Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars53
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£11.13+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 April 2014
As a Bruce fan I didn't know if I was going to like seeing other artists sing Bruce's songs. So if I honest I purchased this DVD for the tracks Bruce did at the end of the show. I was very surprised that I sat though and really enjoyed seeing other artists performing bruce's music. Some really great performances especially from Patti Smith, Jackson Brown and Neil Young.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2015
I first admit I'm a colossal Bruce fan and would normally avoid these sort of concerts like the plague. I didn't even bother to check it out when I first saw it on Amazon, thinking it would be the usual embarrassing stuff that would make you cringe. A few weeks ago Sky Arts aired it so I thought I'd just give it 5 minutes before turning it off. Low and behold the first act (Alamama Shakes) was absolutely brilliant. So I hung around for the second act (Patti Smith) and she was brilliant - no matter how many times she may have done Because The Night. On and on it went and the whole show was just phenomenal. The only damp squib was Elton John's pedestrian version of Streets of Philadelphia which fell flat on it's face (I don't know why on earth the audience gave him a standing ovation). Anyway, if you fast-forward the compare, ignore the dolled-up crowd, and just take in the music then you have probably the best Bruce tribute concert you're likely to get. The moods veer from haunting performances from Emmylou Harris and John Legend to blistering rock-outs from Tom Morello and Neil Young (who's actually hilarious blitzing Born In The USA). Bruce himself looks
genuinely overawed in the audience and Bruce wouldn't put on an act if he wanted to get out of there. After I watched it on Sky I bought the blue ray straight away and already re-played it 3 or 4 times. It's a fabulous concert - put away any pre-conceived ideas like I had and get it!.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2014
This is soooooo awesome. Not one single dud in the line up. In fact, I've found a whole lot of artists I want to use my new spotify subscription to listen too. Brilliant
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2014
All Bruce fans must buy this DVD! The contributing artists do a great job of his songs and clearly Bruce was impressed as well. The Tom Morello 'Ghost of Tom Joad' rendering is just amazing - buy it for this alone. And, of course, you get the added bonus of Bruce performing at the end. Strongly recommended.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Bruce Springsteen was honoured as the 2013 Musicare's Person Of the Year and this DVD is a film of the awards ceremony. Musicare is a charity which supports music performers in times of financial, medical and personal need. There are 16 performances by other acts all performing Springsteen songs and 5 performances by Bruce and the E Street Band themselves. All of the performances are absolutely terrific. Some performers were well known to me, for example, Mumford and Sons, Elton John, John Legend, Sting, Neil Young but others, primarily American performers, were either unknown to me or certainly less well known. There were performances by Alabama Shakes, Ken Casey, Kenny Chesney. Juanes and others. Obviously they had the advantage of singing great Springsteen songs but they were all undoubtedly great acts. This DVD has certainly introduced me to some terrific performers whom I had never heard of. The sound and film quality are both excellent. If you are a Springsteen fan you will love this. Highly recommended
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2015
Big fan of Bruce and sometimes of the view that some songs are so perfect they shouldn't be touched by anyone else. By law. So I worried about what some of these would be like. With one exception Everybody brings something new to the party, and whilst maybe not better at least different and interesting. Stand out for me is Jim James and Tom Morello covering the Ghost of Tom Joad. Bottom of the pile is Elton John singing the streets of philadelphia. Just awful. That's one of the songs that should just be left alone. Main downside throughout was the compere Jon Stewart, not funny, racist and adds no value to proceedings. It's a real shame I can't get this in cd version for in the car.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2014
Great tribute. Great enterpretation of Bruce's songs! It's great to watch Bruce and Patty enjoy the show and listen to what other artists bring.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2014
A superb tribute as a number of artistes sing Classic Springsteen tracks before the Boss himself closes with five numbers including of course "Born To Run" and "Thunder Road". The only letdown for me was a mundane version of "Streets Of Philadelphia" from Elton John. Even Sting was okay, and Alabama Shakes started the whole thing off perfectly. Mumford and Sons and Jackson Browne provide other highlights, but the standout performance comes from Tom Morello and Jim James with a storming "The Ghost Of Tom Joad". Dare I say it - Bruce himself couldn't have given it more passion!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2014
Im not especially enamoured with other people covering bruce songs -why would I want to see any one else singing them??!!
BUT this is really good -especially people like Patti Smith ( who is obviously an exception to the aforementioned rule), Jackson Brown and Neil young ,although I can do without Elton John making a Bruce song sound exactly like every other Elton John song
the concert is made even better by Bruce being there in person and accepting the Musicare Tribute Award and then the E street band joining him on stage for a mini concert.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2014
Really different look at Springsteen with first half being other groups playing his and I can honestly say there are a few really good covers on this .
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)