Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A precious diamond in a shabby cardboard box.
This is a welcome update to the so much shorter 2000 Snapper 2xCD set of the Boston concerts. It covers the three days' performances by the great, original (well, nearly, you know what I mean) Fleetwood Mac. The sound is superlative and refreshing, it comes out of the speakers loud and clear There are added numbers that there wasn't room for previously and I wonder why...
Published 13 months ago by Mr. Mm Jones

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good old live bluesrock
Being a great fan of the original (Peter Green's) Fleetwood Mac I was thrilled back in 1999 when the Boston box was issued. The rockblues of Fleetwood Mac in a grand live set of three nights put together on 3CD. Oh boy! The live recordings in 1970 at the Tea Party in Boston were supposed to issued in 1970 or 1971 as THE Fleetwood Mac Live album. Sadly, that did not...
Published 11 months ago by Koos


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A precious diamond in a shabby cardboard box., 18 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. Mm Jones (Northfleet, Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boston (Audio CD)
This is a welcome update to the so much shorter 2000 Snapper 2xCD set of the Boston concerts. It covers the three days' performances by the great, original (well, nearly, you know what I mean) Fleetwood Mac. The sound is superlative and refreshing, it comes out of the speakers loud and clear There are added numbers that there wasn't room for previously and I wonder why anyone could omit "If You Let Me Love You". It is a stunner!

The overall power of all the glorious music makes this writer wish so much that he could have attended all of the sessions. But the sounds creates the feeling taha you are actually attending the shows. Just close yor eyes and revel in delight.

So, sound is as expected, now comes my big beef!

The packaging is terrible. It comes in a round cardboard box which is tight fitting and the base with the tracklistng to the CDs is stuck on badly so that mine is peeling around the circumference in a couple of places already. Any attempt to remove contents from the box faces the same problem. There is a band around the inner part of the box which is being eroded when replacing items in the box so that mine looks as though i have had it years already, not for less than a week...

As if this wasn't bad enough, when you come to the CDs, the reason for such a purchase, there they are, sitting flat and loose. They are separated by two pieces of lint. To protect the bottom CD it is necessary to place it in the box with its label side facing down.

Now, I always thought it was better to not expose playing areas on CDs and you shouldn't be touching them. So what does one do when wanting to play the bottom CD? It is necessary to place the pieces of lint down appropriately in order to safeguard them. But those bits of lint are so flimsy, they will not last long. What are you supposed when, in a few weeks they are disintegrated? I am inclined to find some regular CD cases to store them in, thus making what was expected to be a glorious celebration of this new release into a DIY bodge-up job of it all. And why should I do this? Why should I have to?

The booklet by Roger W Dopson is well written and informative but still it is lacking. As it is round it has but one staple to hold it together. The paper is les sturdy than cut-price toilet paper! So the booklet will not be around too long either. It will fall apart with re-reading it is so flimsy.

There are 5 beermats with photos of the group members as well, why? Could Madfish not have used the costs of the unnecessary mats towards a better package?
All in all the box reminds me of those ones that carried figs and dates at Xmas time years ao, only this box isn't as robust as those were.

The shabby nature of all this makes me think that Madfish are taking the proverbial out of Fleetwood Mac's first LP. Although a dustbin would actually protect the CDs. This shabby piece of cardboard tat will most definitely not

The five stars i've awarded are for the music. The packaging would not merit even a single star from me. It is nothing short of disgusting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great live set, 30 Nov 2013
By 
Sid Nuncius (London) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Boston (Audio CD)
This is a 3-CD set of live recordings made in Boston in 1970, and there is some really good music here. Like a lot of large, live box-sets it's a bit variable, but at its best (which is a lot of the time) this set is a fine reminder of what a truly great blues band Fleetwood Mac were in the Peter Green days.

There is a mixture of their great blues stuff, versions of hits like Oh Well and The Green Manalishi and some of Jeremy Spencer's more knockabout Rock & Roll stuff. It makes for a good, varied listen. Recorded over several nights, there are two very good, immense jamming versions of Rattlesnake Shake each of about 25 minutes, but for me the real gems here are the tighter blues numbers with Green showing the discipline, the depth, the beautiful tone and the magnificent touch which made BB King say of him that of all the fine blues guitarists of that generation, "He was the only one who ever gave me the cold sweats." Try Black Magic Woman or Jumping At Shadows, for example - there's some genuine genius there, I think. The more rocky Elmore James-type tracks are as enjoyable as ever, and the band are good enough for the stuff like Great Balls Of Fire to be worth listening to repeatedly as well. (Rather oddly, although Oh Well and Green Manalishi are two of my favourite tracks ever, I don't think they are all that good as live performances - but that may just be me.)

The sound is pretty good for a live recording. The balance is a bit dodgy at times, but that's all part of the atmosphere and doesn't really get in the way. The packaging is dreadful: gimmicky, inconvenient and just a mess, I'm afraid, but the music's the thing and this is a great record of a great band at the top of their game. It is also a sad reminder that Peter Green's illness, which began to take a serious toll just months after these recordings, was a terrible personal tragedy for him and also robbed us of one of the very greatest blues guitarists and musicians of his generation.

In spite of the horrible packaging I would recommend this set warmly to any fan of pre-Buckingham/Nicks Fleetwood Mac and to any lover of the blues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A more than worthy Boston tea party, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boston (Audio CD)
If you are a fan of the white elecitric blues period of GFleetwood Mac this will be an interesting and worthwhile addition to your collection. Boston of course is not a new album as various bootlegs have previously been available . However, this new threee CD collection has cleaned up the tracks very well and is worth a punt, evern if you have this collection in an earlier form. This disc, I am sure, will become a constant play;certainly it has had many an outing on my system already. My only critiocsm is the packaging. The circuar box is not easy to handle and getting the discs out of it is a work of art. The box design also leaves much to be desired and is best kept away from childen!.That apart It is a very enjoyable play from the then group at the top of its form
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Throw Away Your Old Boston Tea Party CDs and LPs, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boston (Audio CD)
This recent release, produced from a set of newly discovered 8-tracks, depicts the classic, three-guitar lineup in full bloom. For the first time this truly awe-inspiring group of three shows are presented in their entirety, with each night's repertoire (at least as much as possible) crammed into a single disk. The sound quality achieved is phenomenal, and you are certain to be as bowled over as the audience who witnessed each event. For longtime fans of this concert and of the blues/rock/rockabilly stylings of Green, Kirwin, and Spencer, this is a must-add to your collection. For the novice who thought Fleetwood Mac started with Buckingham-Nicks, this sampling, illustrating the band's shift of focus from straight blues to guitar-dominated rock, will open up a wealth of avenues for further exploration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless English Blues, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boston (Audio CD)
Easily one of the best live collections of guitar-based rock ever. The three-guitar lineup itself is matchless... this is much more than just a fast-fingered frontman and a faceless rhythm section. Each player has a role--Green's terrific leads and vocals, Kirwan's melodic counterpoint, and Spencer's Elmore James slide tributes--and together they seriously churn and burn for over three hours without repeating themselves. Not a bad track in the bunch (unless you hate the occasional 1950s send-up), and some are sublime (the original Black Magic Woman, Jumping At Shadows, World In Harmony, Green Manalishi, Oh Well, Rattlesnake Shake). It's hard to believe that this quintet was, in a very different way, the equal of the later, more feminine and certainly more famous Mac, but these guys stack up right against the Allman Brothers with Duane, and that's as high as the bar goes in blues rock. And this set is where it happens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb albums, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boston (Audio CD)
This is a superb set of 3 albums which sound so much better than the previous double album, of the 'Boston' concert recorded in 1970. The box set is excellent value and contains 3 cds , an excellent booklet of notes and for some reason 5 cardboard coasters!
Whilst the packaging is innovative it is of very poor quality and finish. These albums bring out the original sounds of Fleetwood Mac roots .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Issued before but cannot be issued enougth, 18 Oct 2014
This review is from: Boston (Audio CD)
This music has been issued before (in a 3 CD set with a native American Indian on the covers). And I have it. The reason I bought it again is that I want it pristine (my old CD's were used and from different sources and that's like wearing someone else's underwear, yack).

This Boston concert is the live music companion to Fleetwood Mac's first four studio albums with Peter Green. They truely were different live so it's a very nice complement indeed. I give the music itself four stars. The extra star is for sheer joy over the mere existence of this almost 50 years old time capsule of Peter Green's Fleetwood Mac performing in its prime. How amazing isn't that?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing sound...and in a proper box!, 6 Sep 2014
By 
David Parry "bigbasspa" (Lancaster, PA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boston (Audio CD)
This collection of the 3 nights Fleetwood Mac played at the Boston Tea Party in February of '70 is an excellent example of what a great live blues band they were back in the days before Peter Green, Danny Kirwan and Jeremy Spencer all left due to pretty heavy reasons. This set is a wonderful tribute to what a great band they once were before circumstances turned them into a the AOR band they've been for nearly 40 years. There are some wonderful performances but the one that stands out for me is the 24 minute versions of Rattlesnake Shake on the first CD, just a wonderful jam. I can't praise this album enough, I consider it in the top five live albums of all time alongside Hawkwind - Space Ritual, AC/DC - If You Want Blood, Deep Purple - Made In Japan and, of course, The Allman Brothers - Live at Fillmore East. For those worried about the circular box packaging, if you order the 16:99 pound version, as I did, rather than the 24:38 pound version then you'll get the proper, square box. As far as I can see, musically, the sets are extactly the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Legendary Fleetwood Mac, Live in Boston., 5 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boston (Audio CD)
Possibly the best live recording of the legendary Fleetwood Mac at their peak, recorded in March 1970. Three lead guitarists, Jeremy Spencer, Danny Kirwen and the sensational Peter Green. Plus the driving drummimg of Mick Fleetwood and the solid bass of John MacVie. Three volumes of brilliant, stunning British Rhythm and Blues. Absolutely five star music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Peter Greenes' Fleetwood Mac, 15 May 2014
By 
S Lockley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boston (Audio CD)
More live music, again a band from my early listening. This is a true recording of a series of concerts and captures the feel very well. Like all live recordings the joy is in the improvisations, and once the band warms up this is very good guitar-based blues.

This is NOT for those who know and like the US based incarnation of Fleetwood Mac with Lindsay Buckingham and Stevie Nicks, but is great for lovers of Peter Greene's playing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Boston
Boston by Fleetwood Mac (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews