Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much Better Than the Bad Reviews Would Have You Believe
Before watching this film ask yourself some questions:
1. Do you like films with lots of action?
2. Do you like films with lots of blood?
3. Do you like films with lots of nudity?
4. Do you think films with more than five consecutive minutes of talking are boring?

If you've answered YES to any (or all) of the above questions then Dark Tide...
Published 14 months ago by Pantheon

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars YOU HAVE NO IDEA WHAT'S WRONG WITH ME
The film takes place in scenic South Africa. We get the National Geographic tour. The film starts out great showing us Halle Berry's cleavage, a guy filming her cleavage, and then they throw a shark into the film...and no more cleavage. Halle's hobby is to pet Great Whites in open water out of a cage. She is married to Jeff who films the action. So when sharks suddenly...
Published 11 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars YOU HAVE NO IDEA WHAT'S WRONG WITH ME, 5 Aug 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dark Tide [DVD] (DVD)
The film takes place in scenic South Africa. We get the National Geographic tour. The film starts out great showing us Halle Berry's cleavage, a guy filming her cleavage, and then they throw a shark into the film...and no more cleavage. Halle's hobby is to pet Great Whites in open water out of a cage. She is married to Jeff who films the action. So when sharks suddenly behave badly, Halle quits diving with them.

After a year, Jeff is trying to get back with Halle. The have fights about the relationship. The film contains Halle doing a first person philosophical narration and the music is very tame, not what one expects for an action/thriller. Halle who has spent 10 years in the water doesn't like the smell of fish and screams when someone tries to push her in. Clearly this is an action flick written for women, or by a woman (Amy Sorlie). In one scene Jeff apologizes for whatever it was that made Halle angry. Halle is angry that he doesn't know why she is angry and won't tell him...because he should know! She finally says, "You have no idea what's wrong with me!"

As Halle's business starts to fail, a wealthy Brit (Ralph Brown) trying to connect with his son (Mark Elderkin) wants to swim with Great Whites without a cage. Halle is reluctant but agrees.

They set out in the water to go dancing with sharks. And if everything went well, there wouldn't be a movie. Dad fights with son, Jeff fights with dad, Halle fights with Jeff, and Halle fights with dad. At this point I was hoping a two headed mega shark would swallow the whole boat. The climatic scene I can't detail because I have no idea what is happening. Everyone is in the same dark suits and it is dark. The full view film of the sharks appear to be stock footage. (Ed Wood would be so proud.) This is more of a drama with some poorly shot action scenes.

No f-bombs (that I caught), sex, or nudity. Some PG-13 name calling. Might be enjoyed by women who like a soft female lead in an "action thriller."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much Better Than the Bad Reviews Would Have You Believe, 19 May 2013
By 
Pantheon (Boston, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dark Tide [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Before watching this film ask yourself some questions:
1. Do you like films with lots of action?
2. Do you like films with lots of blood?
3. Do you like films with lots of nudity?
4. Do you think films with more than five consecutive minutes of talking are boring?

If you've answered YES to any (or all) of the above questions then Dark Tide is NOT the film for you. Even though it's body count is actually higher than Jaws (I counted!) there is not copious amounts of blood. Instead, this is left to your imagination. What is more terrifying than a predator you can't see or hear creeping up on you and killing you before you have a chance to scream? What's more frightening to humans than the thought of being eaten alive?

Dark Tide delivers on suspense, character interaction and development and some very tense (and frightening to those of us terrified of sharks) attack sequences. But, at it's core this is a film about the unpredictability of nature and how we must respect it - or pay the price.

I thoroughly enjoyed this film and it will definitely be pulled down and re-watched whenever I'm in the mood for a shark film. It's nothing like Jaws, Shark Night or Deep Blue Sea or even Open Water; but it is a very good very solid entry into the 'shark attack' cannon of films.

And before you dismiss my review as 'some old fart talking about stuff he doesn't understand', I'll tell you that I also enjoy the films that fall firmly in the YES box of the questions above. The SAW franchise is excellent. Pirahna 3D was great fun and any Michael Bay film is worth a watch; but I also enjoy films that require a little more thought and effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Tide [DVD] (DVD)
could have been better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sharks darken the waters, 2 Oct 2012
By 
Great White "GW" (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dark Tide [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
O.K. firstly this is not a Jaws clone and should not be held up as a successor to Jaws. As a solid shark movie, it delivers. This is probably the first movie that does not have fake sharks, these are REAL and that makes the tension and suspence all that more heightened. I really enjoyed this movie and I would rank it just under Jaws, and Deep Blue Sea as one of the best shark movies ever. Forget the low budget ones like Shark Attack, Dinoshark, Sharktopus, Mega shark vs Mega Octopus and even Supershark, this film is the real deal. There is plenty of human interaction as well as plenty of shark interaction and like Jaws is not just about the shark but the people who have dealt with them. The story is simple just like Jaws was, a diver loses a friend while diving with sharks and doesn't want to repeat the situation even though they are running out of money. The shark attacks are breathtaking and quite a few times it looks like the main characters are going to be attacked but know how to deter a shark from seeing them as lunch. These people take a hell of a lot of risks and it is breathtaking to watch. John Stockwell crafts a superb film with plenty of intense and sometimes scary scenes. It is a shame that this film fell through the net (pardon the pun) and didn't do that well at the cinema because it is one of them gems that fall to the wayside. Dark Tide (2012) is a highly addictive thriller and will have you once again afraid to enter the water.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Odd, 4 May 2014
By 
G. E. Parker "A Person" (Westgate, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Tide [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Blu-ray presentation is good but there are no extras whatsoever.

The movie is hard one to quantify: too trashy for the chin-strokers and too sedate for the Saturday night crowd. Though well drawn the characters don't have much to do and the story takes a long time to not really go anywhere. The nature photography is terrific - many parts of the film would look at home in a David Attenborough documentary.

The film is pervaded with a slightly dreamy atmosphere (maybe it was just boredom) and is slickly made with good production values. If you're after a thrill-ride this isn't it. If you're after something with a little more substance this isn't it either. If you're running a high fever and loved 'Blue Planet' this could be just the ticket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars its 'OK', 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Tide [DVD] (DVD)
Not as bad as some of the people suggest, not as good as others suggest....if its your kind of film, underwater / sharks / Halle Berry you will enjoy it but probably only once...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I tried...., 7 Sep 2013
By 
Paul (SHEERNESS, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dark Tide [DVD] (DVD)
I tried to stay focused on the film for as long as possible. At the start there was Hal's cleavage to stare at even with the hand held cam footage showing how rocky the boat was ruining my appreciation. Then there was the eventual shark attack. Then loads of nothing, a bit more nothing and eventually we're all back on the boat hoping for anyone (it doesn't matter who) to get eaten.
The music soundtrack is one of those efforts that will help you to doze off when sleep is proving hard to get.
The "live" footage was good but why some bell-end would lean over the side of a boot just to stroke a shark defies me.
This film gets 2 stars, one for the fact that there was literally nothing on SKY and this was it so I didn't waste a penny, and one for the fact that Halle was in a bikini top.
Other than that it's dire crap and any pretentious reviewers that think they gained an insight into the mindset of the shark because those of us that enjoy something a bit livelier are unworthy are welcome to it.
Don't waste your cash on this - buy a goldfish - watching that is much more exciting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SWIM OUT OF THE CAGE, 8 Jun 2012
By 
This review is from: Dark Tide [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Dark tide delivers on suspense! It must be stressed anyone expecting a film similar to Jaws, about a shark stalking the waters, will be disappointed. The sharks are not the villians in this, they are just shown in their natural surroundings although this does not make them anyless terrifying. The film centres around a diver struggling to come to terms over a tragedy she once had whilst swimming with great whites outside the cage. Facing financial ruin, a rich businessman offers her a large amount of money if she'll take him to swim with the sharks outside the cage. After initial refusal she agrees in hopes to conquer her demons. What ensues is a great thiller and some great scenes with some of the worlds greatest creatures
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Tide [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this and thought got to try this film well with halle berry in good price and great delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A smelly fish of a movie., 27 Feb 2014
This review is from: Dark Tide [DVD] (DVD)
Don't waste your money on this awful movie, complete waste of 2 hours, Doctors should prescribe this movie for anyone having trouble sleeping at night, it will put them to sleep after 30mins, its boring, nothing really happens, there is a couple of shark attack scenes and the end drags on, too much talking and no action, i wonder how much Halle Berry got paid for this trash, she must be hard up, maybe Kelly Brook was not available at the time and they offered it to Berry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dark Tide [DVD]
Dark Tide [DVD] by John Stockwell (DVD - 2014)
12.50
Available for pre-order
Pre order Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews