Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tori changes things up...
As a long time Tori fan I have been hoping for some time that she would hand in a more piano-centric album, a return to her girl-and-a-piano roots of old. And with Unrepentant Geraldines she has finally delivered this.

This is the first album (sans the classically-inspired Night Of Hunters) since the mid-90s not to feature long-time collaboraters Matt...
Published 10 months ago by Kindle Customer

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
After reading all of these gushing, positive reviews, I was so excited about this new album, hailed as a return to form by so many. Unfortunately for me, admittedly after only 2nd listen, I am really struggling to see what the fuss was about.

For me, Tori's first seven albums were cracking. Then it all went a bit slushy and bloated. Unfortunately, for me,...
Published 5 months ago by O. Sweeting


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tori changes things up..., 15 May 2014
This review is from: Unrepentant Geraldines (Audio CD)
As a long time Tori fan I have been hoping for some time that she would hand in a more piano-centric album, a return to her girl-and-a-piano roots of old. And with Unrepentant Geraldines she has finally delivered this.

This is the first album (sans the classically-inspired Night Of Hunters) since the mid-90s not to feature long-time collaboraters Matt Chamberlain (drums) and Jon Evans (bass). So inevitably the album is less of a band affair, featuring no less than seven tracks with only Tori and her piano. The rest of the tracks have drums programmed by her husband, who also adds his usual guitar flourishes throughout.

One thing that struck me listening to this record is that her vocals sound more controlled and strong than her more recent albums, utilising her upper range to great effect, at times harking back to her vocal stylings on Little Earthquakes.

As for the songs, title track Unrepentant Geraldines is an utter masterpiece in my eyes. The main body of the song is largely experimental and unpredictable, shifting between contrasting sections with ease, a reggae tinged verse, leading into a punk-rock style bridge, then going into a piano-centred anthemic chorus. Just when you think you've wrapped your head around the song it ends abruptly and goes into a beautiful piano-centred outro section, which, on a first listen could very easily be mistaken for an entirely different song. It really has to be heard to be believed.

Other highlights include the haunting Weatherman and the gloriously quirky Beatles-esque Giants Rolling Pin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Tori album in a LONG time, 13 May 2014
This review is from: Unrepentant Geraldines (Audio CD)
Is this the best Tori Amos album? No.
However, is this still a fantastic album? Yes.
Everyone remembers the unconventional and, at times, groundbreaking debut "Little Earthquakes" and the 3 albums that immediately followed - "Under The Pink", "Boys for Pele" and "From The Choirgirl Hotel". Tori's output up to and including 2002's "Scarlet's Walk" was pretty flawless, however in recent years her albums have become overly long, bloated and full of filler. After a period of revisiting her childhood classical training and working on a musical with London's National Theatre, Tori has returned to making contemporary music. I'm trying to avoid the word "pop", because she's never made "pop" music. Whilst this isn't the greatest Tori album, it's most certainly worthy to bare her name, with songs like "Wild Way", "Invisible Boy" and "Selkie" echoing her earlier piano orientated work, and "16 Shades Of Blue" and "Rose Dover" containing elements reminscent of her electronic work on "From The Choirgirl Hotel" and "To Venus And Back".

Vocally, Tori sounds better than she has in at least 10 years and her piano playing is on point. Both lyrically and musically compelling and interesting, the album is exactly how you would expect Tori to sound at this stage in her career, ignoring her 2 most recent contemporary efforts "American Doll Posse" and "Abnormally Attracted To Sin", which now sound more like a desperate cry for help during a midlife crisis than compelling music.

"Giant's Rolling Pin" is a bit unnecessary and "Promise" (a duet with Tori's daughter), though a nice song, sounds out of place on the album. That still leaves 12 stellar tracks to enjoy. "Selkie" and "Weatherman" inparticular are 2 of the most beautiful songs she's ever written.

Check out the deluxe edition for the stunning bonus track "Forest of Glass", or Amazon MP3 for the exclusive track "Dixie", which is gorgeous (despite the opening line "grab your coat" sounding like she sings "crap your clothes").

All in all, a fantastic album with hints of the Tori of old, whilst sounding fresh, modern and relevant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sinfully unrepentant, 12 May 2014
By 
Scarlet Jupiter - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Unrepentant Geraldines (Audio CD)
"Earthquakes" was shattering; "Pink" was magnificent; "Pele" was explosive; "Choirgirl" was mesmerising; "Venus" was stellar; "Scarlet" was stunning: and there you have arguably the absolute Tori-top. And then it all went downhill, leaving hardcore fans inconsolable, and the rest of the world rather indifferent. At 50, and totally owning her own genre, for her new album Tori packs half-century of experiences into 59 minutes, in her fiery piano confessional style, bearing them straight from the heart. Though it is not a drastic change from her familiar style, it is much more inviting and accessible than the infamous trilogy of "The beekeeper", "American doll posse" and "Abnormally attracted to sin" which clouded fans/listeners. In fact, "Unrepentant Geraldines" easily could have been the follow-up to "Scarlet's walk", picking up right where that record left off.

For anyone who will not dismiss this set upon its first listening, they will soon find themselves drawn to it. It seems as though Tori has taken some of her past albums' great moments, creating her most interesting work in years. Letting the songs come together on their own, here she abandons the disastrous, inaccessible content of over-reaching concepts, complex writing, and lengthy duration of late albums, and steps forward with a lighter, yet mature, self-assured, yet heartwarming, captivating record. "Selkie" and the title track are examples of her unparalleled songwriting magnificence, while "Oysters" and closing track "Invisible boy" evokes simultaneously strength and vulnerability, in the most heart-wrenching way. It has always been Tori's art that made her unique, but it is her heart that made her precious. "Geraldines" are glorious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Unrepentant return from Tori Amos, 12 May 2014
By 
Mr. D. K. Smith (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unrepentant Geraldines (Audio CD)
After a series of musical sidesteps, Unrepentant Geraldines is Tori Amos' first album of original material since 2009's Abnormally Attracted to Sin. The first pleasing thing to note is that Unrepentant Geraldines clocks in at just under the hour - as one problem with her albums over the last decade or so was their duration. Generally they lasted between 75 and 80 minutes, meaning they ended up as something of an endurance test for the listener.

But whilst Unrepentant Geraldines could have done with losing a few tracks, it's still a more accessible album than some of her previous records and therefore could certainly hook some new listeners, although the majority of the sales will surely come from her faithful fanbase. "America" is a strong opener, it's a gentle, reflective song in which Tori sings of searching for the other America, which can be found on, "Sundays sitting by a stream/on her own/all alone". The stripped-back feel of this song is maintained on the majority of the album - allowing the tracks much needed space to breathe.

Other highlights included "Selkie", which is classic Amos - just vocals and piano - and is as heartbreakingly beautiful as anything she's ever written. The title track is another standout song, as though it sounds like two songs welded together it works very well, and despite being the longest track on the album (at just under seven minutes) it doesn't outstay its welcome. Another classic solo Tori performance on "Invisible Boy" brings the album to a very satisfying conclusion.

Although there are a few missteps along the way, such as "Giant's Rolling Pin" and "Promise", a somewhat schamltzy duet between Tori and her daughter, overall this is a strong collection of songs that should repay multiple listenings. A good return to form then, and whilst the new listener probably wouldn't be advised to start here, for any lapsed fans who enjoyed her 90's work, this is well worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 10 Oct. 2014
By 
O. Sweeting "Oliver" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unrepentant Geraldines (Audio CD)
After reading all of these gushing, positive reviews, I was so excited about this new album, hailed as a return to form by so many. Unfortunately for me, admittedly after only 2nd listen, I am really struggling to see what the fuss was about.

For me, Tori's first seven albums were cracking. Then it all went a bit slushy and bloated. Unfortunately, for me, although this album is a soft acoustic affair, which is pleasant to listen to, the lyrics leave me cold, and the focus and passion just seems absent. Tori's voice seems washed out and floating all the time, and I really don't want to hear yet another duet with her daughter either.

Sorry Tori, I'm still waiting for you to make an album that makes me sit up and listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb., 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unrepentant Geraldines (Audio CD)
I was surprised to see that somehow, without noticing, it had been 20 years since I first encountered Tori Amos through Under The Pink, and continued what is my most enduring affection for a single artist through eleven subsequent albums, not to mention box sets, rare B-sides, and numerous wonderful gigs. It's not been an easy journey, and the law of diminishing returns has meant that much of the last decade has been spent grumbling about the quantity over quality with regards to her material, trying to balance out those gems among the less deserving material that would have made a passable B-side but didn't deserve album placing.

Generally speaking, when a less-is-more approach has been taken, it's made for a very palatable album (witness both Midwinter Graces and Gold Dust, both of which pulled me back to eager fandom after a long slump), so it was with a sigh of relief when I saw that Unrepentant Geraldines contained a mere 14 tracks. Once I'd heard the marvelous Trouble's Lament, I felt even more reassured - this is Tori's strongest single for a long, long time, lighter and more playful in sound but also a new sonic palette. It's one of the album's highlights, but it has strong competition indeed. From the opening America, through to the last strains of Invisible Boy, the 14 tracks have an air of enthusiasm and playful gear-switching that's been absent in recent years; the multi-part title track is a true joy, once again taking the Tori Amos sound into new territories that echo The Police, of all things. Part of the lightness is the absence of Matt Chamberlain's monotonous drumming, or really any drums at all, which prevents too much weight to the songs - when there are drums, there's no direct credit, so I assume they are played or programmed by Mr Amos, or Mark Hawley/Mac Aladdin as he is credited. As a result, the sound is given more space, evidenced by the use of literal sound effects in 16 Shades Of Blue that might have been otherwise jarring, but here seem like a nice touch to an already-excellent song.

It's not all perfect; the trademark Tori Amos jauntiness found on Mr Zebra or Wednesday goes too far in the wrong direction on Giant's Rolling Pin, and the biggest howler is the use of her daughter Tash to sing alternating lines on the otherwise lovely Promise, ruining the song entirely. Similarly, I haven't quite settled into Selkie, which seems to be a favourite among everyone else. But for an album that's only been released in the last few days, it already feels simultaneously comfortingly familiar and a fresh new step.

Of the three bonus tracks, none of them are essential listening, but since only one of them actually costs money at time of writing (the iTunes exclusive White Telephone To God), it does no harm to round out the album with these curios. The deluxe CD Forest Of Glass is probably the best, reminiscent of the classic Garlands.

In objective terms, this would merit four stars from me - it's not all top-flight material, but it's not far off; however, the palpable sense of relief at the high quality after her last `proper' album (ie non-seasonal, non-classical album of new material, which was half a decade ago) was the weakest of her career, this gets five stars. I'll be very interested to see what comes next...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Still struggling with this ..., 9 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unrepentant Geraldines (Audio CD)
Try as I might I cannot get my head around this record. I'm a fan - I probably even qualify as EWF, for those nerdy enough to know (or care) what that stands for - but I just can't get into it. I probably need to give it a break and come back to it. A lot of Tori's recent albums are growers; perhaps this one is too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Album, 12 May 2014
This review is from: Unrepentant Geraldines (Audio CD)
Unrepentant Geraldines is a beautiful timeless singer-sogwriter album. Some of the best songwriting of Tori in well over a decade. Piano driven evocative songs such as Weatherman, Oysters, Invisible Boy and Selkie are reminiscent of her early work on Little Earthquakes and Under the Pink - uniquely strong, emotionally challenging material. Where things get experimental, such as in 16 Shades of Blue and the title track, it never goes over board. Nothing is overproduced... a record about the here and now by one of the most iconic and unique pop artists of the last two decades.

An absolutely must for her fans and a great pleasure for anyone who likes strong singer-songwriter music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Breath of Fresh Air, 13 May 2014
This review is from: Unrepentant Geraldines (Audio CD)
This is certainly Tori's best album since The Beekeeper; that is not to say that American Doll Posse, AATS, Night of Hunters or Gold Dust were awful, but on this release there is a lightness of texture and touch that has been absent from Tori's music for a while. That isn't to say that there is a lack of seriousness or meaning here; the title track being about one of Tori's main subjects, religion. But the anger and heaviness of recent releases has gone meaning the message, delivered with her best vocals in the last ten years, hits home harder than before. Favourite tracks include Trouble's Lament, Unrepentant Geraldines and Giant Rolling Pin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tori álainn, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unrepentant Geraldines (Audio CD)
Just a beautiful album. Compares well with her best albums to date. Her singing is an absolute joy. The music is low key and perfectly pitched. She is an absolute gem of an artist! Recommended for any Tori fans or indeed anyone who loves good music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Unrepentant Geraldines
Unrepentant Geraldines by Tori Amos (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews