Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good mixer for the money
You get a lot of mixer for a small price with this product. Its is made from cheap plastic but the attachments are metal. The mixer itself is easy to use and the booklet is very helpful. It does struggle to reach the bottom of the bowl when mixing which is abit frustrating but this is a budget mixer. The mixer is abit noisy in use but its pretty solid and doesn't move...
Published 5 months ago by Mellow Yellow

versus
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Noisy Behemoth
I was really looking forward to having this mixer and have put it through its paces to be able to give a comprehensive review. As it is a multi-function machine, I shall deal with each function separately and award ‘stars’ (or not) for each function.

Design and quality of finish:
The mixer is much bigger than I anticipated. It is a...
Published 4 months ago by Z. Herbert


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Noisy Behemoth, 1 Aug 2014
By 
Z. Herbert "solaan" (Bedfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: VonShef Stand Mixer with Grinder and Blender, 5.5 Litre, 1200 Watt, Red (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I was really looking forward to having this mixer and have put it through its paces to be able to give a comprehensive review. As it is a multi-function machine, I shall deal with each function separately and award ‘stars’ (or not) for each function.

Design and quality of finish:
The mixer is much bigger than I anticipated. It is a space-gobbler on the worktop. The styling is bulky 1950s Russian, like Tamara Press but without her strength. The machine body is plastic so it is light to move around. The downside of this lightness is that it vibrates across the worktop, despite its little rubber feet. It needs to be held in place at its faster speeds. It is very noisy in use. I mean, very noisy. There is a space within the body to store the one-metre long power cable. The splash guard locks in place but the alignment marks on it do not match up with the marks on the body. The dial and speed controls are not user friendly and are not explained fully in the manual. The dial has five choices: Off, Flour, Meat, Egg, Blender, referring to the function in use. The Speed dial does not rotate smoothly but with gritty, light clicks. There was no recipe book included with my machine. It is a wonderfully vibrant red; for this I give it a quarter of a point.

The Mixer:
There is a lidded aperture in the guard so you can add eggs, butter or whatever to the mix whilst the beater is in motion. Unfortunately, when you add anything, it falls onto the beater’s wide, plastic flange and not into the bowl. The machine has to be stopped, the beater head lifted, the items added and the beater dropped again for each addition. The lever for raising the mixer head has also to be used to drop the head back into place.

This is not a fast, responsive machine. The rotating Speed dial varies the speed by unclear amounts to a maximum of ‘slow’. To get the faster speeds you must use the buttons and then the Speed dial is ineffective.The maximum speed using the dial on ‘Egg’ is slow. For the faster speeds the buttons must be used. The top speed on ‘Egg’ setting plus buttons (for cake batters and so forth) is slower than my electric hand-held beater.

Another issue here is the time limit for which the machine can be used. Maximum for whipping eggs, cream and so forth is six minutes. How am I to make marshmallows, which need fifteen minutes’ beating? Or Royal icing? Or Springerle biscuits? I must reiterate this machine is incredibly noisy and at full speed I felt I needed ear protection. I could not hear the telephone nor the comments of the person standing next to me.

The mixing is inadequate. Whilst it is usual to have to scrape down the mix when using an electric mixer, just scraping down is insufficient here. The beater profile does not match the bowl inner curve. The ingredients sit untouched around the belly of the bowl. The bowl lacks a handle. The foot of the bowl is sharp and inadequately finished. Nul points.

The Grinder:
It has a plastic back gear, a plastic pusher and three metal grinding discs with different hole sizes. The feed platter capacity is small but adequate. The time limit for use is fifteen minutes, which is ample.

The grinder unit locks into position. To release it there is a black button lever that needs to be pulled, otherwise it is impossible to remove the grinder from the mixer. There is no mention of this release lever in the instruction manual. It is impossible to see the lever when standing at the mixer. All the metal edges, even on the feed platter, are very sharp and it is easy to cut yourself, whether assembling, using or cleaning the machine. There is a safety device that causes the auger to reverse if a bone or similar is introduced into the grinder.

I used hazelnuts for my trial and had to feed them down the tube two nuts at a time to prevent activating the reversal mechanism. The nuts ground uniformly and quite quickly; I was pleased with the result but again, the noise level was very high. Second trial was with cubed beef, using the middle-size hole plate. It ground the meat quickly and well; you need to trim out any sinews or gristle. Two points.

The Blender:
This can only be used for two minutes’ continuous running. If the cover for the blender is removed and the blender jug is not in place the Power On button below the dial will flash red and green and the mixer will not work. There is nothing in the instructions about what this means. The blender cover must be in place or the jug in situ for the mixer to operate.
The glass blender jug is very heavy and is difficult to reach because of the size of the machine. I found it mashed the ingredients around the rotating cutter but did not blend them. Ingredients that were above the cutter remained uncut and unblended. I had to remove the jug contents and complete the job by hand. The cutters are very sharp; the blender jug is difficult to take apart and difficult to clean. Nul points.

So, a 2* rating for this very disappointing machine. Cumbersome, poorly made, badly finished, noisy; nothing more to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good mixer for the money, 25 July 2014
By 
Mellow Yellow (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: VonShef Stand Mixer with Grinder and Blender, 5.5 Litre, 1200 Watt, Red (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
You get a lot of mixer for a small price with this product. Its is made from cheap plastic but the attachments are metal. The mixer itself is easy to use and the booklet is very helpful. It does struggle to reach the bottom of the bowl when mixing which is abit frustrating but this is a budget mixer. The mixer is abit noisy in use but its pretty solid and doesn't move around the worktop.

All the attachments perform adequately and are easy to attach. The blender is a slight let down as it isn't as powerful as I would like but it is acceptable to blend soup and milkshakes.

Not a bad mixer and good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just what i needed, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: VonShef Stand Mixer with Grinder and Blender, 5.5 Litre, 1200 Watt, Red (Kitchen & Home)
machine was just right for my bread making hobby took all the hard work out highly recommended to everyone thankyou
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought the cover to go with this FANTASTIC MIXER/BLENDER/GRINDER. SO WORTH ITS PRICE, 8 Oct 2014
This review is from: VonShef Stand Mixer with Grinder and Blender, 5.5 Litre, 1200 Watt, Red (Kitchen & Home)
Bought the cover to go with this FANTASTIC MIXER/BLENDER/GRINDER. SO WORTH ITS PRICE.
have since bought more great VonShef products and I love them all!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Takes all the hard work out of baking!, 3 Aug 2014
This review is from: VonShef Stand Mixer with Grinder and Blender, 5.5 Litre, 1200 Watt, Red (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I am very impressed by the wide range of purposes for which this stand mixer can be used. Not only is it an excellent mixer, it also comes with a sturdy glass blender and a grinder, as well as different mixer attachments which include a flat paddle beater, kneading dough hook and a whisk. It is simple to attach and detach the attachments to the mixer.

Pros:

The mixing bowl is nice and deep (5.5 litres) and it is very high, so there is very little risk of anything splashing out when you are mixing.
It is very easy to clean and the attachments are dishwasher-safe.
It has a wide variety of uses.
It takes the hard work out of baking, especially the arduous task of creaming butter and sugar together.
The little sucker feet hold it steady on the worktop.
It is fairly noisy when it is going on the fastest speed but not uncomfortably so. I certainly didn't feel as though I needed ear protection, as one other reviewer said!

Cons:

The mixer attachments are rather flimsy and I'm not sure how much wear they will withstand.
It is very large and will take up a lot of space on your kitchen counter.
UPDATE: 25 August 2014 -- the setting for egg does not mix fast enough. Even when I tried the mixer at its highest speed it could not whip egg whites into fluffy peaks. I was making a souffle and ended up whisking the egg whites by hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unbelievable price......, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: VonShef Stand Mixer with Grinder and Blender, 5.5 Litre, 1200 Watt, Red (Kitchen & Home)
i'm gob smacked at the quality of this food mixer and its attachments....not only have i got a food mixer but i've got a liquidiser and a mincer....at a cracking price....dont waste money on higher priced machines.....nice quiet motor....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant mixer for the price but..., 26 July 2014
By 
Shaya (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: VonShef Stand Mixer with Grinder and Blender, 5.5 Litre, 1200 Watt, Red (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is fantastic mixer will loads of features but there are quite a few niggles that put me off it. Dont get me wrong I do like it but own a Kenwood Chef which is hard to beat.

What you get is a large stand mixer in a gorgeous shade of red with a powerful 1200 watt motor, a 5.5 litre stainless steal bowl which is quite deep a splash guard, 3 different types of beaters: a flat paddle beater, a dough hook and a balloon whisk. There are 2 useful attachments, a mincer and a glass liquidiser goblet and last of all a little cook book on cakes etc (Mine wasn't in the box but I do have the same book already so I didnt need another one).

The stand mixer - This is rather a big mixer, (makes my Kenwood look tiny!) and definitely does not have a compact foot print, it takes up quite a bit of the work surface, there is a speed dial for various functions, there are 6 mixing speeds, used mainly for kneading bread as can be seen by a dough hook portrayed by the speeds. In conjunction with this there are also 4 other modes. Flour, meat, eggs and blender. The thing that lets it down is the programmed speed which cannot be varied, only the kneading function is variable
The modes around the speed dial are pre programmed with their own setting at a touch of the button,.

Flour mode - great for adding flour to cakes etc as it starts out fairly slow for a couple of minutes speeding up once the flour is incorporated into the mix but just enough to fold in the mixture.

Meat mode - for when you are using the mincer attachment which can also be used to grate cheese, onions and make breadcrumbs

Egg function - Just right for making a cake it creams the fat and sugar together and used when adding the egg to the mixer, it is also great for beating cream as it is the fastest speed BUT it is not fast enough for making my meringues or chocolate Cream which is an absolute family favourite. The speed could be faster.

Blender function - is of course for when using the blender.

The inner part of the dial is for kneading bread and anything you need a slow speed for, there is not much distinction between speed 1 and 6 as they are all quite slow.

The stand mixer also has a lever to make the head lift up gaining access to the bowl. There are 2 places for the attachments, one on top for the blender gaining access under a cover and on the front there is a screw cap to get to the mincer plug. mine was this red one and it is a gorgeous shade with an almost metallic finish, the main covering of this mixer is plastic so less likely to corrode.

The 5.5 litre bowl - This is fairly lightweight with a rolled edge and semi polished exterior. It is rather narrow and deep and would be better being wider and shallower but guess that would make the mixer rather wider and its big enough already. I should imaging if dropped it would dent rather easily so be careful when drying up! To lock it into place it just needs to turning into the lugs in the side of the bowl housing. Above the bowl is a clear splash guard with a little lidded area for adding mixtures while the mixer is working, this would have been better if it was a flap as it could easily get lost.

The beaters:-
Paddle - likened to the K beater on the Kenwood chef, it is useful for creaming sugar into butter, making pastry etc. It has a rather flimsy feel to it in my opinion. it is rather bulky as it has a large black plastic disk on top that gets covered with egg or anything poured through the splash guard.

Dough Hook - self explanatory really, its used to make bread and some pastries also with the big black disk on top and also not very robust

Balloon whisk. This is a rather large whisk for beating cream and making meringues Do Not use this for creaming fat and sugar as it will break
All these beaters are quite difficult to attach to the mixer and would be better made a little more robust.

Blender attachment - This is a large glass goblet that has a nasty looking revolving knife at the bottom, tough enough for crushing ice, it pulls apart for washing up and has a push on lid with a small measuring cup that can be removed if needing to add more ingredients while in use, the lid and cup are plastic and lightweight.

Last of all the Mincer - This fastens onto the front of the mixer and has a tray to fit over the funnel pipe to the revolving screw mincers, when in use the bowl or one of your own goes under it to catch its contents. It didn't make very good breadcrumbs but minced cheese ok, I haven't tried meat so cannot comment. The mincer comes apart for cleaning and is rather heavy there are different mincing disks, fine medium and course that are easy to change if you need a better size during use.

Everything, apart from the mixer itself of course dishwasher safe so you can bung it all in the dishwasher after using it instead of washing it up!! Win win!

Both myself and my kids have used this constantly this month and all agree it is a good powerful mixer with plenty of functions and useful attachments there are however a few niggles.

The beaters are horrible to place into the mixer as there is an ugly spring attachment that has to turn to clip in and it has taken a few goes to get them connected properly, all the beaters have this large black disc over them that collects anything you put in through the splash guard. They are intended to stop any mixture splashing up while the mixer is in motion but the clear splash guard over the bowl is adequate enough.

There is not enough room to scrape the mixture down in the bowl because of the large beaters and slim deep bowl and most of the time you have to remove the beater anyway to clean anything that has gathered on top of them.

If VonShef made the beaters own splash guards, (those annoying black discs on top of them) a little smaller and less imposing this would be a 5 star mixer and a true rival to my Kenwood Chef.

If you need a good stand mixer you couldn't find better than this for the price, it is really powerful, has a large capacity and plenty of functions and attachments as standard. I know the Kenwood Chef and Kitchen aid are most coveted but for the price you cant go wrong.
I cant recommend this enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars performance of mixer, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: VonShef Stand Mixer with Grinder and Blender, 5.5 Litre, 1200 Watt, Red (Kitchen & Home)
Did not live up to expectations or perform as it was supposed to.Instructions mentioned a button which was not on the machine and it was extremely slow
Sent back.
In mitigation I would say that the company could not have been more courteous and helpful. Returning was very easy and refund prompt. The company would have 5 stars unlike the product.the
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality machine that is perfect for the first time user of this type of product, 15 July 2014
By 
shaz17 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: VonShef Stand Mixer with Grinder and Blender, 5.5 Litre, 1200 Watt, Red (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A well made good quality mixer that comes with loads of attachments that you have to buy separately with other brands. I know the paddles dont reach the bottom they dont on any machine like this not even my kenwoods do, that is what the scraper is for.

The mixing, blending & grinding make this a machine well worth the purchase. SO easy to use, a lovely looking machine. Cheaper to buy then a kenwood, you get more attachments FREE, good quality, nice looking machine and a bigger stainless bowl. The motor is more powerful too so you can mix & blend at the same time.
Yes it is noisy I put a tea towel underneath to reduce the noise same a I did my other one.
Only time will tell if it out lasts the other major brands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars pants, 5 Aug 2014
By 
Amazon Customer - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: VonShef Stand Mixer with Grinder and Blender, 5.5 Litre, 1200 Watt, Red (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I usually enjoy testing the products I get sent, as often they are items I wouldnt explicitly buy - but "always quite fancied"

This mixer/ grinder/ blender was one such item, where the idea of putting away my single function devices and swapping out for an all in one was very exciting...

I'll quickly get the good points out of the way: The red colour is lovely. Vibrant, cheery and bright.
It looks very "pro".

Thats it.
As for the rest of it; The blender is adequate for liquids, but terrible for anything too chunky or dry - it just pushes the contents around and nothing more. As mentioned, liquids it deals with very well (soups/ sauces), but regardless I would rather use my jug blender which is neater, more powerful, more control options and more robust feeling.
The grinder I cant see myself using very often, but Its not that bad. I put in some very cheap, tough steak (bought deliberately for the trial) and it got through it ok, but just ok. Im sure on more decent cuts of meat it would do a good job based on this test.
The mixer though is the part I would see myself using most - and its dreadful. You have to stop to add anything, theres a guard but its just a hindrance, and the beaters arent very good either. The maximum speed is poor too, so I just gave up with it.
The worst parts overall though are the noise (which is obscene) and that there appears to be a timer limit for use of all the functions! Totally stupid.
Oh and its a cheapo plastic finish - yum.

Now I must be upfront and admit that my last unit was (I say was - IS - because Im sticking with it) a Heston Sage, which is a phenomenal machine but lacks any add-on capabilities for grinders etc. After testing this though, I will be sticking with the Sage and my jug blender, and may look at buying a specific meat grinder over using this contraption, which is currently packed back in its box and languishing in the shed where it belongs.

Now I have to be fair; the blender is effective for liquids, and the grinder seems to be pretty good - and the colour I loved. so for those aspects I have to award 2 stars, 1 seems a little too harsh.
But the fact it is meant to combine three functions, 2 arent up to task, and you would realistically only ever rely on the grinder, I cant award it any more than that.
Please avoid and save your money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews