Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New Kids On The Operatic Block
Until I read the enthusiastic review of this disc in Gramophone I had never heard of the featured artists (he's American, she's Puerto Rican). Looking at some of the accompanying notes and the slightly 'showbiz' photographs, and bearing in mind several of the other reviews here, I thought perhaps this was a case of 'opera-lite' : more than a notch or two above Katharine...
Published 4 months ago by M. J. Nelson

versus
16 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sorry, No!
The singing on this Cd is very 'mannered' and both artistes seem to struggle to achieve the style necessary for much of this repertoire. What continually jars is the sliding up to high notes which soon becomes unpleasant! The recording does not do either the singers or the orchestra justice, sounding like an early stereo recording rather than a modern DDD one! Just...
Published 5 months ago by Rimsky


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New Kids On The Operatic Block, 21 Jun 2014
By 
M. J. Nelson (Leeds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Duets - From Puccini to Bernstein (Audio CD)
Until I read the enthusiastic review of this disc in Gramophone I had never heard of the featured artists (he's American, she's Puerto Rican). Looking at some of the accompanying notes and the slightly 'showbiz' photographs, and bearing in mind several of the other reviews here, I thought perhaps this was a case of 'opera-lite' : more than a notch or two above Katharine Jenkins and Russell Watson but somewhat below Angela Gheorghiu and Roberto Alagna. But no : it seems the singers' credentials are quite impressive, including, for example, having sung La Traviata together in a number of major opera houses around the world. Moreover, the disc is 'produced in association with BBC Radio 3 and the BBC Symphony Orchestra', so no dumbing down there. This has, in fact, given me a lot of pleasure and I am rather mystified by some of the adverse comments made by two of the reviewers : is the artists' singing really 'very 'mannered'' and Perez, 'weak and often reedy' ? Not to my ears, although their interpretations may mature as time goes by. The four Broadway numbers are, perhaps, more contentious. The three-minute version of 'If I Loved You' from 'Carousel' is a poor thing compared with the full, 12-minute sequence wonderfully performed by Samuel Ramey and Barbara Cook on an MCA disc; and with 'One Hand, One Heart' from 'West Side Story' we are up against the contention that opera singers, per se, should steer clear of singing roles in which the characters are supposed to be no more than 'tenement teenagers'. The other drawback to this disc is that there are no English translations of the foreign texts - not good. But full marks to the artists for selecting an interesting range of repertoire. And let's hope their marriage doesn't end up like Gheorghiu's and Alagna's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I highly recommend this excellent CD!, 10 May 2014
By 
Janice M. Baumann (Allentown, PA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Duets - From Puccini to Bernstein (Audio CD)
A true delight listening to these two talented singers merge their voices in these selections. I have heard most of the arias live in New York and enjoy having the experience on CD. Patrick Summers' direction an added bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real treat for the ears and the heart!, 6 May 2014
This review is from: Love Duets - From Puccini to Bernstein (Audio CD)
I saw Costello & Perez perform at Classic FM Live last week and was blown away by the performance and the chemistry between them - red hot! This disc does not disappoint, as they turn their hand to both opera and show tunes with equal aplomb - it pushes all the right buttons!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb operatic duo, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Duets (MP3 Download)
I was fortunate recently to hear for the first time the soprano Ailyn Perez in Manon at Covent Garden, which prompted me to download this CD as I found her to be the most exciting new voice that I've heard in a long while. It is with Manon that the CD opens and the passion in both voices does not disappoint at all. Most of the duets are from the core repertory of Operas from Manon, La Boheme, Rigoletto, and La Traviata which this husband and wife cover are among their roles. As an added bonus they also tackle songs from Broadway shows giving as much passion as they do in the operatic excerpts. I can only add that for all lovers of music be it from opera or musicals, this CD is a must, and let's hope their success continues both musically and matrimonially longer than another famous operatic duo- Alagna and Georghiou.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Duets - From Puccini to Bernstein (Audio CD)
I like the range of arias/songs. I am enjoying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensational!, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Duets - From Puccini to Bernstein (Audio CD)
What a wonderful new discovery in these young upcoming stars of opera with a faultless debut album of love duets from opera and Broadway. This real-life married couple present a seductive mix of popular duets from Puccini's "La Boheme", Verdi's "La Traviata" and "Rigoletto", coupled with some less obvious but equally thrilling duets from Massenet's "Manon" and Gounod's "Faust". All this counterbalanced with a selection of dreamy Broadway favourites from "West Side Story", "Carousel" and "Guys and Dolls", further showcasing their versatility and talent to the full. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sorry, No!, 6 May 2014
This review is from: Love Duets - From Puccini to Bernstein (Audio CD)
The singing on this Cd is very 'mannered' and both artistes seem to struggle to achieve the style necessary for much of this repertoire. What continually jars is the sliding up to high notes which soon becomes unpleasant! The recording does not do either the singers or the orchestra justice, sounding like an early stereo recording rather than a modern DDD one! Just because this CD has received a lot of exposure on Classic FM does not mean that it is good! Buy with caution!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good looks are not enough!, 10 Jun 2014
By 
M. E. OUTLAW "Fuorilegge" (Isle of Wight, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Duets - From Puccini to Bernstein (Audio CD)
Stephen Costello is a competent tenor. If he adheres to the right (lightweight) repertoire, he will do OK. His wife, Ailyn Perez, is not in the same league. Her soprano is weak and often reedy, and she certainly should not be singing the operatic repertoire featured on this disc. Their marriage may well be a very happy one, but the vocal partnership is already under heavy strain. In this field good looks are not of themselves enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointing, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Duets - From Puccini to Bernstein (Audio CD)
While the singing is beautiful, I would have liked the album to have contained a few more 'popular' classical arias.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love duets, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Duets - From Puccini to Bernstein (Audio CD)
This couple is going to go far. I am so fortunate to have this copy which I will treasure for always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love Duets - From Puccini to Bernstein
Love Duets - From Puccini to Bernstein by Stephen Costello (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews