Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good characterisation, atmospheric
One of the best police detective books I've read (and the first of Alison Taylor's).Wonderfully atmospheric, intelligent and literate, enhanced by an all-pervasive heat-wave. Great characters who are believable and interesting in their own right. I will be seeking out her other books in this series.
Published on 23 Feb. 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK
Personally I found this book a bit laborious but the story's ok with some reasonable characters but a weak plot.
Published 11 months ago by Lesaires


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good characterisation, atmospheric, 23 Feb. 2000
By A Customer
One of the best police detective books I've read (and the first of Alison Taylor's).Wonderfully atmospheric, intelligent and literate, enhanced by an all-pervasive heat-wave. Great characters who are believable and interesting in their own right. I will be seeking out her other books in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A slow burner, 26 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House of Women (Kindle Edition)
A novel which repays patience. I found the early stages a little slow and I was a bit unclear where some charcters fitted. But bear with it! A novel not just of procedure and investigation, but of some quite deep ideas. I really enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Engaging characters and a complex and intelligent plot, 10 Mar. 2014
This review is from: The House of Women (Kindle Edition)
The story setting is atmospheric, and all the characters are vividly and carefully depicted, with the result that the reader is immersed in their story and really cares about the outcome. The plot, whilst evolving slowly, is deceptively complex and thoroughly intriguing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Women of interest, 23 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House of Women (Kindle Edition)
Sorry to say, a book that could have been better written as a short story. To long for what happened, there was not enough to keep you interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House of Women (Kindle Edition)
This book was rather different than I had imagined. I found that the interesting aspects were that the book was well written, with some wonderful descriptions and some interesting characters. The damaging points were a weak plotline and rather too much useless information/dialogue which made the book laborious to read at times. This book is like an old fashioned police procedural whodunnit and there is nothing wrong with that. I personally love whodunnits, but you do need to sense the old Agatha Christie drama and suspense to make the read worthwhile. Where the book fails for me, is the total absence of the factor that makes you turn the pages, it did not grip me at all. Although it does improve after a slow start I still found myself struggling to finish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quite an intriguing story, 20 May 2014
By 
Mr. I. Pimlott (Dursley UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House of Women (Kindle Edition)
Lot's of interesting characters.
This is one more of all the excellent books written by Alison over the past few years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House of Women (Kindle Edition)
Personally I found this book a bit laborious but the story's ok with some reasonable characters but a weak plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The engaging characters and evocative setting do not make up for a weak plot, 29 July 2007
By 
BookAddictUK "BookAddictUK" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The House of Women (Hardcover)
Taylor's The House of Women is a gently paced crime novel in the police procedural genre. Investigation of the unexplained but perhaps accidental death of a failed, somewhat eccentric historian, Ned Jones, reveals a sequence of human weaknesses that marred his life and that of his family. While the plot itself is predictable and perhaps a little too straightforward for my taste, this book is memorable for two strengths. The characterisation is strong, particularly that of the adolescent and troubled Phoebe, the youngest inhabitant of the House of Women and seemingly the only one disturbed by the death of her favoured Uncle. And the setting, in Wales, is delightful: especially the road trips around the mountains and to the almost `outback' and certainly outmoded farms of Ned's sisters. It's a shame that Taylor felt the need to add hints of romance between her sharp detective, McKenna, and Phoebe's mother: I thought it distracting and too obviously a compulsive hook inserted to capture the reader to compensate for the weak plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 9 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House of Women (Kindle Edition)
thought it was a good idea for a story but it didnt really take off.Very disapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping to the very last word!, 11 Mar. 2014
This review is from: The House of Women (Kindle Edition)
This has to be one of the best detective books I've read. It really is written with purpose and depth and keeps you turning page after page!. The characters are so believable and will have you following and living their every move. Another great read from the "pen" of Alison Taylor - highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The House of Women
The House of Women by Alison Taylor
£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews