Customer Reviews


235 Reviews
5 star:
 (199)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning
Having read all the books before this one and been on the edge of my seat, longing for 4th October and the release date for "Heroes of Olympus: The Son of Neptune," dying to know what happened next after the cliffhanger at the end of the previous book, I have just completed reading it and was not disappointed.

It is pacey, exciting, witty and full of the...
Published on 5 Oct 2011 by C. Chambers

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great speed but incomplete
The book arrived with amazing speed but came without the cover this may be a simple mistake and if so I'll add a new comment
Published 5 months ago by Joshua B Hewitt


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 5 Oct 2011
By 
C. Chambers (Shenfield, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Having read all the books before this one and been on the edge of my seat, longing for 4th October and the release date for "Heroes of Olympus: The Son of Neptune," dying to know what happened next after the cliffhanger at the end of the previous book, I have just completed reading it and was not disappointed.

It is pacey, exciting, witty and full of the character flaws, weaknesses, decision making, surprise twists in the story and ultimate heroism I have come to expect from this series. It really is a great read and hard to put down, landing straight into the action from the first paragraph. Already I am wanting to know what happens next and waiting with anticipation for the next book in the Heroes of Olympus series.

The characters are always so engaging, full of secrets that need uncovering and Riordan really is a master storyteller. If you have never read any of the Percy Jackson tales, do start at the beginning and follow the progression from "The Lightning Thief" all the way through to "The Son of Neptune." It's a brilliantly entertaining series of stories that both has you laughing out loud in places and on the edge of your seat in others. Our 10 year old has loved them all and has the added advantage that he is now very knowledgeable about Greek mythology which has stood him in good stead at school! Read the series and enjoy. You won't regret the experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still absolutely fantastic, but lost a little of the glimmer., 9 Oct 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I won't deny that I adored the Percy Jackson series, the characters were really engaging, the blend of classical mythology and modern sarcastic humour works brilliantly.
Likewise the prequel to this "The Lost Hero" was fantastic for much the same reason and you should really read them all.
However, I found The Son of Neptune slightly disappointing by comparison. Maybe it's because Percy isn't actually the main character and it's what I've become used to expecting, but Reyna, Frank and Hazel are all much easier to engage with in this book because you are expected to know all about Percy to read this so it feels a little bit like Riordan has undersold Percy.
However that is my greatest criticism, Frank and Hazel (Percy's partners) are fantastic characters and the witty style is still there for the most part.
Regardless it is still a very good book and I encourage anyone who has read the series to follow it, and if you haven't read the series read it all and The Lost Hero, so you can understand many of the little references made about Percy and characters from the Percy Jackson series and The Lost Hero.
One little spoiler though that any fan will understand TYSON's BACK! That should have you sold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars incredible as always mr riordan, 15 Oct 2011
*Spoilers may occur*
since 'the lightning thief' i have always loved rick riordan's books- they're really cleverly set out with loads of laughs thrown in. Son of Neptune is also addictive and i love how he's brought back Percy. I feel i will explode with anticipation for the next three in the series!! hazel and frank are so cute together too. it's a really good buy and if you're like me you'll prpbably end up reading it several times while waiting for the next book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite of the Heroes of Olympus Series, 17 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Finally Percy is back, along with two new demigods, on a quest to once again help save the world. Again, I loved this book! Everything about it just screamed brilliant. The characters, story and world were still so perfect I could not get enough of it.

I felt that there was a lot more background information in this one compared to The Lost Hero. Camp Jupiter, the Roman camp, was finally revealed and it was so different to its Greek counterpart but it was still just as brilliant. It was clear where the differences in the two sets of demigods lie. The Romans were organised and structured, which was reflected in its camp, whereas the Greeks were a lot more free and wild. I loved this because it gave us much more information on how the Romans acted and lived.

Overall this book gave so much more information than the first book and I felt the connection with the characters a lot more, I don't know if this is because we got to read from Percy's perspective again and are familiar with it a lot more than the new perspectives we had in The Lost Hero. Not to mention it was still as action-packed and fast-paced and immediately gripping as any Rick Riordan Book so it gave you a lot more freedom to enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 14 Oct 2011
My 14 year old daughter couldn't wait for this book to arrive, she read it in 2 days! She really enjoyed it and is now eagerly awaiting the release of the next book in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! Could not put it down., 11 Oct 2011
By 
R. Sora (East Anglia, England) - See all my reviews
I am a big fan of the Percy Jackson books and the author in general.
This book is excellent! I struggled to put the book down to go to bed, work or listen anyone in the room.
It has humour without being cheesy, suspense, drama and great action.
If you have read any of the Percy Jackson books you will love this, as long as you have read the previous one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing - what an experience!, 11 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another fantastic book by Rick Riordan. As is usual with Rick Riordan books, the scene is set and the characters are developed exceptionally well, allowing you to be quickly immersed. This is an excellent addition to the Heroes of Olympus series - another "can't put it down" book!
The Rick Riordan Percy Jackson, Heroes of Olympus and Kane Chronicles books really are amazing - they offer an ideal introduction to mythology (Greek, Roman and Egyptian) as well as quite simply being excellent, enthralling stories; the blend of ancient myths and modern day life conjures up incredible storylines and brings the myths and their key players to life. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 10 Oct 2011
By 
N. Huehantrakoon "Rane" (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Just finished this book. It took me 2 days. It was great. I can't wait. for the next one. So exciting...
7 great demigods are joining for the quest. Percy, Jason, Annabeth, Leo, Piper, Frank en Hazel.... love it. They are all from different high gods..and They are all powerful!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Wanderer, 13 Aug 2014
By 
tina walsh (Birkenhead, Wirral United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Book 2 of The Heroes of Olympus series. Percy is missing, with memory of his past and he is on the run from various monsters. Being chased by two of Medusa`s sisters, he is guided to Camp Jupiter by the Goddess Hera, disguised as an old crone.

This camp, hidden from view and guarded by two lookouts who see Percy with the crone on his back and chased by monsters One of them signals him to follow her while the other deals with the Gorgons. After crossing the river, The Little Tiber and entering camp, the crone turns into Juno.

So Percy is introduced to The Legion as a probationer although The Praetor, Reyna recognizes him from Circe`s island, where she and her sister had spent time.

Percy is sent on quests with Frank and Hazel and sees the roman navy. The last quest is important, locating a lost "Eagle."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Percy Jackson classic, 4 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am half way through the latest Percy Jackson book and it is a must read for fans of the series. If you have followed the Percy series from The Lightning Thief then you will know what to expect from ths book. It has all the adventure and witty dialogue you expect and a very clever take on Greek/Roman mythology.
This 2nd in the spin off series from the Percy Jackson books expands greatly on the the universe created by the author Rick Riordan and is another winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews