Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fntastic film. Gave me goosebumps it was so thrilling.
Put it on and realised I had seen it before ages ago. It was still so watchable, and exciting, and kept you thinking right to the end. Birlliant work with brilliant actors all the way through. Get this, don't miss it, it is such a good thrilling watch. Thoroughly enjoyed it, even though I could remember bits of it from seeing it before, it still kept my interest.
Published 4 months ago by Mrs. Carole Buttle

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Best things were the Persian carpets and interiors
An imitation of an imitation of an imitation. High-end upscale drivel. Best things were the Persian carpets and interiors. Most of the actors were superb, as expected, but so many careless omissions and fallacies (one minute she throws her handbag -- full of false passports, money, etc. while running for her life, and next minute it's safe in her hands) and generally...
Published 5 months ago by Nerissa Roehrs


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fntastic film. Gave me goosebumps it was so thrilling., 8 Oct. 2014
By 
Mrs. Carole Buttle (Kent UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Restless [DVD] (DVD)
Put it on and realised I had seen it before ages ago. It was still so watchable, and exciting, and kept you thinking right to the end. Birlliant work with brilliant actors all the way through. Get this, don't miss it, it is such a good thrilling watch. Thoroughly enjoyed it, even though I could remember bits of it from seeing it before, it still kept my interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Story !, 29 July 2014
By 
Bruce Miller "hyper2u" (Louisville, Kentucky and San Diego, California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Restless [DVD] (DVD)
Great story ! I had a little trouble with the dialogue and background sound overriding the voices; however, all in all, it was a fabulously entertaining story ! I am still not sure about the ending, but believe that the double cross/double agent scenario did not become apparent until the very end (I hope that I haven't given too much away). The acting was brilliant, the period settings historically accurate, and the background and historical portrayals were wonderful in the social context of the times. The story is in two parts so required two evenings of viewing. Because of the intensity of the plot, two evenings would be more appropriate. It was well written, well acted, and spectacularly produced and directed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Yarn, 25 July 2014
This review is from: Restless [DVD] (DVD)
Saw this on the Beeb couple of yrs ago It is very good Top notch entertainment I did guess who the 'baddie' was well before the end,but that did not spoil the enjoyment of it Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I really did like this film when it came out and hoped it ..., 21 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Restless [DVD] (DVD)
I really did like this film when it came out and hoped it would come out on DVD.

It has a good plot, well placed, plenty of twists and turns. It is not perfect but it is very enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like a good spy story crossed with a who dunnit, I strongly recommend this DVD., 11 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Restless [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent, brilliant. Superb acting. Have seen it three times already. One of the best wartime spy story's in years. Also a fantastic ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Restless [DVD] (DVD)
Really excellent series with excellent acting and plot, BUT no subtitles or captions for the hearing impaired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars World War II story beautifully told. A small story, one of hundreds, but quite affecting., 11 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Restless [DVD] (DVD)
An absorbing World War 2 story based on real events told with the British reserve of the time. A reserve which actually adds tension and unexpected (but appropriate) fear in a number of situations. Superb acting helps in understanding the complicated plot. Those British were determined patriots during WW2, brave, harshly so sometimes, but you won't see any whining! The flash backs were clear and poignant which is sometimes not the case. I saw this for the 1st time two years ago and never forgot it. And so had to own it as soon as I could, and I do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply Brilliant!, 21 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Restless [DVD] (DVD)
I am a fan of William Boyd and loved the TV adaptation of Any Human Heart, so was excited when I saw Restless had been adapted for TV too and like Any Human Heart, it didn't disappoint. Hayley Atwell is a really good actress and she's very convincing in this, as is Rufus Sewell - he always plays 'dastardly' so well.

For anyone interested in this period in history and anyone who loves a good WWII drama - it's a must see! Brilliant storyline, brilliant characters and brilliant actors - so all in all - BRILLIANT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Best things were the Persian carpets and interiors, 28 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Restless [DVD] (DVD)
An imitation of an imitation of an imitation. High-end upscale drivel. Best things were the Persian carpets and interiors. Most of the actors were superb, as expected, but so many careless omissions and fallacies (one minute she throws her handbag -- full of false passports, money, etc. while running for her life, and next minute it's safe in her hands) and generally untruthful/unconvincing behavior left me underwhelmed and disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars William Boyd's film adaptation of his terrific spy novel finally comes to DVD....., 1 May 2014
By 
janebbooks (Jacksonville, FL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Restless [DVD] (DVD)
RESTLESS, the television adaptation of William Boyd's novel of the same name, was shown on UK BBC One and US Sundance Channel television in two parts in December 2012. The teleplay was nominated for two Primetime Emmy awards the following spring. Part one, the story of Eva's early life as a spy in the days leading to World War II, is beautifully filmed on spectacular locations in Europe. The cars used in the production are European vintage in beautiful condition. The costumes are interesting and appear authentic. The cast is superlative:

Sally Gilmartin...Charlotte Rampling ("Swimming Pool")
Eva Delectorskaya...Hayley Atwell ("Any Human Heart")
Ruth Gilmartin....Michelle Dockery ("Downton Abbey")
Lucas Romer....Rufus Sewell ("Zen")(Part 1)....Michael Gambon ("Dancing at Lughnasa")(Part 2)

The story begins in 1976 in a remote part of England when Ruth (a long red-haired hippie working on her doctorate) and her son visit her mother Sally Gilmartin. Ruth finds her mother in great fear thinking someone is in the woods behind the house trying to kill her. Sally has purchased a rifle, binoculars, and a telescope. She tells her daughter she was a Russian girl named Eva that was a spy for the British in a clandestine group that offered refuge for German informants and recruited Roosevelt's help for British causes in WW II. Sally implores Ruth to find and visit Lucas Romer, the only one she trusts in the group, to stop the present-day killers; she gives her daughter her journal of her days as a spy.

Eva's journal begins in 1939 German-occupied France when she is recruited by spymaster Lucas Romer after her brother is killed by Nazis. She is trained at a safe house in a remote part of England. The film emphasizes that Eva receives no weapons training, so it is clearer that she is training to be a seductress. (At least, clearer to me in the teleplay than in the novel.)

The restaurant scene, one of Eva's first capers, takes place in Amsterdam when she and Romer, but primarily Eva, are to rescue a Dutch informant. The man gives Eva the wrong "double password" and Eva escapes through a bathroom window and witnesses the informant's death by several Nazi diners. The scene is vivid and well done...and shows Romer's early dominance over Eva's activities. (He's across the street in a hotel with a pair of binoculars!)

Romer, played by a handsome Rufus Sewell with a thin moustache, is not nicer than in the book...still an arrogant, rude man! He stays in the shadows at Eva's brother's funeral and during her spy training. The several times they meet, he is discourteous and does not treat her as a lady (although one of her fake passports is for a Baroness). Both Eva and Romer smoke continuously. Other men light her cigarettes...just not Romer. There is a strange scene where one of the group, an older man, calls Eva to witness a murder posed as a suicide at a crime scene before the police are summoned. Eva recognizes the victim as one of the directors of the group.

One can still wonder in the film, as in the book, why Eva and Romer became lovers. It happens suddenly with a kiss and then a seduction in a hotel room. If I recall, it's right after the restaurant caper. (As someone mentioned in my book club discussion...love happens fast in tense times.) Although RESTLESS is an adult drama, there is no profanity nor any bodily function or display in bad taste. Romer's sexual practice (coitus interruptus) is hinted at in the hotel room scene...but you would miss it if you have not read the novel.

The first part ends when Eva is assigned to go to Washington, D. C. to persuade America to come to Britain's aid in its war with Germany. Her specific assignment is to seduce the aide of Roosevelt's personal assistant Harry Hopkins. Previews of the conclusion show her as a blowsy blonde.....

Stay tuned...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Restless [DVD]
Restless [DVD] by Edward Hall (DVD - 2014)
£9.76
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews