Customer Reviews


110 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Respect
A life-long JT fan, I approached this (and indeed the last) CD with caution. The first thing one can't help to notice, though, is the quality of the whole package: production values are exemplary in all categories! The care and attention to detail puts many other new CDs to shame. Is the music any good? Yes, it's excellent. Is it as good as TAAB1 or Aqualung? Of course...
Published 11 months ago by indigo

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Erraticus without shame.
Im going to have to listen too this for a few years to see if it will get better. Not excellent, not thrilling. Some tracks are similar to the earlier Tull works, others not. And spoken word music ....???? Just plain no.
As Ian Anderson himself says
'Homo Erraticus – for that is the title of the next epic voyage into the Progressive Rock pantheon of...
Published 5 months ago by Mr. P. Richardson


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Andersonus Intelligentius, 14 April 2014
By 
The Guardian (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homo Erraticus (Deluxe) (Audio CD)
In his 67th year, Ian Anderson stubbornly refuses to rest on his laurels and bask in past glories. `Homo Erraticus' is a remarkable piece of work: original, lyrical, thoughtful, musically sophisticated with excellent sound and production values, a storyboard weaving together many narrative strands to entertain and delight.

The first impression you'll receive from the CD/DVD package is that a great deal of thought and care has gone into this project: a quality, classy product greets you which respects the audience's intelligence and likely aesthetic sensibilities. The 32-page insert containing explanatory essays and all the song lyrics artistically laid out in sequence is a minor literary masterpiece on its own, and takes a good hour to read through and digest. The album tells a themed story of human colonization of the British Isles (which began, according to archaeological records, 800,000 years ago). Anderson begins in `Doggerland' with the continental land bridge at the end of the last ice age; the narrative then skips over the bronze and iron ages to `Enter the Uninvited' which quickly runs through all the influences which came in from outside:

"Angles, Saxons, Danes and Normans
On the whole a curve of learning,
...Willie Conker, work cut out, in Domesday pages marks our number...
Sheep and pigs amongst the hundreds,
Fat tithes and taxes to encumber"

All the way to:

"Bubble gum and google-bum, Facebook-frenzied social network
Apple mac and i-Phone App, Gibson,
Fender sonic fretwork..."

The music underpinning this poetic lyrical narrative is as unique and engaging as we have come to expect from Anderson in his more mature years. Supported by the capable professional musical talents of John O'Hara, David Goodier, Florian Opahle, Ryan O'Donnell and Scott Hammond, mixed by Jakko Jakszyk and produced by Anderson himself the result is a seamless amalgam of catchy melodies, syncopated jazz rhythms, driving rock sections and odd time-signatures interwoven with trad English folk-idioms and references to other world-music styles. The result however is much greater than the parts, a unified style like no other: this is music for thinking people.

Anderson's lyrical writing has always been good but now occupies a territory rare in popular music: it stands as poetry which may be simply read aloud, communicates complex ideas with great economy of language, is clever and witty. Delivered over the music, the result is a rewarding and satisfying experience, joyous in a way that only good art can be.

The DVD includes the whole album accompanied by imagery and poetic lyrical insets; the music in 24/48 stereo and in DTS 5.1 Surround; and a thoughtful filmed interview with Anderson on the making of the album where he reveals:

"Writing songs for me is a terror...rather than waiting for the muse to turn up, you sometimes have to go out on a blind date and meet it halfway..."

and:

"What the album is all about is people going places, learning from the experience, evaluating something that you didn't know about before and benefiting - hopefully - as a consequence"

Exploring the possibility of imminent environmental catastrophe ("The Browning of the Green"), `Homo Erraticus' is ultimately optimistic about the ability of we humans to find a way out, to avert disaster, maybe even discover a new Eden.

This is such a refreshing change from the pap which passes for popular music these days; the maturity and intelligence of `Homo Erraticus' may outlast even the best of Jethro Tull's glory years. If you like your music to be crafted for thinking people, give it a listen - or two. Chance is you'll get to like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Best Ian Anderson Release Since The Jethro Tull Christmas Album, 16 April 2014
By 
J. Patching "panzer-attack" (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Homo Erraticus (Deluxe) (Audio CD)
I like this album.

To be fair, I'm yet to come across an Ian Anderson album that I didn't like but if I'm honest his last few offerings are gathering a bit of dust on my CD shelf. It's not that they're bad albums ... it's just that after the intial couple of listens I don't feel myself compelled to give them another spin.

This album is different. It's got a bit more oomf to it than his last few. It's got a good mix of quirky tunes and clever lyrics. The electric guitars are more pronounced. It's closer to that hard to define earthy, celticy, muscular music that characterises a lot of the 70s Tull stuff than anything he's brought out in the last decade and a half at least. I love the cover design, the artwork, the lettering, the sleeve notes, the packaging. A lot of thought has gone into this one.

I just wish he could still sing.

I think the main reason Ian Anderson's recent albums tend to sound a bit samey is because of the very limited vocal range he now has. On most of the songs here he uses the slightly sing song almost spoken word style he's developed, which is ok but ... well, there's nothing you're really going to find yourself singing along to here.

Still, the tunes are great and the lyrics ... well, no one else really writes lyrics like Ian Anderson do they? The album needs a good few listens to really appreciate but it's worth the effort. Nice one Mr Anderson!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jethro Tull is back, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homo Erraticus (Deluxe) (Audio CD)
With this album and Thick as a brick vol.2 Ian Anderson is back endeed. The lyrics and the Music is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Following on from TAAB2, 25 May 2014
By 
J. Shepherd "BarneyBus" (Scottish Highlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homo Erraticus (Deluxe) (Audio CD)
This certainly builds on Thick As A Brick 2 - same talented band and very much the same sound. Where TAAB2 clearly had references to the original TAAB, this album has some more general references to the Tull back catalogue - Tripudium Ad Bellum - an instrumental track certainly reminds me of Songs From The Wood era Tull mixed with some or the older jazzier stuff.

Basically this is a concept album telling a selective history of Britain. It's not Tull without Martin Barre but it does a very good job of building on that legacy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as TAAB2 in my opinion, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homo Erraticus (Deluxe) (Audio CD)
Not as good as TAAB2 in my opinion, but still a good album.

Very similar in style and sounds like a Tull album (as I suppose it should)

Just glad he is still making music of this quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not really Tull, 10 Sept. 2014
By 
Chris Foreman "c4mun" (Herts UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homo Erraticus (Deluxe) (Audio CD)
Was looking forward to something a bit more like the old Jethro Tull. No amazing flute or guitar riffs. All a bit samey! Will try to listen to it again, but prefer to go back to Aqualung & Under Wraps etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A grower, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homo Erraticus (Deluxe) (Audio CD)
Yes it's Ian Anderson/Jethro Tull ...Telling a story once again.
Music to be listened to whilst reading the well put together sleeve notes.
You'll find yourself humming the stuff after a few plays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top marks, 12 May 2014
This review is from: Homo Erraticus (Deluxe) (Audio CD)
Listen carefully and after a while you will then realise that this is rates alongside the best of Jethro Tull and Ian's solo music . For me I was convinced after listening twice - even better than Thick As A Brick 2. This is not just music you play in the car or home Cd - far from it .The top package consists of 4 discs, large massive booklet with photos and explanations all of which need your strict attention without the cats, dogs, kids, wife running around. Who else can produce this amazing music - no one. When you think of groups who were around when Jethro Tull began in 1968 - where are they now, either dead, run out of ideas or appear when another greatest hits package gets released (too many times)
Ian Anderson is currently touring the UK with Homo Erraticus and after seeing the band at High Wycombe, the musicianship, visuals and overall performance was of the highest quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Late flowering glory, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homo Erraticus (Deluxe) (Audio CD)
After almost twenty years of giving up on Tull/ Anderson it's wonderful to hear excellent new material in TAAB2 and Homo Erraticus (where to start? Puer ferox Adventus, After these wars) plus the recognition that the voice can't hack it on stage any more so we have wonderful support live .... I'm back on board. Soundtrack of my life ........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ian Anderson coming out of his own shadow., 1 May 2014
By 
M Hisbent "silkiemh" (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homo Erraticus (Deluxe) (Audio CD)
It was about time Ian ditched the jethro Tull moniker and was recognised in his own name for his considerable talents. This is a grand effort at recounting a personal version of British history from the time of the vanished land bridge (dogger land) through the ages. Sounds like Tull in places as you would expect but sounds more like the new version of Ian Anderson and his band who tour the uk next month. Roll on high Wycombe. If you are not yet a Tull or Ian Anderson fan give it a punt. It will be worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Homo Erraticus (Deluxe)
Homo Erraticus (Deluxe) by Ian Anderson (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews