a passing resemblance to the long-shot interiors of the good-ship Nostromo; so primary to the success of 'Alien'.

Fisher was a straight forward story-teller, the budget restrictions he worked under saw to that. No camera pyrotechnics or arty delusions; no modernist interlucence or ambitious Russellian flourishes for him.
No million dollar special effects, no prima-donna histrionics if he wasn't allowed more weeks to finish his latest masterpiece...
A team player. A grapnel. A proper old school pro.

Modern directors would pay a fortune for just a pinch of 'FATMFH's dank, enclosed atmosphere - - and many have tried to emulate it....Tim Burton being the most obvious example, with varying degrees of success (Try shaving 90% off your budget Tim, that should do it).

Despite the wistful reminiscences, 'FATMFH' is certainly not kid-friendly.
An ugly incest sub-plot involving the ambrosial Madeline Smith hints at foul creationist engineering, and the (fabulous, considering the budget) runny surgical sequences had my long-suffering girlfriend reaching for her trusty 'green cushion' (the Ess household's equivalent of the Dr Who 'sofa') in amusing revulsion.

There's a lot to amuse as well:
Cushing looks as though he's having an absolute blast as the icily dedicated but clearly bonkers Baron F.
The 'God' character: mock-solemn, but really funny in a scabby, mad-haired, drunken itinerant kind of way.
A brilliantly low budget courtroom scene, where a pompous-rector judge's lines have obviously just been written ten minutes before; and a scene towards the end where one of the warders shouts: "There's a monster at large!" at a mob of strung-out lunatics, makes me snicker like a scalpel incision every time.

Technically, it's not bad, either.
Music, editing and the aforementioned sets are all good (just don't look TOO closely!), and the only slight reservation I have is the 'monster' itself. Though facially hideous, it's body looks like it's made of dusty buckram or something, draped in a muddy kaftan shawl (sorry, I've just been watching Glastonbury), but it's a small niggle.

In short, a rousing and grimly entertaining epigraph to some very talented and influential folk that we won't see the like of again.
The ultimate star rating then. Not just for the movie, which I like a lot, but for all that these people endeavored, achieved, meant...and still do.

{I took Mr. Retrostar's advice and tracked down the much-more-complete German R2 dvd (hence the late review), as the razored 'DD' release is a mockery.
It's miles better.
Broadened colours, and the German language soundtrack is easily turned to English. It's troublesome reviewing a film (or anything!!) when big chunks of it are missing -- and no, those rotters at the BBFC bear no blame this time. Well worth the effort.}
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awful title on a solid and intelligent film, 21 Mar 2001
By A Customer
The Hammer series of Frankenstein films always took the subject far more seriously than those that emanated from the USA.
The English films were never intentionally camp and while the Universal series quickly degenerated to the likes of "Abbott and Costello meet Frankenstein" by episode five the Hammer series were just finding their mettle.
"Frankenstein and the Monster From Hell" is late in the Hammer series and could easily be called the most intelligent and thought provoking of them all.
A plot that has Baron Frankenstein (played by the magnificent, inimitable Peter Cushing) *still* hard at his experimenting with bringing dead people to life while hiding out in a mental institution probably presupposes anything but a good film. Thankfully, the precise opposite is true.
This film examines the ideas behind the reanimation of dead bodies intelligently, and what's more it does it with heart and and great deal of kindness. Without spoiling the plot the "monster" does not want to be reborn, the humans surrounding him are unpleasant bigots and Frankenstein finally faces the fact that his experimenting causes human/emotional pain.
Simply put, this is Frankenstein with both a heart AND a brain, things which the vast majority of the films based on Mary Shelley's book sadly lack as they shamble towards their end credits.
Hopefully one day Peter Cushing will be recognise as one of the finest technical actors ever to grace a movie screen, and this is one of his finest, and most understated performances.
If you like Hammer horror, this one is seriously underrated and well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not quite the definitive version it deserves to be, 25 Jun 2003
By 
Mr. M. W. Davey "16-9" (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having read on the case that this dvd contains the uncut British theatrical print of the film, you know you're in trouble when the "Paramount" logo opens the film. In this country I believe it was distributed by Avco Embassy Pictures and in the US by Paramount. To cut a long story short it's a great shame that this is not the uncut British print because it is missing what is probably its most infamous scene; the one in which Peter Cushing's superb Baron Frankenstein clasps the monster's artery between his teeth whilst his assistant applies the stitches. Not only is the scene missing but it kinda rubs your face in it after the cut as Cushing wipes the blood from his lips just to remind you what you has passed. Why, oh why are these titles released by people who simply can't be bothered to check their facts. Lovely print of the movie though, crystal clear picture and sound. What's the betting that Paramount's upcoming region 1 disc contains the full "uncut" British print. Come to think of it, as with the Vampire Lovers, why is it that a UK company releases the censored US version, whilst the US company promises to release the uncensored UK version? Hammer keep promising to return. Maybe they, or he/she, should concentrate on working with the current copyright holders of their existing library to ensure its loyal fan base are no longer mis-represented with releases promising to be what they aint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hammer Studios' last gothic masterpiece, 22 Dec 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Frankenstein and the Monster From Hell was not famed Hammer Studios' final film, but it in many ways represents the swan song of the premiere maker of vintage gothic films. Not only does the film play well even today, it has an incredible number of fascinating facts surrounding its production that makes it particularly notable. Consummate actor Peter Cushing and director Terence Fisher can be viewed as founding fathers of Hammer Studios, and this film marks a return to the spirit of the early days. It stands as the final entry in the famed Frankenstein series starring Peter Cushing as Dr. Frankenstein, and David Prowse makes an unprecedented second appearance as a Hammer monster. Some wonderful actors appear in even the smallest of roles, the overall look and feel of the film is wonderfully dark and serious, and the story is allowed to tell itself, foregoing sex appeal for violence and intellectual passion. Despite its almost ridiculously paltry budget, Frankenstein and the Monster From Hell truly shines as Hammer's last truly gothic motion picture.
Baron Frankenstein is dead; there's a death certificate to prove it, and he's buried in the yard of the insane asylum where he spent his last days. One young researcher sets out to fill his shoes, however, eventually being arrested for "sorcery" and consigned to the same mental institution as his idol. Simon Helder (Shane Briant) inquires about Dr. Frankenstein as soon as he arrives. The story of the Baron's death notwithstanding, he quickly recognizes the asylum's Dr. Victor as none other than Frankenstein himself. Assisted by the mute and ever so lovely Sarah (Madeline Smith), known as Angel among the inmates, the doctor has continued his work. He explains to young Dr. Helder how he managed to "kill" Frankenstein and get himself appointed the medical doctor in the asylum, and soon the ever-curious Helder is an active participant in the doctor's ongoing unconventional medical experiments. Rather than resurrect the dead, Frankenstein is now working on making a new man piece by piece based on an existing flawed creation. With the help of Helder's surgical skills, the men have soon given an animalistic misanthrope the hands of a craftsman and the mind of a genius, but of course the newly created monster seems less than overjoyed with his new life.
I am an unabashed fan of Peter Cushing; he was the ultimate gothic actor, a meticulous perfectionist who demanded the serious commitment of everyone surrounding him on whatever project he was working on. In Frankenstein and the Monster From Hell, he makes one of his most memorable entrances and delivers a sterling performance. At this particular time, Cushing was in deep mourning over the recent loss of his wife, and he is as grim and emaciated as you will ever see him. This makes his obviously whole-hearted commitment to this role all the more amazing. This sixth and final Hammer-produced Frankenstein film offers yet more proof that Peter Cushing is the greatest horror actor to ever live. Madeline Smith is just beautiful and delivers an amazing performance almost wholly devoid of spoken lines, and Shane Briant, looking quite James Spader-like, makes young Helder an admirable and deserving new underling of Dr. Frankenstein's. The monster is played wonderfully by David Prowse, the man who would later serve as the man behind the mask of Darth Vader; his costume isn't that impressive, but it works well given the budgetary constraints this movie operated under. Doctor Who fans will no doubt note the presence of Patrick Troughton as Helder's bodysnatching accomplice at the beginning of the film; Troughton would of course go on to become the second man to play Doctor Who on the famed BBC television series.
Frankenstein and the Monster From Hell is vintage Hammer horror, a really quite extraordinary achievement given the monetary and personal constraints the production faced. Terrence Fisher and Peter Cushing make an unbeatable combination, even when both men are laboring under heavy burdens of their own. The DVD comes with a commentary by actress Madeline Smith, actor David Prowse, and horror historian Jonathan Sothcott, and this commentary ranks among the best and most interesting I have ever heard. The trio expound upon all types of things, oftentimes going beyond the subject of the film itself to relate fascinating stories about their fellow performers and about the very history of Hammer Studios as well. It is hard to believe Madeline Smith could play a mute character so well because she is completely wound-up and utterly fascinating in the included commentary. All of this adds up to a film that all Hammer fans simply must own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A HAMMER FRANKENSTEIN CLASSIC, 20 Aug 2003
By 
MR PAUL J SHAW (Albany, Western Australia Australia) - See all my reviews
Next to Frnakenstein Must be Destroyed (1969) this, the last Hammer Frankenstein film to be made,is one of the best,being both moving and chilling. It also happens to be one of director Terence Fisher's most powerful films and includes his 'trademark' moment of something nasty suddenly smashing through a door or window, in this case the hulking monster crashing through a window to brutally murder the director of the lunatic asylum, the claustrophobic setting for most of the film. Peter Cushing is back as the notorious Baron Frankenstein and, as always,steals the show. His portrayal of the ruthless, pyschopathic Baron (supposedly a prisoner in the asylum but in reality totally in control) is nothing short of brilliant, and in many ways he conjures the same sort of eerie fascination as do the likes of Norman Bates and Hannibal Lector. The last shot of him, sweeping up the mess in his lab and idly chatting about creating a new monster, the scene shot through bars,clearly indicates that now the Baron is well and truly insane and will remain locked up for the rest of his life, a low key if fitting end for Hammer's Frankenstein saga. Dave Prowse (of Darth Vader fame) stars as the Baron's latest creation, a lumbering caveman-like brute - surely one of the most grotesque 'models' on the long range of Frankenstein monsters. He's also quite pathetic, and scenes of him trying to play the violin or chalk up mathematical equations are quite touching. The whole film builds to a marvellous crescendo, helped enormously by composer James Bernard's powerful score:while thunder booms and lightning flares and the inmates of the asylum gibber and pray, the monster goes on the rampage, rooting about in the asylum graveyard for its 'old' body...All in all, a Hammer masterpiece albeit one not duly recognized by many critics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars monster from censored hell, 6 Nov 2003
By 
Mr. Daniel P. J. O'brien (Southampton, Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Unfortunately, both the UK and US versions of FRANKENSTEIN AND THE MONSTER FROM HELL suffered from censor cuts. However, the R-rated US print used for this release contains a gorier version of the asylum director's death. As I recall, the BBFC let the notorious 'artery scene' stand, at least in part. I've seen the Dutch version of the film, which appears to be uncut. Presumably, locating an unedited master copy was not possible, for whatever reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Frankenstein And The Monster From Hell( 2 DVD + 1 Blu-Ray)
Used & New from: £18.44
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews