Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars better live than studio but fantastic stuff all the same, 29 July 2014
By 
welshman 99 (bridgend, wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do to the Beast (Audio CD)
A welcome return from the Dulli boys. better live than studio but fantastic stuff all the same. 'these Sticks' is one of the Whigs' best ever tracks but gets no attention. Not played live either, strange.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good mixture of old and new rock, 16 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do to the Beast (MP3 Download)
First time I have listened to this band...really good mixture of soft and hard rock can't stop listening to it, difficult to say who they remind me off maybe a bit of Guns and Roses and The National...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Welcome Return., 18 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do to the Beast (Audio CD)
If you love Afghan Whigs, then this review is useless as you'll already be more than aware of how great Greg Dulli and co are.
If, on the other hand, this has appeared in your suggestions, then this is a must-have album for 2014. Think of a montage of the most angst-filled moments of your life and somewhere on this album, you'll find a suitable score. The ex that scorned, the former friend that let you down, Greg Dulli still has your back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do to the Beast (Audio CD)
Up there with my favourite Afghan Whigs albums. Can't believe it's been 20 years since I last saw them live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great!, 31 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do to the Beast (Audio CD)
Exactly as it said it would be, great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do to the Beast (Audio CD)
Great product and service many thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 17 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do to the Beast (Audio CD)
Just what I wanted, great tunes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do to the Beast (Audio CD)
Bargain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their back !, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do to the Beast (MP3 Download)
After 16 years away,the Whigs are back with another top album.Some groups come back after a break,and just don't live up to expectations,but this is up there with Gregg Dullis best.Well worth the wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Party like it's 1999?, 17 May 2014
By 
Paul Allaer (Cincinnati) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Do to the Beast (Audio CD)
Two years ago, the Afghan Whigs surprised everyone by reuniting for a series of live shows (more on that later), and also announced that they would try to record a new album. When you know the strong personalities involved, I wasn't holding my breath. If it happened, great. If it didn't, so be it. But guess what: Greg Dulli & Co. actually managed to pull it off, and we now have a new Afghan Whigs album. Or do we? It should be noted that in the end only 2 original Afghan Whigs members are involved in this: Greg Dulli and bassist/multi-instrumentalist John Curley.

"Do To The Beast" (10 tracks; 41 min.) starts off with one of the album's best (and most Afghan Whigs sounding) tracks, "Parked Outside", which is followed by an equally intriguing "Matamoros". "It Kills" finds Dulli in a reflective mood, and the track gets layered with strings. Then comes "Algiers", with the lyrics "Dream, dream your sins away/Sing your dreams away/Your holding back, still holding back Algiers". The second half of the album starts with a more urgent "The Lottery". "Can Rova" seems like it came straight out of a Greg Dulli dream. The short "I Am Fire" is an excellent, percussion-heavy intermezzo. It all leads to the album closer, the 6 min. "These Sticks". In all, this is certainly not a bad album. Yet truth be told, it also does not equal their best albums ("Gentlemen", "1965"). But what can you really expect after a 16 year gap between albums? This band is synonymous with the heavy alternative sound from the 1990s, but "Do To The Beast" seems and sounds far removed from the 'classic' Afghan Whigs sound. But in the end, it's new Afghans Whigs! It's all good.

As you may know, the Afghan Whigs originally hail from Cincinnati (where I live). So when the 2012 tour was announced, there was no way in the world I was going to miss their Cincinnati date. They played an epic set at a sold-out Bogart's in October, 2012, and proved once again that live they will always be better than on their albums. Afghan Whigs have just been announced as the headliners for the MidPoint Music Festival here in Cincinnati in September, and you bet I will be there again. Meanwhile, "Do To the Beast" is a no-brainer for any Afghan Whigs fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Do to the Beast
Do to the Beast by Afghan Whigs (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews