Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars ... games that are out there however the graphics are good and it does what it should
He seems less interested in this game that the racing games that are out there however the graphics are good and it does what it should
Published 2 months ago by Ian Mills

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fall of Cybertron or War For Cybertron this is not
OK, so I saw a lot of negative reviews for this which made me hesitant to get it, but as a huge Transformers fan, I just decided I'd go for it, and I'm glad I did.
Is it pretty? No. It's actually a little worse looking than Fall of Cybertron on PS3, and this is on PS4!
There are frequent pauses in gameplay as it loads the next part of the level, voice acting &...
Published 9 months ago by A. Murphy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fall of Cybertron or War For Cybertron this is not, 27 Jun. 2014
By 
A. Murphy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Transformers: Rise of the Dark Spark (PS4) (Video Game)
OK, so I saw a lot of negative reviews for this which made me hesitant to get it, but as a huge Transformers fan, I just decided I'd go for it, and I'm glad I did.
Is it pretty? No. It's actually a little worse looking than Fall of Cybertron on PS3, and this is on PS4!
There are frequent pauses in gameplay as it loads the next part of the level, voice acting & script varies in quality, the generic bots you smash through are as generic as they were in the other two games....BUT, it essentially plays the same as War for, and Fall of, Cybertron. Which is a good thing, because those games were a lot of fun, so far the story isn't even comparable to those games, there is only one (!) multiplayer mode : Escalation. Which is disappointing as I loved playing Team Deathmatch in the previous games.
Is it worth the current price? Eh...probably not, but it is fun. There's no advantage to getting this on PS4 or XBONE so if you still have last gen console you're probably better off getting it on that (and waiting for a price drop).
Story wise it seems set between the 2 previous (non-film related) games, which can be...odd, at times. But yeah, worth checking out, I'm hoping they add more multiplayer options in DLC/Updates, oh, also : Grimlock is not a playable Character anymore judging from the selection screen in Escalation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor game, cashing in on movie released at same, 30 Jun. 2014
By 
MisterDerp1975 (Northamptonshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Transformers: Rise of the Dark Spark (PS4) (Video Game)
First things first, I was a big fan of the Cybertron game on ps3, so was quite looking forward to giving this new game a go.
Somehow, things have gone backwards though. Graphics are quite poor for a PS4 game, it looks as though they've just made the version for ps3 and xbox360 and ported it across to ps4. The campaign mode was the first I tried, and it is very noticeable, that the difficulty is all over the place for it. There are 14 missions, that switch without warning or reason from Autobot to Decepticon, very unevenly. The dull audio and level design certainly don't help either, both being lame. There are plenty of weapons when you get into the game that service you well, and the 20 guns have distinct styles that look good. However, the enemies you will encounter are no fun. The special powers you get are vastly over or under powered, and the upgrading falls flat on its face, and has little or no impact.
The best part of the game, is undoubtedly Escalation mode (which is curiously absent on the Wii-U version), and is a co-op mode that lauches you and upto 3 team mates into 15 waves of progressively harder enemies on 8 maps.
Overall the game does have a few good things going for it, but all in all it feels like they are desperate to cash in on the new Transformers movie out at the same time (Age of Extinction). Disappointing. Worth a rent at best. But only if you are a massive Transformers fan. Otherwise leave well alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Less than meets the eye, 29 Sept. 2014
By 
Paul B "-pb-" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Transformers: Rise of the Dark Spark (PS4) (Video Game)
Being a long term Transformers fan, I'm picky about the lore in a overly geeky way and I admit that the Michael Bay movies ruffled a few feathers where this was concerned. The All-Spark was an obvious trade-off for the Matrix of Leadership and got even more complicated when the Matrix itself appeared in later movies.

So Rise of the Dark Spark doesn't do me any favours, with the `Dark Spark' adding an even more convoluted element to the power sources that control the mechanical beings.

This Dark Spark gives the bearer the power to manipulate time and space, as well as to create zombiefied robots out of enemies. It's no Wonder Optimus Prime wants to remove it from prying hands of those who would use it for evil. Yes, Megatron, I'm talking about you. But this is a movie tie-in with the latest and fourth film in the franchise, so the whole Megatron saga is all in flashback form and the main villain of the piece is Lockdown (who just happens to the the main new Transformer in the latest movie). Overall, though, you'll just want to forget the convoluted story which desperately tries, and fails, to meld the two universes together.

The ultimate sin, though, is a post credits scene that will leave any old time fans wondering if the developer was playing some sick joke on them for the last few hours and is now just taunting them. At best it's a confusing addition to an already confusing story.

Developer Edge of Reality seemed to have phoned the gameplay on this one in. It's simply corridor after corridor, with only a few sparks (hah) of originality where grappling hooks come in. Yes, the robots transform, and have to for levels where flight is essential, but it always feels a bit forced and the vehicle modes are often an afterthought rather than a cool feature.

On the PS4 the environments are given very little time to shine, with mostly bland corridors and un-inspiring outdoor scenes making up most of the game world. Occasional glimpses of greatness only serve to remind me that it's no step up from the last two Cybertron games, even on new hardware. While the game world isn't awful, per se, the layouts have a rushed feeling about them. Only the multiplayer mode's maps seem to have had some thought go into their creation and even then they feel somewhat generic.

Escalation Mode is the only other gameplay option on offer here, no co-op or other multiplayer modes. It's a return to the `Horde' style gameplay with waves of enemies that get stronger as you progress. Stations dotted around the map let you build gun towers, medical areas and various weapons for a short time, the trade off being that you need to spend credits to afford them. It's a nice idea that works well on some maps and not so well on others. Again, though, for a game about transforming robots, the vehicle modes are very seldom required.

Transformers games have usually gone either way based on their source; the movie games aren't great but those based on the original comics or cartoons are far better. This new game is based both on the movies and the comics or, at least, the previous comic-based games. So I guess the overall question is this; which side of the fence does Rise of the Dark Spark fall on? Is it a bad movie game or a good original game? As you may have already guessed, just like the game's hodge-podge of movie tie-in and High Moon-based titles, it sits somewhere in between.

Even as a hardcore Transformers fan, this feels like a chore at times and there's a feeling as the credits roll that it could have been much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What went wrong?, 4 July 2014
This review is from: Transformers: Rise of the Dark Spark (PS4) (Video Game)
I have played the previous transformers game and enjoyed very much the multiplayer PVP side of the game. I would like to point out before anyone buying this game that the multiplayer I've just mentioned is NOT in this one.
All we get is the 4 player CO-OP side of online play.
Though the co-op is alright in my opinion, I would much rather have had the 7-8 player team deathmatch style of online play.

Having said that the game is predominantly centred on the single player campaign that links to the 4th movie in the franchise. While I am at the early stages of playing this mode I would like to state that things certainly are put together a little bit lazily.
For example you would expect that a transformer like Bumblebee when in robot mode to be pretty tall when upright.. right? So now that the setting is on Earth you would expect him to be standing quite high compared to buildings. Well.... that's not what happens here. Like the other transformers featured they stand only a little bit taller than any human. It breaks the spell that this game should be spinning.
Ignoring the issues like the one mentioned, the story is pretty good. So there is something there for your hard earned money. However this game ends up at three stars in my opinion, stating quite strongly that this game is nowhere near the game it could have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Steaming Dog Turd, 6 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transformers: Rise of the Dark Spark (PS4) (Video Game)
I was looking forward to this as I really enjoyed War for Cybertron & Fall of Cybertron but playing this glitchy poorly put together game is like smearing yourself in vomit while jamming wasps into your eyes. Do not buy, you'll regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not great, 27 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Transformers: Rise of the Dark Spark (PS4) (Video Game)
Not going to lie it's a little bit s***. The graphics are a step down from the previous two, and the game play is shoddy. Don't buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... games that are out there however the graphics are good and it does what it should, 8 Jan. 2015
By 
Ian Mills (UK, Birmingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transformers: Rise of the Dark Spark (PS4) (Video Game)
He seems less interested in this game that the racing games that are out there however the graphics are good and it does what it should
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not great for a next gen game., 24 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Transformers: Rise of the Dark Spark (PS4) (Video Game)
I thought the transformer games would improve but it has not improved on much. Graphics aren't great and no that isn't the only thing that matter but if you compare it to killzone, assassins creed black flag, wolfenstine then you would expect some improvment in graphics. Gameplay isn't great. I literally past the tutorial and gave up. It feels a little clunky in my opinion. When the robots transform into the cars/ robots it's so quick it looks like a metal blob moving around. During battle I understand it being quick or you'd be shot to pieces but when you are in no danger then you should be able to see how they transform a little. I like the idea that you get to play different characters but some I had no idea who they were. Maybe they are in the new film? Maybe they are made up? I have no idea really. It's not an open works at all. You must follow a specific path to get to the objective. And that path isn't very big. This game would pass if it was only for ps3 and xbox 360. It just doesn't feel like a next gen game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it., 5 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transformers: Rise of the Dark Spark (PS4) (Video Game)
My son loves it!

Smooth visuals,colourful and enjoyable to watch as well as play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good buy, 26 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transformers: Rise of the Dark Spark (PS4) (Video Game)
Have bought this for my sons birthday as he has wanted it for ages! It's looks very good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Transformers: Rise of the Dark Spark (PS4)
Transformers: Rise of the Dark Spark (PS4) by Activision (PlayStation 4)
£19.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews