Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read and fascinating, 24 May 2014
This review is from: D-Day: Minute by Minute (Kindle Edition)
The events of D-Day are truly historic, it was one of the most well known operations of the war, and as such, it has been depicted in many books and movies, Saving Private Ryan being one of the most well known. With so many sources for information on the event available, there's always the question of how reliable it is, particularly fiction and movies. Minute by Minute has got to be one of the most accurate and factual accounts I have read, while still keeping you engaged and interested.

Minute by Minute isn't all about the strategy and the tactics and everything, it's an overview of everything that happened, the entire scene and event. Minute by Minute is packed with plenty of detail, some you kinda wish you didn't know and wish you hadn't read while you where eating, and some that's incredibly fascinating.

The problem with a lot of history books are that they may be factual, but they're hard to slog through and concentrate on. Minute by Minute is presented fantastically, it's easy to read and follow and you don't struggle to read or keep reading or to concentrate on it.

This book isn't just for hardcore history nerds, it's for teenagers, adults, anyone with a passing interest who just wants to know a little bit more about D-Day or to find out how much of the information that's out there is true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Personal and emotional., 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: D-Day: Minute by Minute (Kindle Edition)
As other reviews have said, this book takes a different look at the events of D-day using references from diaries written at the time showing not only facts but points of view of people that were there ranging from British and US troops, to French resistance, civilians and even the Nazi soldiers. It's brilliantly laid out in almost bite sized chunks so it's easy to put up and put down with just about anyone as the target audience as it doesn't focus all too heavily on military strategy. I struggled to put it down though had to at times as though I'm not an emotional person I found I had tears welling up in places. I would recommend this book to anyone with even vague interest in the war or events of D-day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful and full of pace, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent book. Despite the massive amount of WWII books out there, D-Day Minute by Minute sets itself apart. It is is well written and highly engaging. The pace hurtles along and you get swept up with it. I suspect it not a book for the expert WWII strategist, but certainly for everyone else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good book it tells you so much brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Personal insights into a day in history, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: D-Day: Minute by Minute (Kindle Edition)
Not your usual grand schemes and clinical what happened to create the final result of action in war. It is personal and transports you to the day, allowing you to imagine what it must have been like for those who took part.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A comprehensive view of D-Day, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The hour by hour details of D-Day gives a very comprehensive view of the overall operation, which is always difficult to show as this was a complicated invasion and this is where this book successfully shows. An excellent publication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb easy to read book. Everyone should read this!, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: D-Day: Minute by Minute (Kindle Edition)
Excellent read. Very easy to follow and great insight to all the other things going on, before and during the invasion. Gives a real sense of what it might be like to be there (not that I would want to) with sometimes graphic portrayal of the events as they unfolded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memories of my Father, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: D-Day: Minute by Minute (Kindle Edition)
My father was in the Royal Navy and served on an LCT on the DDay landings at Normandy and survived. He never talked about his experiences. He was always my hero now I understand from this excellent vivid description what heroes he and his generation really were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Reeds like a good novel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... started reading got thoroughly engrossed finished same day very good, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
brought for my husband just picked it up to glance at pictures in it started reading got thoroughly engrossed finished same day very good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

D-Day: Minute by Minute
D-Day: Minute by Minute by Jonathan Mayo
2.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews