Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars36
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£15.41+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 May 2014
I'm impressed.16 jazz guitarists of the 1950s,18 albums ( 3 by Django ) on 10 cds all for a tenner !All in seperate sleeves with the personnel listed plus recording dates and venues.A facsimile of the original album sleeve is also included on the covers.What more could you wish for?The remastering has provided good recording quality, although the Django sides originally recorded in 1947 are a bit iffy but bearable.There are no solo guitar albums in this set and the music is typical of 1950s small group modern jazz with Art Pepper, Bud Shank,Al Cohn,Bill Holman and Bob Brookmeyer included in the personnel listings.
I am enjoying these recordings and look forward to volume 2 which is apparently in the pipeline.
11 comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2015
Super value, super classic music all through this set. I particularly wanted the Billy Bauer "Plectrist" album, which is available separately only by spending unfeasible amounts of money. Eighteen LPs included in this set, and at least 8 or 9 of them are absolutely essential. The Wes Montgomery "Incredible Jazz Guitar" album is alone worth the asking price for the set . .. just buy it, listen to it endlessly, and cherish such wonderful jazz art . . .
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2014
Amazing value and really good mix of jazz guitar covering all styles. I do already have a few of the albums but it's still worth having for the hard to find ones. Looking forward to volume 2.
Thoroughly recommended.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2014
18 Jazz Guitar albums for a tenner, I already owned a couple which cost more individually. There are some fabulous players across 10 discs
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 25 October 2015
Jazz Guitar: Ultimate Collection is a boxed set which offers 18 original albums on ten CDs, and on that basis alone merits five stars as a fantastic bargain. The albums are “The Incredible Jazz Guitar of Wes Montgomery” (Riverside, 1960); “Kenny Burrell – Blue Lights” (Blue Note, 1958); “Jazz Guitar – Jim Hall” (Pacific, 1957); “Herb Ellis Meets Jimmy Giuffre” (Verve, 1959); “Guitar Moods by Mundell Lowe” (Riverside, 1956); “A Recital by Tal Farlow” (Verve, 1955); “Joe Puma – East Coast Jazz” (Bethlehem, 1954); “Jimmy Raney featuring Bob Brookmeyer” (Paramount, 1956); “Howard Roberts – Good Pickin’s” (Verve, 1959); Freddie Green – Mr. Rhythm” (RCA, 1955); “Oscar Moore Quartet” (Tempo, 1954); “Souvenirs de Django Reinhardt” (Swing, 1947, 3 LPs); “Billy Bauer – Plectrist” (Verve, 1956); “Charlie Byrd Trio – Charlie’s Choice” (Off-Beat, 1960) ; “René Thomas et son Quintette” (Vogue, 1954); and “Amor – The Fabulous Guitar of Luiz Bonfa” (Atlantic, 1959). There's nothing by Barney Kessel, despite him being named on the cover. Unlike some products from the Documents stable, this boxed set is well presented. Each cardboard sleeve displays a facsimile of the LP cover(s) on the face, and carries a tracklist, with personnel and recording dates, on the reverse. Sound quality is excellent, some of the albums are stereo recordings.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2014
Arrived in good time, the CDs are being played as I write the quality is excellent.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2014
Excellent recordings, quite a few new to me. Superb value -- what's not to like?
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2014
Great guitarists some of them long forgotten. great selection, great value.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2014
There is bound to be something here you don't have. The price is good. The sound is fine. Grab it
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2016
I was a bit disappointed with this album of different jazz guitarists as they nearly all sounded very similar to each other except Django Reinhardt, even Barney Kessel who normally has a very distinctive sound seemed somewhat samey. I would recommend this album to people who like jazz guitar and who are contemplating playing jazz guitar but I was somewhat disappointed in the saminess of the sounds.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.