Customer Reviews


125 Reviews
5 star:
 (93)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


222 of 231 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A modest update to the EOS 1100D, but excellent value
I quite liked the EOS 1100D (but felt it was a bit dated despite being a bargain price) so was quite keen to try this to see what improvements Canon had made.
The answer is some, but probably not as many as I expected.
I'll list out the key areas where the EOS 1200D is improved over the 1100D

+ 18mp CMOS sensor (same as many other Canon's) up from the...
Published 12 months ago by Mr Baz

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Canon Should do Better.
I purchased this for my daugher as she's mad keen on art and getting into photography. The product hasonly been out of the box for 6 weeks and we've had to complain to Amazon already.

The feedback from my daughter is it's generally great but today she said that when she manually focused, she could feel the lens focus mechanism 'grinding' I checked and...
Published 1 month ago by Bluediverboy


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

222 of 231 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A modest update to the EOS 1100D, but excellent value, 15 Mar. 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(#1 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
I quite liked the EOS 1100D (but felt it was a bit dated despite being a bargain price) so was quite keen to try this to see what improvements Canon had made.
The answer is some, but probably not as many as I expected.
I'll list out the key areas where the EOS 1200D is improved over the 1100D

+ 18mp CMOS sensor (same as many other Canon's) up from the 12mp CMOS
+ Build does feel a bit better in the hand, the grip is now textured v the smooth one on the older model
+ The rear LCD is now 3" 460k dots v the 2.7" 230k EOS 1100D, quite a bit better, and sharper but not up to the 600d's high res
+ You now have full HD video 1920 x 1080 at 30/25fps v 1280 x 720 (mono no mic socket) sound levels can be adjusted, and movie length is now 29:59 secs rather than the 17 minutes on the older model
+ Raw can now be shot at 3fps v 2fps, the raw buffer is 6 frames
+ You have various creative filter "effects" you can apply to images, soft focus/toy camera etc etc

In other areas, the EOS 1200D is basically the same as the EOS1100D
Same Digic 4 processor
Same 9 point AF and CFL metering (with one cross type central AF sensor)
Spec is identical in other ways max shutter of 30 seconds to 1/4000 sec, 0.80x viewfinder the same too
**Note there is no AF for the video mode manual focus only** but you do have manual controls like exposure and white balance
SD card slot also sits in the main battery compartment as previous models (note tripod users), a minor niggle probably done for cost saving measures.

In the hand the AF via the viewfinder felt a touch more responsive v the 1100d, live view AF was still pretty slow and no obvious improvement seen here. (takes a few seconds for live view contrast AF to lock) This is ok for static subjects like landscapes, for normal shooting the viewfinder is a better bet.

So you get a 6mp bump in sensor resolution, and a better video mode and nicer LCD.
If you're looking for a bargain this hits the spot nicely and the 1200d is now a better buy than the 1100d brand new, though if you own the 1100d it's not really a big jump up. If you are willing to spend a little more and want something a bit higher up, look around for some clearance deals on the 650/700d. If you want the swivel LCD both have that, more features, better controls, somewhat larger viewfinder, and the ability to use dedicated wireless flash. Image quality is basically the same.

Canon have been fairly conservative with their update here, still it does have most of what a user would want at this price point. It's easy to use and a great camera for learning on. Like the 1100D HSS is supported with dedicated flashes (high speed sync for fill flash outside with a dedicated flash that supports this you can fill flash at all shutter speeds, useful in brighter light and at faster apertures), wireless flash is not built into the on-board flash. You also have full control over the camera as well as aperture, shutter, manual modes and of course raw capture. I could nit-pick a few areas the build is fine for the price you get what you pay for of course, viewfinder is a bit on the small side too would have liked to see an improvement there. However the price is low and you have to take that into consideration, and the bottom line is the camera is capable enough for most users needs.

If you're getting into photography a bit more a DSLR offers new users more control, the ability to change lenses, as well as better image quality and more depth of field control (ie blur backgrounds for portraits etc), over smaller sensor cameras. There is a significant difference here, but consider where you want to go with your picture taking, a system camera isn't for everyone and many DSLR users also use some of the better premium compacts for times they don't want to carry an SLR around. Some folks might be better served with a bridge model which has a big zoom range and no need to change lenses, and some prefer the compact mirror less models, so think about what you want. You're buying a more flexible tool here no question, and Canon's system is huge in terms of lenses available, but it's not for everyone nor does it guarantee you'll instantly get better photos.

Take note with the kit lens the EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 III does not have stabilisation, the IS II version kit bundle does
The good news is that the improvements do bring a few lagging areas on the 1100D more up to date (LCD screen, higher res sensor and a full HD video) It's an excellent way to start your DSLR journey, and the price is only going to go down even more over time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great camera for beginners, 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm in love with this camera. I use it all the time. It is a great first camera for those that are not too experienced with photography and it has inspired me to get out and about a bit more. The quality of photo it takes is very good and of course you can get loads of additional equipment (e.g. other lenses, filters etc) to take your photography further. I thought what I paid for it was a very reasonable price for a decent, well made piece of equipment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheaper than a 1.4x teleconverter... Still smiling, 9 Jan. 2015
Bought a Canon 1200D to use on a 150-500 zoom lens for wildlife work in 'difficult circumstances' where I didn't want to risk my 5D2 and for when I needed extra reach (on the 1200 I get nearly 800mm of zoom due to the FOV maths). 18 mpix for the 1200 against 21 mpix for the 5D2 but lots less cropping.. I'm still (really) smiling .Did some sums, it was cheaper to buy the 1200D than buy a 1.4 teleconverter and I didn't lose a stop either. Can't comment on the included lens as I haven't used it but absolutely delighted with the 1200 body on the big zoom. Of course it looks ridiculous, it's tiny compared to the size of the lens, Do I care? Not at all, the results speak for themselves,It works superbly. I am absolutely gob-smacked with the images. The lack of weight on the combination means I can shoot for hours without wearing out my arms and shoulders, I've invested in some decent silicone armour for the body and despite some VERY heavy use the 1200D hasn't complained once. If it breaks (or I drop it or I get it soaked) I don't care.. I'll simply go buy another. I can get 4 of these for the cost of a 7D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Purchased for my Son as his first DSLR camera and ..., 20 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Purchased for my Son as his first DSLR camera and he is still exploring his way around it and he is made-up with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant camera to start off with, 21 Sept. 2014
By 
R. Blair "RedBeard" (Isle of Wight) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant camera to start off with, very easy to us and takes excellent photos. I am looking forward to learning more about photography and this camera is a perfect for the job
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great camera to get you started, 7 Aug. 2014
By 
Mr. T. S. James (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Canon EOS 1200D Digital SLR Camera with EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II Lens (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I'm fairly new to DSLR photography and still trying to learn as much as I can, this seems like a great choice for an entry level camera.

The first thing you notice is how comfortable it feels in the hand and how light it is, at least as light as you can get for a DSLR. It has all the features you need to take great pictures and it also shoots full HD video too which is a bonus for me. On the rear of the camera is a 3 inch LCD which has a higher dot count over the previous model the 1100D, so it shows off your photos and videos much better.

As for the images themselves they're very crisp and clear and I was amazed at what this little camera can produce. I expected decent photos with it being a DSLR but the results were better than I expected. Most of the shots I've taken have been outdoors so the images are well lit and colourful, I need to test it out more indoors or perhaps in the evenings to see how it fares. I also took the liberty of shooting some video which is perfectly adequate for most people's needs. One thing I would say is that this lacks an input for an external mic, I use a Rode Videomic Pro when shooting video so it would have been nice to pair this with the 1200D. You also don't get auto focus when shooting video so that's something else to bear in mind.

The battery seems to last well when taking photos, I took the camera for a day out and shot quite a few photos and the battery indicator was still showing as full. As for video I can't comment on how long the battery would last, but it will more than likely eat it up a lot quicker. Other DSLR's I've used for video generally last 45 mins.

If you're new to DSLR photography and fancy picking up a camera to start you off then you can't go far wrong with the 1200D. It may lack some features here and there, particularly for video, but you can always upgrade to something better over time as you pick up and learn the basics. There's also a companion app that you can download that will help you to master the camera and develop your photography skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent specification and takes Canon, 18 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Exactly what I wanted which was a starter SLR for my daughter.
Excellent specification and takes Canon lenses
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant cheap DSLR for the price., 29 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brought this a a cheap alternative so i didn't have to take my 70D traveling with me and this worked a treat.

Pros

-Easy to use for people new to photography.
-It shoots at about 4fps which is about average so you can still capture great sports shots.
-Can record in 1080p at 30fps for video.
-The 18CMOS senor is great it and can notice the upgrade from older models.
-Good all round camera for the price can shoot fantastic Sports,landscape,cityscape,street, and portrait photos.
-is comfortable in the hand.

The main len's i use for this camera are 50mm f1.4, 28-135mm for marco and other things and the standard 18-55mm is that came with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great camera for transferring from compact cameras to system cameras!, 16 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon EOS 1200D Digital SLR Camera with EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II Lens (Electronics)
For one of the cheaper options, what comes to system cameras, this is a great camera to start learning about more advanced photography.
Luckily there are many cheaper decent quality lens, flash, diffuser, and other accessory options to help you explore various areas of photography more in depth.

With this camera you will not have to dive into manual settings right away. Manual settings may look somewhat intimidating before you actually get to know them a little, but you will soon discover that there was no real reason to be concerned about them.
There is wide range of automatic options to choose from, which you can instantly use for taking nice portraits, landscapes, or other type of photos.

From fully automatic presets you can, any time when you feel ready, move on to adjusting just few settings in Creative mode.

When bored, and less intimidated by more advanced settings, you can try to go for more advanced options where you will have more say about what photos you want camera take for you. (In case you don't have strong interest for electronics/computers since before, then it might help to read the manual or a book about it first. There are few books on Amazon that you can buy, which cover specific model of your camera while also giving good basic tips for people who first time use dslr cameras. Maybe "Cannon 1200D for dummies" is a good start?)

Even fully Manual mode is far easier to handle and comprehend than one would imagine, and going from automatic to manual modes is surprisingly painless and much faster/easier than one would expect.

If you are really curious and tend to like electronics, then don't be too surprised if you can maneuver most of the core settings already the very same evening you receive your camera.
Needless to say, it will take many years of practice (and talent) to become a decent photographer, but technical part can be very easy and quick to learn (depending on your other interests also ofc, so don't feel bad if it takes longer!)

SUMMARY:
Great camera to transfer from compact camera to system cameras.
Many fully automatic modes for beginners to get them going with this camera asap.
Very nice setup for fast smooth transition from automatic modes to manual ones.
Good menu set up.

Despite being a simpler version of system camera, it has good quality and it is definitely worth buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great camera and well priced helping of Canon's DSLR technology, 28 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Overall I found this camera produced great images and was a joy to control, I really think Canon's pedigree in cameras shines through with a well thought out and capable camera at a very competitive price.

Very small & lightweight – I found the 1200D very light when equipped with the EF-S 18-55 kit lens, the lightness of the camera meant I could carry it all day.
Can use all Canon's EF & EF-S lenses – This is great there are so many lenses for this camera from Canon, Tamron, Sigma, Tokina.
Good LCD screen – Bright and sharp, easy to review your photos, daylight visible.
Gets exposure right – I find the exposure/metering to be very good, rarely do I get burnt out or dark shots.
Good control buttons – I found the functions I need regularly, had dedicated buttons, for example exposure compensation + or – This helps to work quickly and creatively with this camera.
Good ISO (low light) performance – Image noise at high ISO was quite well controlled, usable up to ISO1600.
Good auto focus (AF) – I found the auto focus quick and reliable, even in low light conditions.
Great battery life – shoot all day, no problem.
Fast slick user interface – All buttons and menus respond instantly with no lag, menus and controls show real thought has gone in.
Sharp lens – I found the EF-S 18-55 f/3.5=5.6 III lens very sharp over the whole zoom range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews