Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ending of a brilliant short era
Season 4 is filled with double header and even triple header episodes and with 2 parallel universe episodes which are even more higher on the entertainment factor.

Season 4 starts off when the ever present Daniels pulls enterprise into earth's past to 1940 where the nazi's have taken a part of america and all of europe thanks to some time travelling aliens whos...
Published on 5 Nov 2008 by Jason Prudhoe

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All good things...
This season is going to be seen as something quite historic, as not only does it mark the end of the Enterprise series but it also is the last of the Star Trek franchises that we have come to know so well since Star Trek The Next Generation graced our television screens in the late eighties. It is also historic since this is the first Star Trek series to be cancelled...
Published on 13 Jun 2009 by D. M. York


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ending of a brilliant short era, 5 Nov 2008
By 
Jason Prudhoe (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Season 4 is filled with double header and even triple header episodes and with 2 parallel universe episodes which are even more higher on the entertainment factor.

Season 4 starts off when the ever present Daniels pulls enterprise into earth's past to 1940 where the nazi's have taken a part of america and all of europe thanks to some time travelling aliens whos intent is to get home and dont care what means they do to archive it, enterprise must stop them and get shocked when they find Archer still alive.

pulled back into the present archer must deal with his troubles of recent and to his old flame who is just promoted to captain of columbia.

after that we find out more on the vulcans, their past and Administrator v'las and his ruthless nature which considered against typical vulcan behaviour is very unusual.

we also see the formation of the United Federation of Planets, the death of an important character while saving shran and his daughter.

A great series that was prematurely killed off. Shame about that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ironically, the Best Season, 5 Nov 2005
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
After three seasons of continual ratings decline, UPN shocked many when it renewed Enterprise for a final season. The show moved to Fridays, a move that showed a lack of confidence in the show.
Behind the scenes, Manny Coto took over as executive producer and show runner during this time. His infusion of fresh ideas brought us an exciting, entertaining, and unpredictable season.
The only reason I was still watching it at this point was because I had friends who came over to watch it with me. If I could have talked them out of it, I would have missed this season. That would have been a real shame.
Season 4 starts with a two parter bringing a conclusion not only to last season's finale, which found Captain Archer (Scott Bakula) in a World War II where aliens were helping the Axis, but also ended the series long temporal cold war story arc. The ending felt a little rushed, like Mr. Coto wanted to be done with it and move on.
Once the season got going, however, we were treated to lots of two or three episode story arcs that were highly entertaining. The first such story involved tracking down so-called Augments, humans with altered genetic abilities and brought Brent Spiner as a guest star. These episodes built upon stories from the original series and one of the movies, neither of which I had seen. I enjoyed them, but not as much as I would have if I had seen the back-story.
Many of the stories worked to set up the future Treks. One arc was devoted to a civil war on the Vulcan home world. Through T'Pal (Jolene Blalock) we got a glimpse into the changes that would come to their culture before the Original Series started.
One inconsistency between the Original Series and every other Trek series has been the Klingon makeup. A two parter from this season explains why when Dr. Phlox (John Billingsley) is kidnapped and made to try to fix a genetic disease. I hadn't been looking for an explanation to this inconsistency, but I liked the one they gave us.
In another move to please fans, we get a two parter set in the Mirror Universe. This was my first exposure to the dark side, but I can see the appeal. It was quite fun.
In the third season, Chief Engineer "Trip" Tucker (Connor Trinneer) and T'Pol had begun to develop a reluctant attraction to each other. This is build upon during the final season. At times it takes on a soap opera feel, but ultimately it keeps the viewer hooked.
Of course, one thing everyone wanted to see from this series was the start of the Federation. While we only get a glimpse of it during the finale, the basis is laid in a three part storyline in which Enterprise finds itself caught between the Andorians, Tellarites, and Vulcans when someone begins attacking all three of their ships.
The season finale was a bitter disappointment to long time Trekkies. Set several years ahead of the rest of season 4, it shows the founding of the Federation via the holodeck of the Next Generation's Enterprise as Commander Riker (guest star Jonathan Frakes) uses the events to help him make a decision. Designed to be a finale to the recent 20 year run of Star Trek on TV, it upset many fans with it's focus on Next Generation characters over Enterprise characters.
Naturally, every season has a few dud episodes, but this season's entertaining episodes far outweighed the mediocre ones. This is the only season of this show worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Final Voyages of the Starship Enterprise., 15 May 2005
By A Customer
Where did Star Trek: Enterprise go wrong? Well wherever it was it wasn't in season 4. The show finally goes back to some classic Trek storylines after Enterprise's year long trip in the Expanse and it also tries something not done since ST:DS9 in using 3-part story arcs. The season has some excellent episodes which really come back to original Star Trek stories. Some of the best episodes were the Eugenics War Trilogy with guest star Brent Spiner (Data from ST:TNG), the Vulcan Trilogy which explains how the 22nd century Vulcans turn into the Vulcans we saw in the pervious series, the Mirror Universe Two-Parter and the final ever episode "These Are the Voyages..." which shows the founding of the Federation.
As always this will be packed with special features and will make you cry, laugh and be proud of the final voyages of the Enterprise NX-01.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If Only...., 18 Sep 2009
By 
Andrew Morton "Andrew At The Croft" (Lockerbie Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I recently rewatched Enterprise Season 4 and found it profoundly bittersweet. If only Seasons 1 and 2 could have been of this standard. They were by no means bad, but Season 4 really is something special. The characterisations attain a level of consistency an 3-dimensionality that Voyager never managed over its 7 year run. The scripts are taut and laced with humour. Acting performances are top-notch.

And then there are the stories. As the show headed toward cancellation every opportunity was siezed to make it classic Trek. We got the origins of the Federation. We got Surak and T'Pau. We got the Mirror Universe. We got the legacy of the Eugenics Wars. We learnt what kind of planet Andoria is and something of Andorian culture. This season was a great ride and I was sorry when it was over. If only....

Bittersweet apart I wholeheartedly recommend this set to anyone who likes Star Trek - or any kind of good television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sad to see it finish, but a set worthy of buying, 15 Aug 2012
By 
Mole "Mole" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Paramount originally decided to cancel Enterprise at the end of series 3, but allowed the fourth to be made. As a result, the writers really went to town to try to cram in as much as they could.

Once again, the quality of writing, direction and acting make this programme one of the very best pieces of television available. There are several multi part stories within this season, but even so the episodes stand out on their own very well. The end result was a series of episodes that addressed a lot of the back story for the "later" incarnations; and we see how the Klingons lost their forehead ridges, the beginnings of section 31, genetic manipulation and several other key items that would play a major part in the various series set further in the "future".

A particular favourite of mine were the two "Mirror" universe storylines; they even went to the trouble of re-creatinging the opening and closing sequence so that the stories were viewed as if from that mirror universe. It's clear that the actors found this a really intersting twist and in particular, Scott Bakula's impassioned speech to the crew about the preservation of the empire (part of which was cut from the programme, but shown in the extras) is a masterclass in acting.

The only epsiode in this set that was a disappointment was the final one; I'm not sure why they decided to bring in Jonathon Frakes, Marina Sirtis (both of whom I really like) and set the storyline as if it were on the holodeck of the Enterprise-D. But at the end of the programme, there is a piece showing the 3 main incarnations of the Enterprise with the relevant captains and the famous "split infinitive" speech; it still makes the hair stand up.

We need programmes like this to inspire us and the next generation; perhaps one day, Paramount will realise their mistake and introduce a new incarnation of this landmark concept and allow a new ship with a new captain and crew to explore strange new worlds, seek out new lifeforms and new civisations; and once again, go boldly where no-one has gone before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To boldly go..., 10 Nov 2005
This last season of Enterprise was actually a second successful season. As other Star Trek series, only after the third season things start to warm up towards better episodes with stronger build characters; unfortunately Paramount executives cowardly cancelled this show when things where starting to get really good. A shame.
The continuity of arc episodes, after the very successful recipe of thrilling third season, makes this 4th Season a must see, making me restore my almost gone faith on Rick Berman and Brannon Braga. The end of it was a little to rush (although comprehensible), and the tragic end of one of the characters was definitely too much unnecessary (reminds of Steven Spielberg's finales: just another easy way to touch the viewers).
There are several excellent episodes: the first two (WWII) and both of the Mirror Universe are the best of the better. The CGI is great, as usual; the MW aliens are also great. Special features are very good.
Unfortunately the subtitles options are very poor: again, there are only English subtitles and English for the hearing unpaired (but better this then none what so ever). There are no audio options besides English.
I sincerely hope Star Trek franchising will endure, and soon, really soon, there will be a new Star Trek series to boldly go were no man as gone before, marvelling us all with the GREAT Gene Roddenberry's (and Rick Berman’s continued) vision for the future of mankind. For Star Trek is the best of the best within Sci-Fi gender and will always have the best of the best fans backing it up. “Live long and prosper”.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rather disappointing, 10 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have to agree with many of the reviews here - series 3 is by far the best of all the 4 series. This one comes as rather a let down. Still very watchable of course but just not as intriging as the first 3 series. The finale - I have to agree - is a very very disappointing finale. It's as though the writers had no idea how to end the show and just thought of the first thing that came into their heads. It wasn't even an Enterprise finale - it was a 'Next Generation' episode with Enterprise slotted into it. There was no closure. And why Trip had to exit the way he did makes no sense at all. I'd still recommend anyone to buy it but be prepared to be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent season, 11 Nov 2009
By 
E. Richter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have very much enjoyed watching the 4th and final season of Enterprise. I especially like the concept of a story going on for 2 or 3 episodes. This approach has allowed for a more detailed development of stories. It was also good to see things that are mentioned in later series that I personally have always wondered about. Most of the stories provided at least some of the answers I was looking for while at the same time creating potential development archs for future seasons (though, unfortunately, we will never get to see them).

The only episode I didn't like was the final one. It felt like this episode belonged into a TNG series rather than Enterprise. It left me with the impression that the cast of Enterprise had been demoted to supporting acts rather than being the main attraction. I suspect, that the author(s) creating this story had envisioned it to be the final episode of season 7 but with the abrupt end of Enterprise an excuse was needed to pull it into the 4th. And I must say, they found a rather bad excuse taking away the last opportunity for the Enterprise and its crew to shine from the cast.

All in all, an excellent season well worth the time and money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All good things..., 13 Jun 2009
By 
D. M. York (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This season is going to be seen as something quite historic, as not only does it mark the end of the Enterprise series but it also is the last of the Star Trek franchises that we have come to know so well since Star Trek The Next Generation graced our television screens in the late eighties. It is also historic since this is the first Star Trek series to be cancelled since the original series back in the 60s.

The fourth season more than any of the others has many peaks and troughs. There are some episodes in this season that I watched and thought that they had been put together too quickly and too haphazardly, though the majority are just as excellent and thoughtful as one has come to expect of Star Trek. Though there are many points in the story that I found myself very frustrated with, the Trip and T'Pol romance never goes any further even though the writers have been dangling the prospect in front of fans since season three. The final episode has indeed proved to be especially divisive with the fans and I must agree that the last episode is absolutely appalling in many ways, not least of all that a serious chunk of time is diverted away to some Next Generation characters seemingly for no reason whatsoever.

I have enjoyed this last season, though probably not as much as I enjoyed season three. This has been very much like a swan song and I feel very sad to think that a series of this quality and of this nature will not be seen again, or at very least not for a long while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
COOL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Trek - Enterprise: Season 4 [Blu-ray]
Star Trek - Enterprise: Season 4 [Blu-ray] by Scott Bakula (Blu-ray - 2014)
47.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews