Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funky & Fun
After releasing a series of dance floor dominating singles over the past few years, Todd Terje tries his hand at the long playing format, and the results are pretty successful. Whilst avoiding the traps and pitfalls of just producing a mere collection of singles, or worse still, padding out the hits with similar but less inspired filler, Terje does a Daft Punk and delves...
Published 14 months ago by Luke

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some killer, some filler
It's got a fantastic album title and cover art but sadly this is the type of album that give albums a bad name. I don't think there is quite enough quality all the way through. It takes until Track 5 (Strandbar) for an actual dance beat to arrive. This track reminds me a little of Cassius. Prior to that we're treated to an Intro and three pieces of Muzak that range from...
Published 9 months ago by UliJon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funky & Fun, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Album Time (Audio CD)
After releasing a series of dance floor dominating singles over the past few years, Todd Terje tries his hand at the long playing format, and the results are pretty successful. Whilst avoiding the traps and pitfalls of just producing a mere collection of singles, or worse still, padding out the hits with similar but less inspired filler, Terje does a Daft Punk and delves into dance musics 70's roots with a selection of retro tracks that just about evade the 'derivative' label.

As you'd expect there is a heavy disco influence (in the more European, heavily electronic Giorgio Moroder/Patrick Cowley/Koto vein rather than the live band, syncopated Nile Rodgers style), but on top of that there's tracks that are pure Herbie Hancock style jazz funk, spaced out lounge/easy listening reminiscent of Herb Alpert or Henry Mancini, some esoteric stuff that sounds like it could have been included in the Katamari Damacy soundtrack, like lost gems from the golden age of library music.

However, all this retro referencing and nods to musical influences is all well and good but the main thing here is that this record is just fun. It's good lighthearted catchy pop music and upbeat dance music. The only real exception is the the Robert Palmer cover with Bryan Ferry's vocals which is like an emotive centre amid all the campy spacesynth and Eurodisco. There are even a couple of mini song suites which does sound quite proggy on paper, but Terje completely sidesteps the chin stroking in favour of foot tapping. Plus the album closes with 'Inspector Norse', which is nice.

The album definitely isn't going to win any awards for innovation, with most of it sounding like it was streamed directly from the 70's and 80's, but it's an excellent soundtrack to the summer months, and compared to some other recent big name dance producers album efforts (say, Tensnake) it is pure class.

Update: October 2014: I'm boosting the rating from 4 to 5 stars. I was a bit stingy because it was so retro and it wore it's influences on it's sleeve so brazenly but it's just so joyous and irrepressibly sunny that it's not merely a good record it's a great one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fun and Funky Jean Michel Jarre?, 7 July 2014
By 
Bill (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: It's Album Time (Audio CD)
This is a delightful album. It is, for the most part, instrumental. Listening to the tracks I couldn't help but be reminded of the work of Jean Michel Jarre, albeit that the songs here are noticeably more fun and funky than some of Mr Jarre's work. There is some very clever use of keyboards and synthesisers, although nothing too experimental. You could compare some of the more synth-based tracks to artists like Air and Royksopp, and yet there is a happiness in this music, which makes it less pensive than some of the other artists I've mentioned. I've only just recently discovered the miserably undervalued electro-pop tunes of Pete Lunn (Peachland), and this effort from Todd Terje is an equally pleasant surprise, no doubt soon to be heard in a cool winebar somewhere near you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Electronica, 8 Aug. 2014
By 
Mr. L. Pankhurst (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Album Time (MP3 Download)
I went into a cafe in Norwich for lunch and they had this on in the background. I was unable to concentrate on what my wife was saying during Deleorean Dynamite. It was the first time I'd heard it and I was swept up. I'm a big fan of electronica and this is the most exciting thing I've heard in years. Well since the last Orbital album anyway. Its like Air meets Kraftwerk meets Disco meets Yellow Magic orchestra. Parts of it are nearly House, I would expectthere are some banging refixes of some of this.

Absolutely cracking album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Original and amazing, 26 Jan. 2015
This review is from: It's Album Time (Audio CD)
I felt compelled to write a review for this album. For me its not often that you get so many good tracks on an album to make a pleasing whole. If you like electronica, dance and disco, and can see the sense of melody and rhythm to music, as well as its originality with lots of layers and influences, this album will be for you. Its one of the most raved of electronic albums of 2014 and I can see why. You need to put it on and listen to it throughout as its crafted as one and not all the tracks are to the same ilk, plus it moves through different electronic genres. At first listen you might think its a little cheesy and unimpressive with its staccato café style on some tracks, but give it time and patience and it will reward you. Oh boy will it do so - a real builder album and the best are so! You could be forgiven (at the start) for thinking that listening to any one given track in itself might not be absolutely amazing, but as a whole this album builds and its for those that really take the time to appreciate music. Proper music and none of this online single track cherry picking. I happen to think at least 8 or 9 of the 12 tracks are brilliant. It hails to the current Scandinavian tradition of using lots of synths, some of which will be familiar in the sound of well known artists like Royksopp. It starts off with lots of Scandinavian sampling and synths, moves into chilled café lounge type music akin to the backbone of a something out of a 60's Rivera film, then carries on this tradition before moving into what sounds like Brazilian café lounge. All the time keeping it's disco and electronica stance. Then back onto club/disco and what sounds like house with lots of synths and key changes. The tune from the Renault adverts could not be so good in an electronic form, in the track 'Johnny & Mary', in fact my favourite version with the slightly breathy Bryan Ferry. Then it goes back onto café chill then back into repetitive Scandinavian sounds with lots of arpeggio's. The chilled out 'cafe' tracks are the likes of 'Leisure Suit Preben', 'Preben Goes to Acapulco' and 'Alfonso Muskedunder'. It hails to disco for 'Strandbar' and to the slightly more house orientated 'Delorean Dynamite'. I love the track 'Oh Joy' and when it breaks into the beat at around 3 minutes - it goes from an electronic sounding track into something you want to get up and dance to. The ending 'Inspector Norse' with the keyboard riff, really gets you going again. Clearly this album has been very well conceived and thought out from someone on the top of his game. If you like groups like Royksopp and the electronic / dance genre I don't think you will be any other than impressed by this album. Very well recommended and cant wait for the next one please. When?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most Anticipated Album, 16 April 2014
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: It's Album Time (Audio CD)
Lets face it, this is probably the most anticipated record in a long time. Todd's been dropping EPs left right and centre, and the question on most people's lips was "when's the album coming Todd?"

After a long period of making disco edits; Todd Terje moved into the world of his own productions. The first I heard of was inspector Norse, with it's pulsy synths and exciting pace. I really thought it could get no better.

I'd obviously not heard Delorean Dynamite - a beautifully crafted 6 minute piece which takes you back to the past of synth music, a time when Jarre was king and the Arp synth was considered hardcore. At the same time Todd makes us feel like we're in a new future we have never seen coming, and this is why this track is so important. He's thought of everything here, from the bumpy beats, cloudy synths and the funky rhythm guitar - this is the sort of track that sells albums, and Todd's hit gold.

Other massive tracks include Todd's homage to Robert Palmer with Johnny And Mary, which features Roxy Music frontman Bryan Ferry. It's a very nice cover which makes you feel all fuzzy and warm.

The rest of the album is just as good, with it's funky disco feel and retro synths. Svensk Sås is a stand-out here. I'm not really getting a feel for Oh Joy yet, but I guess it won't be long until I like that too.

This was well worth the wait-it's funky, fun, retro and different. It really reminds me of when Royksopp first hit the charts back in 2002, it's new different and just cool. I would highly recommend checking out his Soundcloud as there's always interesting sounds coming from him.

Brilliant début, worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars disco house, 5 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Album Time (Audio CD)
this aalbum was what I kind of expected having heard annie mac play a couple of the songs on radio 1 the week it came out, she said it was really good modern throwback to disco from the 70s and 80s and was very good, so I ordered one thinking it might be good having heard the couple of tracks and hearing what she had to say about it, the album was better thaan I expected I love it, it does have 70s and 80s influence but it is also modern with a house music style going on, loved it, 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It''s cocktail Time!, 30 Dec. 2014
This review is from: It's Album Time [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Many of the tracks here could be a theme tune for a sixties TV show, I'm thinkinking, 'The Persuaders' or 'Vendetta', in other words anything by John Barry. In the same way rock music draws on the blues. Todd Terje has taken the influence of lounge or cocktail jazz and created something unique for the 21st century. It is one of the best albums of 2014.
If you buy this on double vinyl as I did, be aware it plays at 45rpm!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Album Time (Audio CD)
Brilliant, great influences such as Georgo Moroder, Lalo Shaffrin and Quincy Jones - funky!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Album Time (MP3 Download)
In my top 10 of 2014
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chill, 2 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Album Time (Audio CD)
Just the stuff for lazy evenings chilling out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

It's Album Time
It's Album Time by Todd Terje (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews