Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fntastic film. Gave me goosebumps it was so thrilling.
Put it on and realised I had seen it before ages ago. It was still so watchable, and exciting, and kept you thinking right to the end. Birlliant work with brilliant actors all the way through. Get this, don't miss it, it is such a good thrilling watch. Thoroughly enjoyed it, even though I could remember bits of it from seeing it before, it still kept my interest.
Published 7 months ago by Mrs. Carole Buttle

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Best things were the Persian carpets and interiors
An imitation of an imitation of an imitation. High-end upscale drivel. Best things were the Persian carpets and interiors. Most of the actors were superb, as expected, but so many careless omissions and fallacies (one minute she throws her handbag -- full of false passports, money, etc. while running for her life, and next minute it's safe in her hands) and generally...
Published 8 months ago by Nerissa Roehrs


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fntastic film. Gave me goosebumps it was so thrilling., 8 Oct. 2014
By 
Mrs. Carole Buttle (Kent UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Restless [DVD] (DVD)
Put it on and realised I had seen it before ages ago. It was still so watchable, and exciting, and kept you thinking right to the end. Birlliant work with brilliant actors all the way through. Get this, don't miss it, it is such a good thrilling watch. Thoroughly enjoyed it, even though I could remember bits of it from seeing it before, it still kept my interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Story !, 29 July 2014
By 
Bruce Miller "hyper2u" (Louisville, Kentucky and San Diego, California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Restless [DVD] (DVD)
Great story ! I had a little trouble with the dialogue and background sound overriding the voices; however, all in all, it was a fabulously entertaining story ! I am still not sure about the ending, but believe that the double cross/double agent scenario did not become apparent until the very end (I hope that I haven't given too much away). The acting was brilliant, the period settings historically accurate, and the background and historical portrayals were wonderful in the social context of the times. The story is in two parts so required two evenings of viewing. Because of the intensity of the plot, two evenings would be more appropriate. It was well written, well acted, and spectacularly produced and directed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Yarn, 25 July 2014
This review is from: Restless [DVD] (DVD)
Saw this on the Beeb couple of yrs ago It is very good Top notch entertainment I did guess who the 'baddie' was well before the end,but that did not spoil the enjoyment of it Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I really did like this film when it came out and hoped it ..., 21 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Restless [DVD] (DVD)
I really did like this film when it came out and hoped it would come out on DVD.

It has a good plot, well placed, plenty of twists and turns. It is not perfect but it is very enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars World War II story beautifully told. A small story, one of hundreds, but quite affecting., 11 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Restless [DVD] (DVD)
An absorbing World War 2 story based on real events told with the British reserve of the time. A reserve which actually adds tension and unexpected (but appropriate) fear in a number of situations. Superb acting helps in understanding the complicated plot. Those British were determined patriots during WW2, brave, harshly so sometimes, but you won't see any whining! The flash backs were clear and poignant which is sometimes not the case. I saw this for the 1st time two years ago and never forgot it. And so had to own it as soon as I could, and I do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like a good spy story crossed with a who dunnit, I strongly recommend this DVD., 11 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Restless [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent, brilliant. Superb acting. Have seen it three times already. One of the best wartime spy story's in years. Also a fantastic ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The dark force turned her to become an exellent spy, 27 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Restless [DVD] (DVD)
Another quality product from BBC. It gives precice picture how a person persuaded to be transformed as spying tool. Its convincin story i two time levels and its skilfully acted directed an filmed. How the epoch is builded is amazing.The twisted times formed twisted characters and a lonely spy was and is just a gambit on the borad. No saved but viped. The heroine is convincing in her two forms. Charlotte Rampling is uoutstanding as the old spy, Michelle Dockery as her daughter and Hayley Atwell as the young spy do good work, thou Atwells role is lager and she fills it so well.
I t will be classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Restless [DVD] (DVD)
Really excellent series with excellent acting and plot, BUT no subtitles or captions for the hearing impaired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply Brilliant!, 21 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Restless [DVD] (DVD)
I am a fan of William Boyd and loved the TV adaptation of Any Human Heart, so was excited when I saw Restless had been adapted for TV too and like Any Human Heart, it didn't disappoint. Hayley Atwell is a really good actress and she's very convincing in this, as is Rufus Sewell - he always plays 'dastardly' so well.

For anyone interested in this period in history and anyone who loves a good WWII drama - it's a must see! Brilliant storyline, brilliant characters and brilliant actors - so all in all - BRILLIANT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Best things were the Persian carpets and interiors, 28 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Restless [DVD] (DVD)
An imitation of an imitation of an imitation. High-end upscale drivel. Best things were the Persian carpets and interiors. Most of the actors were superb, as expected, but so many careless omissions and fallacies (one minute she throws her handbag -- full of false passports, money, etc. while running for her life, and next minute it's safe in her hands) and generally untruthful/unconvincing behavior left me underwhelmed and disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Restless [DVD]
Restless [DVD] by Edward Hall (DVD - 2014)
£8.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews