Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars18
3.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 March 2014
Bought this as a taster book ready for a trip to Paris.
Am enjoying the author's amusing writing style and local knowledge.
Will take my kindle on the trip to continue enjoying dipping in to the book.
A great read at a bargain price - greatly recommended for all !
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2014
Just loved this book so much. Felt as if I was actually visiting Paris myself whilst reading. To be recommended to everyone who intends visiting Paris and for those who have visited many times before. One of the most descriptive books of Paris available in my opinion.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2014
If you have a little englander's view of the French you may find this 'guide' amusing - I found it read like the ramblings of an occasional visitor who fancied themselves an expert. Lot of definitive statements about 'The French' as if they all come off a production line. As a practical guide it's of no use to anybody as there are so few precise locations mentioned. The most specific recommendation I noticed for restaurants as I skimmed faster and faster through this drivel was that the best thing to order in parisian restaurants is frites and crudites! Yeah, salad and chips, don't try any of that horrible french muck! That's pretty much the tone of this guide. Avoid.
22 comments5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2014
All i can say is that iam very confused with this book and the writer. I found this book, a very depressing read as the writer clearly dislikes France and the french! Why wouldhe want to write a tourist guideto Paris that would put off any would be traveller. I did not find the book amusing, just very badly written with no information whatsoever. A waste of money.
22 comments5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2014
Very nice, informative and funny book about habits of Parisians and their style of living. Would advice read it just for pleasure as well, as this book is not only for people who are going to visit this amazing city.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
Simple and informative especially for people who haven't been to Paris before. Good insider information from people who actually live in the city.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2011
The inimitable Dr Coleman does it again. One of his homes is in Paris, and he clearly loves the city and its sometimes challenging denizens. His descriptions of the French in general, and of Parisians in particular, are alone worth the price of the book. If like me you're an admirer of his perceptive eye and sense of the ridiculous, you'll find a treasure on every page. Merveilleux. Bloody merveilleux.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2015
UPDATE: I received a retaliatory one-star review of my own book after I wrote a negative review of this book. They had of course not read my book before writing their review. I daresay that must have been exactly this lot's approach to writing about Paris.

Here's what I originally wrote , and I stand by what I say:

An Insider's Guide, or An Outsider's Frustrations? The only "secret" this book exposes is the ignorance of its author.
But that, in abundance. As a French saying goes, "la culture c'est comme la confiture: moins tu en a et plus tu l'etales" ("culture is like jam: the less you have, the more you spread it").
Art, history and culture are deliberately ignored by this guide book. The writer knows nothing of French history and its monuments and is proud of it. French wines are ignored. The author has, however, discovered the French version of mulled wine.
Information in this guide is minimal, basic, and hidden between long rambling passages. The section on "understanding the Parisians" is an astonishingly long string of anecdotes designed to demonstrate the strangeness of the Parisians. Needless to say, they demonstrate nothing. Except, perhaps, that the author wishes there were no Parisians in Paris. Filled with heavy-handed, cheap jokes, this book is embarrassing for all involved. Do not buy.
0Comment2 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2014
I have been to Paris a few times this book is very poor no secrets here. you could find more via google.
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2014
Lovely book. Obtained as a guide prior to forthcoming trip , but it's more than that it's a story of life in Paris written by someone who is obviously in love with the city. Worth reading even if you never get to Paris (which would be a terrible shame).
0Comment2 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.