Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great - and subtle but significant improvement over the previous model
I used to have the predecessor of this model, the NWZ-W273, which I loved but they were unreliable and after Amazon replaced 3 pairs under warranty, they eventually gave up and gave me a refund.
I then bought this version which has some subtly but welcome improvements. The instructions are better, it supports itunes (although it also supports drag and drop - my...
Published 2 months ago by A. Huggins

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars The Finis Neptune on the other hand has bad audio quality but at least you hear something you ...
Bought this and a Finis Neptune to have some entertainment while swimming laps.

This is basically unusable. Volume is too low with the waterproof pads and if the pad moves slightly and water gets in your ear canal, you are done... You have to get out of the water, dry the device and put it back on.

Unusable for swimmers... And I would guess the low...
Published 2 days ago by Tunc


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great - and subtle but significant improvement over the previous model, 10 July 2014
By 
A. Huggins (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I used to have the predecessor of this model, the NWZ-W273, which I loved but they were unreliable and after Amazon replaced 3 pairs under warranty, they eventually gave up and gave me a refund.
I then bought this version which has some subtly but welcome improvements. The instructions are better, it supports itunes (although it also supports drag and drop - my preferred option) and the big difference is that they now come with 2 sets of rubber earplugs (in 3 or 4 different sizes): either set can be used for swimming, but one set is spefifically designed with a membrane to keep the water out of the player. This makes them a little quieter, so you just turn the volume up one click... This membrane makes a huge difference to the resilience of the unit when you use it. It is true that if you get an earfull of water, the sound will go, but now it is a lot easier to clear your ear and then the player works perfectly again, without having to tap the water out of the player.
They stay in place fine if you use your goggle straps to secure them.
I swim 40 lengths front crawl 3-5 times/week, moderate pace, push and tumble turns.
Feel free to contact me if you have any questions .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very happy, 15 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was looking for a mp3 player for going to the gym and accidentally came across this all in one water proof mp3 player from Sony.

First of all, the sound quality is good. Not great but if you are in a gym or in a swimming pool there can be a lot of ambient noise that would prevent you from appreciating really high quality music quality.

Getting music on to the mp3 player is really easy. Just plug it into your computer and drag the songs you want into the music folder. If you use iTunes, you can drag and drop from that as well.

Before working out, going for a run or swimming, it’s important to make sure you are using the appropriate included ear buds that give a snug fit or the unit can fall out or let water into your ears. From a safety/convenience perspective, it is great not to have wires dangling from your ears while exercising. This all in one idea works really well in my opinion.

Using the mp3 player (by the way, can Sony come up with a better name than NWZ-W273S? How about Waterman or something?) is straightforward. I would have liked the ability to fast forward through songs but that hardly a show stopper. After a few minutes, changing the volume/songs is second nature.

Its only 4gb so if you have a large music collection you won’t be able to get it all on. However, it would be a nightmare to try a navigate through thousands of songs on a device like this (although you can have playlists).

Overall, I was torn between getting this or the iPod shuffle and I am very happy with my choice. The Sony is waterproof and there is less risk of loose wires getting tangled up or caught in anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, 30 May 2014
By 
Zach J (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This product is great and apart from the odd minor tweek here and there i cant fault it as a whole!

the setup/connection to pc/file transfer/charging is really easy, i think technophobes would even be at ease with it.

the usage: so far ive used it in the gym (resistance and cardio training), in the pool (breast stroke) and on 4k trail runs.

The headphones stay in place very well and are extreamly secure in all activities. I have noticed that if I do about one full length completly submerged in the pool, water tends to seep into the earcanal and obviosly affects sound however this is due to the fit of the earbuds not the player. The swimming earbuds do tend to reduce this however you sacrifice overall sound quality and volume. I haven't learnt how to dive with them in without them becoming waterlogged and disloged though but the product instructions do adv not to do this due to the pressure on the eardrum anyway.

No complaints with respect to the gym and running, and its great being able to move about with out a wire flapping or tugging and pulling or even headphones being ripped out or becoming dislodged at inconveinient moments.

The sound: From what ive read in the many reveiws on here, i was fearing the worst. i was expecting something like a cupped loudspeaker of an old mobile phone playing the dreaded tinny music of teenage years for the duration of my workout but then i thought, this is sony, it cant be that bad!

I like my music loud and i like it with alot of bass. Im not so keen on to much treble but i know it needs to be there to provide balance in the music i love. Im definatly not dissapointed with the sound production/quality of these, and the volume contrary to others opinions, is absolutely fine, especially whne it comes to drowning out the one direction playlist thats on in the gym. I think that the headphones give a decent balanced sound to most tracks.

Its got 13.5mm drivers and the speakers themselves are from the EX Series headphones which provide 20 – 20,000 Hz frequency again not too bad a product - certainly not the best sony have produced and sure they dont rival my skull candys heavy medal plugs but theyre adequate and do the job they were designed to do.

overall, a good product, that does what it says on the tin, looks good and is satisfing in the sound department.
recommended to all :) feel free to ask any questions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 29 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony NWZ-W273S 4GB Waterproof All-in-One MP3 Player - Blue (Electronics)
This is the best waterproof mp3 I have had, I have had 3 finis swip3 and 6 speedo aquabeats but this one is the best so far it doesn't move at all,earplugs stay in place I swim 64 lengths in a 25m pool 50 front crawl 14 breast stroke I wear my hat on top of it so don't no if that helps stopping it move or not. The only problem is sometimes ithink i have knocked it off and it hasn't gone off so when I go to use it next time it's flat but that's my fault and have started double checking now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Hubby, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought for my husband as he wears normal head set or plug in the ear headset attached to MP4 player, the player falls out of his pocket when washing the car, or the head set falls off his head and he holds it on with an elastic band around his head!!!! These are brilliant. fits well, multi size ear poppers supplied, bit of a problem when downloading the music but it was because the laptop is old and finally picked up the headset. Highly Highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Headphone leads or bulky mp3 irritating you during run/workout, GET THE SONY NWZ-273S, 15 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
WOW!! If you hate wires and bulky mp3 players getting in the way of your run/workout then definitely give it a try. I needed a new MP3 player and felt like breaking away from Apple (after having ipod's since the year dot). The idea of having this design appealed to me a lot, but was reluctant after reading the mixed reviews. I decided to try the 4gb (cheapest) as i will only be using in the gym,outside on runs and not in the pool (most of the negative reviews). It's simple to use, totally unobtrusive, lightweight, good sound and blocks out outside noise as good as any noise cancelling headphones I've used before. The other negative reviews related to failure after a short time, although i haven't had them long enough to comment on that i store them in a small case so they don't get damaged in my bag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really durable and comfortable, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoy using this in the gym or the pool, sound quality is slightly lowered underwater but is still superior to other waterproof mp3 players i have used , definitely recommend !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The Finis Neptune on the other hand has bad audio quality but at least you hear something you ..., 17 Sep 2014
By 
Tunc (Istanbul, TURKEY) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony NWZ-W273S 4GB Waterproof All-in-One MP3 Player - Blue (Electronics)
Bought this and a Finis Neptune to have some entertainment while swimming laps.

This is basically unusable. Volume is too low with the waterproof pads and if the pad moves slightly and water gets in your ear canal, you are done... You have to get out of the water, dry the device and put it back on.

Unusable for swimmers... And I would guess the low volume with waterproof pads would make this unusable for surfing / kiting / whatever as well...

The Finis Neptune on the other hand has bad audio quality but at least you hear something you can recognize because the volume is loud enough. And it does not get out of your ear either...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Absoloutely fine when out on the bike or walking, 10 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absoloutely fine when out on the bike or walking, however I bought this predominately for swimming. I have the volume up full and find it hard to hear the songs particularly well. Breast stroke is not too bad but a waste of time when doing front crawl. I had high hopes for this product and if the volume went up higher it would be fantastic. Really like the fact there's no cables and found it no problem to select the correct ear plugs. On the whole feel really let down due to lack of volume when swimming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Take care selecting ear-buds and these are great in water, 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These really do work in a pool, provided you take time to select the right ear buds. I found out that I need a different size for each ear. Four sizes are provided in both standard and swimming forms, the latter having a diaphragm like an ear-drum to prevent water getting inside. The sound is a little duller and quieter with the waterproof buds but the volume can be increased to compensate.
They work less well for exercise on land because with tight-fitting earbuds you can really hear each footfall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews