Customer Reviews


233 Reviews
5 star:
 (194)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EVERY Night At The Movies!!!!!
WOW!!! Where do I begin? The Overtones are on their 3rd album now. And what a phenomenal album it is.
I thought nothing could ever match up to their first 2 albums Good Ol' Fashioned Love & Higher but I honestly think this is their best work to date. With something to please everyone.
Saturday Night at The Movies has put the fun factor back into our music...
Published 17 months ago by Sarah Dan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Saturday Night At The Movies (Christmas Edition)
I did not feel this was as good as there first album - sounded very over produced and would have preferred less instruments and more voices. Delivered well within time.
Published 13 months ago by Gadget person.


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EVERY Night At The Movies!!!!!, 5 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
WOW!!! Where do I begin? The Overtones are on their 3rd album now. And what a phenomenal album it is.
I thought nothing could ever match up to their first 2 albums Good Ol' Fashioned Love & Higher but I honestly think this is their best work to date. With something to please everyone.
Saturday Night at The Movies has put the fun factor back into our music charts.
This album is filled with classics from all the films you know and love that outshine the originals giving them a contemporary feel with their special trademark Overtones twist and also features 3 fabulous originals written by The Overtones themselves.
I love listening to this album from beginning to end. This is one of the very few albums I would not skip a single track. Choosing a favourite is IMPOSSIBLE but I will tell you about a few of the tracks I love!

One of the originals that stands out for me is the stunning ballad 'All About You' It is an emotional song the content of which resonates in most peoples lives at one time or another.
The beautiful and pure voice of Timmy Matley in this song deeply move the listener with the edition of Lachie Chapman's deep voice giving gravitas to the emotions stirred by the song.

Lachie's raw sexy beginning of 'Do You Love Me' from Dirty Dancing invites a naughty tingle prior to Timmy's takeover bringing on the desire to dance which overwhelms your whole body
Sure to be a favourite on the upcoming live tour.

'It Had To Be You' is an upbeat feel good song which show cases their individual voices beautifully from Mike's distinctive husky voice and Mark's smooth deeper middle tones down to Lachie's awesome Bass and then right up to Darren's brilliant falsetto completed by Timmy's incredible voice.

The lead vocals being given to Lachie on 'The Bare Necessities' from Jungle Book must be the best bit of casting in history! Absolutely love it!
Leading effortlessly into 'I Wanna be Like You' with Timmy on lead vocals ratcheting up the fun & bringing out the inner child within all of us.

'Breaking Up Is Hard To Do' Shows the versatility of The Overtones with each member taking their turn on lead vocals to create the their beautiful signature sound. It is one of my favourite covers on the album. I absolutely love what they did with the song. Neil Sedaka would be very proud! And not forgetting Timmy's superb trouser splitting high notes at the end of the song.

'Moon River' from Breakfast At Tiffany's - A hauntingly beautiful version sang by the amazing Lachie on lead vocals. No words I could muster up would ever do justice to describing the sheer perfection of it.

Beverley Knight the queen of British soul music joins The Overtones for a mind blowing version of 'Hit The Road Jack' Lachie's voice compliments Beverley's voice perfectly for what I truly believe is the best collaboration ever.

The Overtones version of 'Pretty Woman' is the sexiest I've ever heard. With Lachie's growls and purrs this track should come with a parental advisory label. It's oozes molten lava baby!

Not only are The Overtones amazing vocalists they are also outstanding performers/dancers/twerkers! Don't miss their 2014 UK tour at a venue near you. Tickets available on see tickets, gigs & tours and Ticketmaster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 4 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved the songs, just great to listen to, I will be buying this for friends for christmas , Cook Christmas dinner glass of wine in hand and jigging round kitchen to this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic songs, performed superbly, 4 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Overtones have returned with this new CD, and the quality shines through, yet again. Admittedly I do not think this is quite as special as the platinum-selling CD "Good Ol' Fashioned Love", simply because I found that album more "up-beat", particularly with classics such as "Carolyn". A personal favourite on "Saturday Night at the Movies" is the second track; "Do You Love Me?", which is an excellent cover. The cover of Hit the Road Jack feat. Beverley Night is also excellent.

The album has not been rated 5 stars, simply because - as stated - I personally do not love it quite as much as their first album, although that won't stop me giving this CD a 3rd, 4th, 5th and 50th listen!

Good purchase, and sure to go down well with anyone who loves some of these sterling hits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Melodic, 14 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Even better than I anticipated. The musicality and fun shine through with this very talented group of singers. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, great music., 9 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Play this in the car and your journey will seem too short.....so play again...and again. Terrific songs, great music down memory lane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality & value., 8 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quick delivery & excellent value. Some classics with an Overtones twist. Ideal christmas gift will be well played and enjoyed. Pleased with supplier & item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars overtones, 6 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i have just ordered two tickets to see this fab group in blackpool in march . fantastic cd nice to hear some decent music nowadays five stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Worry, Be Happy, 4 Nov. 2013
Another fabulous album from the best vintage pop group in the business, The Overtones. Going back to the Good Ol'Fashioned Love style of their first album which made me love them in the first place, but with the modern twist which their have made their own.
Favourite tracks are the Jungle Book Medley (who wouldn't?) and Moon River (of course). And the little twiddly "da da dada da daaa" in Don't Worry, Be Happy.
There's going to be shaking balconies and dancing a gogo when The Overtones tour next year, so get the album now and start learning the moves. *does the mashed potato*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Most enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Saturday Night At The Movies [Amazon Exclusive Cd + Mothers Day Card]
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews