Customer Reviews


307 Reviews
5 star:
 (223)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


99 of 103 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very addictive to watch
When I saw the pilot episode of "Grimm" I thought it would be something of a knock off of Supernatural: The Complete First Season. While both shows have much in common, "Grimm" has managed to grow into its premise and find its own identity.

Portland detective Nick Burkhardt (David Guintoli)sees monsters and it's not because he's on drugs. Turns out Burkhardt is...
Published on 30 May 2012 by Dad

versus
66 of 73 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "These guys, they carry grudges to the grave. And usually it's your grave."
The best way I can think to describe Grimm is like a cross between The X-Files and Warehouse 13, But without the Warehouse and without the aliens!

Inspired by Grimm's Fairy tales each episode you meet a new type of human hybrid monster, Homicide Detective Nick Burkhardt (David Giuntoil) has Grimm's in his family history it soon becomes apparent that the fairy...
Published on 11 Jun. 2012 by NicolaA


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

99 of 103 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very addictive to watch, 30 May 2012
By 
Dad "Just a DAD" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Grimm - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
When I saw the pilot episode of "Grimm" I thought it would be something of a knock off of Supernatural: The Complete First Season. While both shows have much in common, "Grimm" has managed to grow into its premise and find its own identity.

Portland detective Nick Burkhardt (David Guintoli)sees monsters and it's not because he's on drugs. Turns out Burkhardt is one of the last of the Grimms who fought and killed monsters that have preyed on humanity for centuries. Burkhardt like all Grimms has the unique ability to see the creatures masquerading beneath their human mask.

With the assistance of Monroe (Silas Weir Mitchell)a reformed werewolf (or a big bad wolf in Grimm mythology)to help him understand the strange new world he's been dropped into, Burkhardt discovers that many of the creatures out there are just trying to survive while others have more insidious motives. Unfortunately there are those in Burkhardt's own police department who are undermining his efforts for their own mysterious reasons.

"Grimm" has a much more droll sense of humor than the more tongue-in-cheek humor of "Supernatural" and Mitchell in particular is a highlight of the show with his often sarcastic, dry delivery as Monroe. Both shows are entertaining ("Supernatural" has its extended mythology which "Grimm" is only beginning to develop)and "Grimm" has continually improved with each successive episode.

The HD presentations of the show looks quite nice although I would imagine neither will quite match the higher uncompressed bit rate for a Blu-ray

You may want to dive into "Grimm" with the very first episode so you can get a sense of the developing mythology of the series. I would suggest not giving up after a couple of episodes as it took at least a half dozen before the show began to find its tone and stride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not your usual suspects. Storytime is over!, 3 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Grimm - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Portland detective, Nick Burkhardt, has seen some gruesome crime scenes, but nothing prepares him for the strange visions he begins seeing: seemingly regular people momentarily transforming into hideous monsters. A visit from his only living relative reveals the truth. Nick has inherited the ability to see supernatural creatures, and as a "Grimm," he is tasked with keeping the balance between mankind and the mythological. A reformed "Big Bad Wolf" becomes his greatest (and also reluctant) ally and confidant. It's not long before his work as a policeman leads Nick to the criminals he once thought were only found in fairy tales.

Fantastic start to the series very addictive, cleverly written and directed, the actors are good, each episode is always different but has a main story to it and keeps you watching throughout. Highly recommend this. Well worth watching, Awesome tv show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars blu ray looks great. same mastering as u.s. version, 22 Aug. 2012
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Grimm surprised many by being a VERY successful show. It really has a cool theme and tight scripts and on the level acting too. The blu ray is alot better than the dvd set and this show was shot on high quality film so it makes a difference. The story of a cop who is surrounded by abnormal types, (as the late great sanctuary show would call the beings that exist around humans in this storyling) This one ties in with old fairtytales too of course. It's just a good idea for a show and it deserved the success it got. The blu ray uses the same mastering and the u.s. one is excellent picture wise
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE THIS SHOW!!!!, 23 May 2012
This review is from: Grimm - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Police drama, mysterious goings on, colourful creatures,loveable characters,epic fights!!! A thriller,mystery,horror with slight humour from time to time, easily among my top 10 shows,mother didnt think much till she watched more and liked it more! Not for everyone but will draw more people new to the Genre!!
Absolute must!!!!! A great collection to your shows and Bluray!
Bring on Season 2 now!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 73 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "These guys, they carry grudges to the grave. And usually it's your grave.", 11 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Grimm - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
The best way I can think to describe Grimm is like a cross between The X-Files and Warehouse 13, But without the Warehouse and without the aliens!

Inspired by Grimm's Fairy tales each episode you meet a new type of human hybrid monster, Homicide Detective Nick Burkhardt (David Giuntoil) has Grimm's in his family history it soon becomes apparent that the fairy tales and myths we hear of now are in fact true but only a significant few have the ability to see what others can not. The Grimm's are protectors from the shape shifting hybrids myths - whatever you want to call them, and in turn they fear them as they cannot altogether hide what they are when in the presence of a Grimm. finding his feet in the ever increasing strangeness, Nick is given a case involving a child kidnapper, and wrongly accuses Monroe.

Monroe (Silas Weir Mitchell) a Blutbud - kinda like a werewolf, he helps Nick and they become good friends, partners of the supernatural world, he advises Nick on what and who he is and helps him fight the 'bad guys'

In truth I feel the series could have been a lot darker and takes to many 'Artistic leaps' But the series is good and worth watching, every episode has a new foe but has the underlining story, I really liked the character Monroe, And by mid season liked Nick Burkhardt - the Grimm

Over all - Yeah there are better TV series out there this is by no means the worst and is thoroughly watchable. The series has been renewed for a second season and I will watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars why no subtitles, 22 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bought this first series cos i thought it would be different. it is but as i am totally deaf i need subtitles there arn't any! i have had to wait for season three before they added subtitles. soooo unfair!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A GRIMM REVIEW, 7 May 2012
This review is from: Grimm - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Well folks if you want a different slant on a police precedural show this is it. Very dark and quirky the best new series this season and picked up for Season 2. Lots of new creatures each episode and very clever writing to keep the creature world separate from the real world. Well worth a watch and good main characters as well. One for the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grimm - great viewing, 8 Nov. 2013
By 
TonyD "biotone" (Up North) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grimm - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent series from the Buffy / Angel stable, with the premise that a Portland cop begins to see supernatural beings behind human facades, and comes to realise that he is the latest in a long line of 'Grimms' whose destiny it is to chase these beings or be killed by them.
The special effects as the 'Wessen' morph into animals (or worse) are excellent, the characters are well done, with a largely unknown cast, and this is compulsive viewing.. Have already bought the second series and can't wait for the third!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grim and Addictive - A World of Supernatural and Investigations, 30 Oct. 2012
By 
Gre4t Moments (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Grimm - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
The first thing worth mentioning is that this series is a lot like the series Supernatural, I meant that as a compliment not implying it's another clone or just another supernatural thriller series...

Nick Burkhardt (pronunciation is not as difficult as the spelling) is a homicide detective but also a Grimm as in Grimm Brothers, rather a descendent of a long line of Grimms, and the fairytales we all know are not really fairy tales at all but the real evil around us - live, pulsating, and waiting to strike. Nick, as a Grimm, has the ability to see the true nature evil and when he realizes this blessing or curse, his old life became so fragile, he had to struggle to keep it away from harm. He is now between two worlds in one as a Grimm he had to fight against ancient evils and supernatural malevolent entities and on the other he is vulnerable and protect his loved ones and his career. These two worlds are often a twain's distance from colliding.

The best part of the series, where we meet lots of evil creatures, entities and beings that even Nick himself thought existed only in fairy tales and nightmares. With the help of his partner Hank and the reformed big bad wolf Monroe, he investigates the supernatural and murders, thus present 22 great addictive episodes of the first season.

DVD Set Vital Stats:
Number of Discs: SIX (Not five as Amazon description says)
Subtitles: Swedish, Norwegian, Finnish, and Danish
Audio : English Dolby Digital 2.0 Surround
Aspect Ration: 1.78:1 Anamorphic
Region: PAL 2, 4, 5 (See my customer image if in doubt...)
Feature Running time (approx.) 15 hours 13 minutes and Bonus Running time (approx.) One hour 24 minutes.
Bonus Features: Deleted and Extended Scenes, The World of Grimm: characters, creatures and inspiration behind the storylines, Grimm: Making Monsters: Behind the scenes with teams who bring the monsters to life, audition tapes etc.

Pros:
Thrilling and Captivating Episodes
Great script and Photography
Somewhat loosely based on Grimm's Fairy tales
A World of Supernatural beings and Ancient Evils
Each episode new stories

Cons:
Somewhat loosely based on Grimm's Fairy tales
Sometimes the the story digresses too much
In the DVD set there are no English Subtitles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glad to be Grimm!, 5 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love fantasy series and Fairy Tales, so this was right up my street, but it may also appeal to those who like their police stories with a bit of a twist! The basic premise is 'What if Fairy Tales (original gory dark ones) were based on beings who lived amongst us, only managing to camoflage themselves most of the time? Only a few people can see these beings, and they have been responsible for keeping them in check for hundreds of years.' The acting and charcters are good, and the stories are never predictable, with an on-going thread of a policeman coming to terms with his 'Grimm' leagacy. I'd recommend if you like 'Medium', 'Once upon a Time', or even 'Ghost Whisperer'. Be warned though, these stories are not suitable for young children- you see blood and gore sometimes, with adult themes. There are some moments of light relief, so it does not take itself too seriously!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bears Will Be Bears
Bears Will Be Bears by Norberto Barba
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews