Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not An Easy Read But Well Worth The Effort.
A balanced account of a cynical period in politics. Unfortunately, it is unlikely that those who need to learn the lessons of this mess will be inclined to read it.
Published 2 months ago by A J Hewitt

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Short on the art of storytelling!
An average read with a mediocre storyline that does not capture anything of africa told in a monotonous style! There are better books written about rhodesia out there.
Published 3 months ago by kandyman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not An Easy Read But Well Worth The Effort., 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Retribution (Kindle Edition)
A balanced account of a cynical period in politics. Unfortunately, it is unlikely that those who need to learn the lessons of this mess will be inclined to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story based on true events!, 30 April 2014
This review is from: Retribution (Paperback)
Having extended family that come from Rhodesia this book was a must read after all the stories I have heard about the bush war and the effect it had on the people living there through these times. John is able to take an important event in the bush war and bring it to life giving an excellent snap shot of life on both sides of the conflict and the collateral damage caused during and after the conflict.

I am not a big reader but Retribution kept me turning the pages and right in the mix of the action.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Retribution (Kindle Edition)
A lot of stuff I never knew about. A great read and very insightful. When's the next story coming out?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Retribution (Kindle Edition)
A great book as I was there during the bush war
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fact and fiction meet and blend seamlessly, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Retribution (Kindle Edition)
I liked it a lot. Although a novel, most of it is factual and based upon real events and it teaches history as well as entertains. The key focus is on the downing of the Viscount passenger plane "Hunyani" in September 1978 and its aftermath, including the retaliatory raid by the Rhodesians the following month on a terrorist camp in Zambia. Some of the descriptions of military action are quite graphic, bordering on shocking, and I must admit that I learned some things that I wasn't aware of. The author served in the Rhodesian air force, which helps give an air of authenticity to much of it. There are some oddities; for instance, although real people who served in the conflict are present and give narrative (e.g. Jack Malloch, Lieutenant-General Peter Walls, Chris Dixon), a handful of names have been changed. The main one here is the head of the CIO, Ken Flower, who has mysteriously become "Ken Fletcher". There is also a gap in continuity - there is a sub-plot involving a traitor within the upper echelons who is identified but not named, before the thread is completely abandoned. But these are relatively minor points. Recommended and well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chilling, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Retribution (Kindle Edition)
Have just finished this book, I found it very moving and interesting as I was there during that period and knew of a few people mentioned.Highly recommended if you are interested in the bush war,well worth the read and tears!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great new book!, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Retribution (Paperback)
This is a great book. I wanted something to read on the train and got through this exciting story in one day - couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Short on the art of storytelling!, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Retribution (Kindle Edition)
An average read with a mediocre storyline that does not capture anything of africa told in a monotonous style! There are better books written about rhodesia out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Retribution
Retribution by John Frame
2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews