Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars11
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 May 2001
Anyone who has used one of the other titles in Routledge's Colloquial series will know exactly want to expect. The book is an introduction to the Scottish Gaelic language for students presumed to have no previous knowledge. The emphasis is on building oral proficiency and the language presented has a concrete context in real-world situations e.g. shopping, food and drink and hobbies, usually presented in the form of lively dialogues. Grammatical explanations are clear, concise and again rooted in a real-world context. The book has a clear layout and it is easy to locate information within the text. As with other Colloquial textbooks, the authors do not attempt to cover too much material in each chapter (of which there are sixteen), although a wide range of topics and contexts are dealt with during the course.
The pronunciation of Gaelic does not come over well on paper, although the introduction to the book does give a good outline to the subject. However, a student serious in wishing to learn the language would be well-advised to buy the cassette which accompanies the course. This contains many of the dialogues and texts spoken by native speakers and will aid good pronunciation.
Self-study is not the easiest way to acquire a new language. However, if your aim is to learn modern, spoken Scottish Gaelic, you have an excellent opportunity with this course.
0Comment|62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2010
I find this the worst of the three main self-tuition Gaelic books. On the positive side, it has clear layout, sensible structure and quite useful vocabulary lists, some of them in pictorial form. Both Gaelic-English and English-Gaelic word lists are included at the back. On the negative side, the explanations of grammar are decidedly sketchy - there is virtually nothing about forming the genitive case - and some of the exercises are rather awkward for the solitary learner, in that they are too little directed and demand too much imagination. Also, just like Teach Yourself Gaelic, no attempt is made to render pronunciation in print. The two CDs are very comprehensive, with several items for each lesson, but, as another reviewer points out, the `continuity announcer' has an appalling monotonous tone. Overall: not bad, and useful if you have the other two books too, but could be an awful lot better.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2009
The best language course I have tried in many years of learning languages. You MUST make sure you buy the book and the accompanying CDs. From then on all the work is logical, clearly laid out and easy to follow.
The only down side to my mind is the incredibly boring monotonal voice of the tutor on the CDs who sounds like a limp-wristed English 'anorak'. Why it isn't narrated by a Scot as are the speaking and listening examples, I don't know: Otherwise its brilliant and well worth the money.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2010
This is very helpful for early or new learners.Whilst being accurate it is not too academic in tone and really helps with the colloquial use of the language. Great for those with little or no access to native gaelic speakers.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2009
This a a very comprehensive course, but is only for beginners in the sense that it starts at the beginning. It is not an easy course to take, and requires much dedication and time to complete. Forewarned is fore-armed.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2013
This was a very good CD to listen to in the car and learn Gaelic. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to learn Gaelic. It was well packaged and arrived in good time.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2010
not much to say really other than this is truly on of the best teaching tools i have ever used. it WORKS and it works VERY WELL. Simple accurate to the point lessons with recordings and pronouciation lessons, it gets nae better than this
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
I was very pleased with the service. The two books were very helpful and easy to understand. Speedy delivery and would certainly use again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2011
While this course imparts a lot of useful vocabulary I found it skimmed over too quickly points of grammar (although there is a brief grammar summary at the end which is why I'm not giving it one star). If you want a course with just as much useful vocabularly, but with a greater emphasis on Gaelic grammar opt for Complete Gaelic.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2009
I feel that Scots Gaelic is a fading language compared to Irish Gaelic and this is a shame.
I am trying to learn it and combine it with a program called BYKI4 Express.
Recomended! :)
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)