Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MAGNIFICENT INTRODUCTION TO JAPANESE POETRY
(A review by Luciano Lupini). This is one of the greatest "small" books I have ever read. Rexroth conveys a good bird's eye view of classical japanese poetry, with poems selected and translated by him, mostly from the Manyoshu (A.D. 759) and Kokinshu (A.D. 905)compilations.
You will be surprised by the intensity and sensibility that these short poems reflect. Also...
Published on 3 Sept. 2003 by Luciano Lupini

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good, but not great
my curiosity of poetry is increasing by the day and next to my bed i have books of poetry from the world over. i was slightly disapointed with the poetry here. i thought that some of the profoundness may have been lost in translation. while some of it is breathtakingly beautiful others are maundane. if i was after somethinf of this nature and was not specifiacly going for...
Published on 7 July 2006 by Benjamin Burleigh


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MAGNIFICENT INTRODUCTION TO JAPANESE POETRY, 3 Sept. 2003
By 
Luciano Lupini (Caracas Venezuela) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
(A review by Luciano Lupini). This is one of the greatest "small" books I have ever read. Rexroth conveys a good bird's eye view of classical japanese poetry, with poems selected and translated by him, mostly from the Manyoshu (A.D. 759) and Kokinshu (A.D. 905)compilations.
You will be surprised by the intensity and sensibility that these short poems reflect. Also you will be delighted to read the different depictions of states of mind and heart in this poetry which will eerely convey the atemporal dimension of sorrow, pain, joy and appeasement to the contemporary human being.
A sample of what to expect:
"The flowers whirl away
In the wind like snow.
The thing that falls away
Is myself....."(Prime Minister Kintsune)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful collection of quiet intensity, 24 Jun. 1999
By A Customer
He has gathered a wonderful collection of quiet often powerful poems. I used to always keep a copy at my desk at work when I needed a break from programming. I think everyone who loves poetry should have a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rexroth's Japan, 28 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've long had a "thing" for oriental poetry and Rexroth's translations do not disappoint. Not every poem in this collection is of interest (to me at least) but they give a good glimpse at a poetic tradition I had not sampled before. The translations of Hitomaro at the end are worth the price of admission in themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poetry Book, 21 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Purchased for my mother in law. Had a look and very easy to read and whilst not into poetry myself found I was very quickly engaged in the reading and interpretation. Good value and excellent buy. Would recommend for anyone with a facination in Poetry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, 26 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mostly a variety of poems from the 100 nin isshu and 1000 leaves collections.

Mostly short poems that give a fascinating insight into the classical Japanese literary artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and very thought provoking, 5 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Poems from the Japanese (Kindle Edition)
Excellent and very thought provoking. I have read Rexroth's work before and enjoyed it and I wasn't disappointed in this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good, but not great, 7 July 2006
By 
my curiosity of poetry is increasing by the day and next to my bed i have books of poetry from the world over. i was slightly disapointed with the poetry here. i thought that some of the profoundness may have been lost in translation. while some of it is breathtakingly beautiful others are maundane. if i was after somethinf of this nature and was not specifiacly going for the japanese route i would go for a book like 'The Book of Longing' by Leonard Cohen which contains gems such as "when i was young i wrote for love, when i got older i wrote for money. for a man like me, it's the same thing". or if you really love this book of japanese poetry maybe Cohen's one for the future. so to conclude the book is enjoyable but here are too many pages that can be skipped over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

100 Poems from the Japanese
100 Poems from the Japanese by Kenneth Rexroth
£10.44
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews