Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
42
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 July 2014
I have enjoyed the amazon.uk site but have been disappointed that there are so many DVD's available in UK that are not available in US. So, problem was solved when I purchased an all region free DVD player and 1914 All Out was my first test of the new system. It worked great and i couldn't have picked a better film to watch. The acting was superb, the camera work was amazing, the period was portrayed just as it should have been in 1914 and the whole story was heartwarming. The accompanying background music was very appropriate and enhanced the story greatly. Particularly the hymn that was played at the beginning and end. This was an epic story of several years from the beginning to the end of the war realistically condensed into a logical portrayal of how the war had affected a small English village. Great story ! Well Done from beginning to end ! I would put it as the WW1 companion to the Enchanted Cottage !
1313 comments| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2014
As someone interested in social history, and at the moment the lives of those involved in the first World War, I found this film very interesting. I enjoyed it. As a 1944 model myself, there are also certain aspects of my own childhood there too - time did not move so quickly then as it does now! The reason I gave 4 stars is because sound and movment were not coordinated on my copy, which was annoying since i had to try and avoid looking too closely at faces! However all in all this is good piece of work. Enjoy. Though not for those fond of present day action films - which I aint.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 30 June 2014
Originally made by Yorkshire Television in 1987, this well made
film is a little gem. Written by playwright, Colin Schindler
and directed by David Green, it tells the story of the effect
of World War 1 on a tiny rural community set in the fictional
village of East Grisewold, in the Yorkshire Dales.

It is August Bank Holiday, the annual village fete, where two
neighbouring villages get together for their annual cricket
match. Much of the storyline centres around the Houghton
family and we see the two brothers Ken and Joe go off to war.
The writer uses music, visual imagery and dialogue with good
effect to convey how the war can impact on the lives of such
a small community of just 50 souls.
With no actual war footage, other than the regular travelling
cinema of the era showing some propaganda of how our boys are
winning the war, we see the sacrifice that families made when
their men went off to war in Europe.

Worth viewing for it's portrayal of rural life in a bygone era,
when everything was done by hand.
Runs for approx 80 minutes.
Good sound and picture quality,
Released on DVD 2014.
No subtitles.
33 comments| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2014
1914 All Out is a wonderful movie; great for cricket lovers and people who enjoy finding out about recent history. It has also given me a whole new appreciation for the men who went away to war and never came home.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
The storyline is very good and the absence of battle scenes does not detract from ones enjoyment of what must be one of the more realistic films about WW1.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2014
This is a beautiful film covering the lead up to WW1, its duration and post its end, centred on a village in the Yorkshire Dales and how life was impacted by the war, but with the ongoing tread running through the film, will the village cricket team still survive the war. Having had an association with an equivalent village in the Yorkshire Wolds in the late 1960's and the importance of cricket even then this film was joy to me. Beautifully acted, fabulous views of the Dales a film to be viewed and enjoyed,
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2016
I remembered watching this back on a Sunday night in 1987 and longed to be able to own it on DVD. The gentleness of the village life prior to the storm is evident from the congregation discussing war and there being the one voice of reason saying it would not be an easy conflict.

The Houghton family are a close-knit group with the oldest boy, the "golden" boy Ken and the younger boy Joe who one sees is eager to emulate all the things his brother had done but perhaps be able to get recognition in his own way. The annual cricket match with a rival village makes for typical brash bravado of one bowler being better than the batsman and we get a glimpse of a life very much removed from today which many of us may even yearn for.

The audience is caught up in the national fervour of the first enlistments as Ken and 3 others go off to war with all the pomp and circumstance a small village can muster. We then get the imagery of the river flowing which gives the symbolism of peace and calm before the approaching storm; but also the lifeblood of a generation and not just a village ebbing away.

We see Ken progress through the ranks and see him come home on leave prior to the Battle of the Somme where not only does he marry his love, Jean but also squelches the opinions held by his younger brother. While Ken is preparing for his wedding, he holds nothing back in telling his brother why he got "Blighty Leave".

During the remainder of the programme, we are then shown the marked difference when Joe is called up to fight and his solitary walk in stark contrast to the jingoistic pride shown when Ken and the others went away. Perhaps the imagery is to show by this time there were few fighting men left.

In closing, we then cut to the 1919 cricket match by which time, Spanish Flu has claimed its victims and the more muted pleasure in the match given that the chief protagonists are now gone. We are left wondering where Joe and Jean will progress with their relationship but the final scene shows the memorial for the fallen and the village as it was in 1987.

It isn't a long production but gives you characters that you care for and people you feel you know within a village that is close and tight knit and it is this Britain that they thought worth defending and this is the spirit you wish was still around.

I heartily recommend it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2016
Not a bad little film. I rented it based on peoples reviews and it's watchable and gives a view of how WW1 impacted on a small village. Only thing that was spoiled was the quality of the playback. As it's a 1987 film, it was like it had been converted from 35mm to VHS then to DVD by the producers lad in his bedroom so there were artifacts on the screen or it tended to get quite blurry at times which detracted from the storyline.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2014
Lovely scenery and quite funny in places but although I did enjoy it, I found the story to be very slow at times, however on a serious note, the story does tell the horror and sadness of war effecting this village and so many others like it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2014
excellent great war film of village life
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)