Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So nearly 5 star - may uprate later
RICOH WG 4 GPS and waterproof camera
Sadly (most) cameras/electronics and water ( particularly sea) do not mix ( except for specially designed / very expensive equipment) although in recent years more technology has become available allowing underwater pictures and video or at least pictures to be taken in wet and or cold conditions with wrecking the camera or...
Published 4 months ago by Dr. I. Cox

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The camera is very good! The camera pack that I received had battery ...
The camera is very good!
The camera pack that I received had battery charger pins suitable for European region and the 'Quick Guide' is in French though the camera is on sale in Amazon, UK.
Wish that the images of the package contents had also been made available.
Published 1 month ago by Vijay


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So nearly 5 star - may uprate later, 24 April 2014
By 
Dr. I. Cox "ian_cox9" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
RICOH WG 4 GPS and waterproof camera
Sadly (most) cameras/electronics and water ( particularly sea) do not mix ( except for specially designed / very expensive equipment) although in recent years more technology has become available allowing underwater pictures and video or at least pictures to be taken in wet and or cold conditions with wrecking the camera or requiring cumbersome protective housings
My particular interest with this camera is in snorkelling and taking pictures and video underwater so how does this Ricoh camera stack up?
Out of the box –
This was a free VINE sample for review ,and the user manual was absent. The Quick start guide was present but was not clear in this as to how the battery should be charged (in camera , via the AV socket in the sealable battery/SD card compartment ).
NOTE all manuals are available for free download from www.ricoh-imaging.eu .
The main manual is 253 pages! Suggest you download this even to evaluate what the camera can do and certainly after buying.
The unit comes with aD-Li92 battery , a carabiner strap ( be warned the camera sinks in water and this is NOT a wrist strap) , USB cable with Power adaptor , a software CD ROM ( NO MANUAL ON IT!) a macrostand ( a ring used when using the camera as a microscope using LED lights built into the lens mount)
There is a mini HDMI output point under the battery/SD card compartment seal.
This really is a neat little unit with extensive features and modes.( Normally I use just automatic ( when I do not want to miss a picture) or a semi manual mode on a DSLR like Aperture priority).There are some 28+ different modes including extreme close up ( with LED illumination) ,night modes , HDR mode ( for extreme tonal ranges) , interval still , interval movie , slow play back , fast playback and a plethora of U/W modes for still and movie. Whilst there is a speed priority mode ( Tv) there is no apparent Aperture priority mode for controlling depth of field although there appears to be a fully manual mode .. The F2 lens appears to work well and gives good general sharpness on the computer screen – even at extreme macro. Will report further when I have made some A4 prints and compared with other cameras
There is a software CD ( no camera manual) for downloading / editing and there are also some 24 playback /editing modes in the playback mode on the camera. Personally I rely on Photoshop elements (9) for both data acquisition to the computer and editing. Downloading of pictures and video to a computer can be via the provided USB lead put in the AV socket ( this lead / socket doubles in charging the battery) OR ( my preference) an SDHC card reader – note SD readers on old computers may not work. There is a mini HDMI socket ( lead NOT provided ) for viewing on TV
Initial test results - General photographs and video
a) Automatic mode – No problems in normal daylight BUT at night the system sometimes resorted to flash ( OK – very powerful) OR tried to take in night mode with the ISO jacked up and all at F2 - losing depth of field / sharpness. . It also tended to give an unwanted flash through a window in daylight. I need to evaluate more and check for any camera software upgrades! To be fair I have seen this occasional schizophrenic behaviour on cameras like a Nikon D3100 and Panasonic TZ20
b) Individual modes – these worked as expected for a normal digital compact and are a good way to avoid the odd glitches found with full auto – you can easily set the flash modes ( including “off”).
c) U/W photographs and video – many cameras are limited to 3m depth ( or less) , this one is rated to 14m –I am unlikely to test this to this depth but will go to 1.5 – 3m snorkelling ( NOTE at 3m there is only blue light filtering down from the sun so how well will this camera cope? There are special U/W still and video modes claimed to colour correct for the light absorption) Will report on tests later after visiting the Red Sea. There is a double lock system on the battery/SD card compartment so ( in theory) there should be no risk of it coming open under water, Apart from a leak test in a 200L water barrel ( no leaks),full underwater testing ( still and video) awaits our holiday next week.
Unique positives –heavy duty body , extreme macro , ring lighting , GPS, compass, pressure / height / depth gauge and many many modes
(GPS is an interesting feature IF you must embed the exact location of the photograph in the electronic image. The usual downside is that GPS is a battery bandit , constantly searching for satellite signals – carry (charged) spares!)
Other product options ( see Amazon pages) – Ricoh ( different models) Pentax , Nikon Coolpix – all at different price breaks even on Amazon. NOTE Ricoh and Pentax were the same company!
After 3 days ( very short) period of evaluation ( Amazon requires review within 30 days and I am at Sea next week for a month) ,I reasonably impressed by the offering and rate it provisionally 4 stars - given a few oddities in found in automode where the flash sometimes operates when not required ( eg through glass) and at night where flash might be expected automatically.
Quality –I checked against my DSLR’s and bridge cameras – seemed very impressive - await my long term results - . There are two stabilisation modes which work extremely well if slow shutter speeds are required although use of a tripod is recommend for night shots
So who is the camera for?
Beach and sea lovers , rain forest explorers , extreme sports enthusiasts ( white water) , the whole family ( will it really stand abuse by the kids?).
Other recommended accessories (IMHO)
ESSENTIAL ( as not supplied) - A good , fast SD card - preferably a reliable Class 10 such as Sandisk ( 16Gb ca £10) – this will be essential for HD movies and will give ca 2-3000 pictures at 12MP resolution or 2h video ( the camera will take up to 25 minutes continuous video in any one shot).Have not yet tested how well the battery lasts on continuous video
. (You can get up to 16MP resolution on this camera) but remember that A4 prints only require 2-3MP for excellent pictures. Running at Hi-res does allow for cropping)
A neoprene carrying pouch to protect the Plastic LCD screen cover – ca £4-5
I do suggest you invest in a wrist strap for use in the sea snorkelling – cameras are easy to drop (and this one will sink) if you ever have a snorkel problem and need 2 hands free. ( is this only me?) .
You cannot have enough spare battery power – in this case ( compatible or original) D-LI92 batteries – I purchased 2 D-LI92 compatibles at ca £6 each from ExpressPro via Amazon with 2 yr warranties .. NOTE – batteries have to be charged in camera and Ricoh do not recommend leaving them fully charged for months on end. So do cycle the batteries ( use them!)
Price – there are cheaper versions of this camera ( possibly with less functions) both with Ricoh and Pentax (via Amazon) if you do not want the GPS or compass functions
Overall a good effort - ENJOY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another good waterproof camera from Ricoh (previously Pentax branded), 18 Jun 2014
By 
joc66 (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ricoh WG-4 GPS Waterproof Digital Camera - Blue (16MP, 4x Optical Zoom) 3.0 inch LCD (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I reviewed a similar model last year, and this most recent version is basically a slight change of looks, but in all other regards, it is pretty similar to the Pentax WG-3.
In my review for that camera, I said that this is definitely the camera for you if you are into outdoor adventures and that is still the case for this new one. It's built with a rugged robustness which suggests that it will cope well with the great outdoors, come rain (because it's waterproof) or shine. The 4x optical zoom doesn't protrude beyond the camera, but is all sealed in, and the charging port is behind a waterproof seal too, although you can buy an additional accessory to charge wirelessly. More accessories are now available for this new model including three different types of mount, including a suction cup mount, although these need to be purchased separately as they are not included in the box. As with the previous model, photo quality is pretty good, sharp well exposed images and a responsive zoom. The optical zoom is on 4x but I guess this is the price you pay for it all to be sealed inside the waterproof and rugged casing. The camera is quick to respond to pressing the shutter button.(this is important. Shutter lag drives me crazy!) The HD video looks pretty good too. The menus look a bit dated to me although there quite a few options both when shooting and viewing images, most of which I probably won't use. This updated version of the WG-3 now has shutter priority mode which you might find useful.
All in all then, a pretty solid camera which should suit the most intrepid explorer although you might want to ask yourself how much you really need underwater shooting, or a GPS on your camera and the other bells and whistles this camera has in order to decide whether it's worth the price tag to you. If you don't need shutter priority mode, or the option of more mounts for your camera, then you might instead seek out the WG-3 from Pentax which is effectively the same camera but at a lower price because it is last year's model.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD FOR WHAT IT WAS DESIGNED FOR BUT WITH A NUMBER OF CAVEATS, 22 April 2014
By 
Helpless "Helpless" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
First impressions count for a lot.

When I unboxed and unwrapped this camera and held it in my hand I was a little underwhelmed. The plastics felt cheap, the design was far from simple and I felt it was overloaded by too much writing on the case. For instance shockproof, crushproof waterproof, adventure proof, cold proof all printed in two places on the front and repeated on the back. Like a Ford Escort 1.3 that had been blinged with go-faster stripes, self painted silver wheels, an exhaust trim and a green sun glare strip fastened to the top of the windscreen.

It has a combination of grooves and bumps in the plastic for grip. The function buttons on the back are the usual basic layout that you would find on most compact cameras. Unfortunately the buttons have a not very nice plastic feel to them and they look cheap, made of grey hatched plastic.

However, let's get one thing straight, this is a camera that is supposed to go places and survive. Drop it, submerge it to 14 meters, use it in the snow, use it on the beach, swim with it or even drop it down the toilet. It will survive this and more. There are a lot of grooves on the outside that sand might get into or mud and other detritus might find its way to stick to but the camera will not be affected.

Both the LCD screen on the back and the lens cover are made out of plastic, without a case expect these to pick up the odd scratch. There is a flimsy plastic clip on ring in the box so that you might use the odd filter. The plastic ring is not robust.

You will either love the design or hate it, but if I was going to Glastonbury and the weather turned for the worst I would be happy to have this in my pocket.

It has a good quality and sized LCD on the back and the menu system is easy to navigate. The screen is easy to read in sunlight and reflections are at a minimum.

The optical x4 zoom is slow but photographs taken are generally good, though compared to my Nikon P300 it falls a little behind. Still I wouldn't be able to drop the Nikon in a puddle and expect it to survive.

The digital zoom goes up to x28 but in the upper regions leaves a bit to be desired.
Macro photographs are generally goodish and the LED lighting around the lens helps illuminate the object in front of you.

There are also I think around 29 picture taking modes including shutter priority and it offers full HD video but not when using slow motion settings. It will also tell you where you took your photo's and how high or deep you were when you took them.

This isn't going to replace a GoPro as an action camera because of the weight.

In conclusion, the camera was designed for the outdoors, it was designed to put up with all sorts of abuse and it does. There are better cameras and more expensive cameras but as with anything of this genre you have to ask yourself if it fits what you want to do with it. 4 stars are for the fact that it has no other pretensions other than being what it is.

Just be aware that this Ricoh is a repackaged Pentax WG-3, it has a few improvements over the last model but is generally optically similar. Whether it offers you better value for money over its previous incarnation I will leave that to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars as expected, 17 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ricoh WG-4 GPS Waterproof Digital Camera - Blue (16MP, 4x Optical Zoom) 3.0 inch LCD (Electronics)
worked as expected, got some pictures when i went snorkeling which i was quite pleased with even though i couldn't stay upright so ended up with quite a few pictures of seal body parts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for the outdoors, 1 May 2014
By 
Soo Broo (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Ricoh WG-4 GPS Waterproof Digital Camera - Blue (16MP, 4x Optical Zoom) 3.0 inch LCD (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a really great little camera. Other reviewers have detailed its capabilities in a much better way than I could, so this is a review from someone who really just wants to 'point and shoot'.

I do a lot of hiking, running and cycling and have a digital SLR Pentax that I love for times when I can be bothered to lug it about as it's very heavy (but it is superb). I wanted something I could have handy in my pocket, but that still takes great pictures and this fits the bill.

I love the look of this camera first of all. It looks pretty rugged and it's nicely compact. I like the chunky strap and the karabiner which is sturdy and very handy. I'm not one for straps round the neck, so it's useful to be able to clip it to a belt or rucksack or handlebar. The fact that it's shockproof, waterproof and coldproof is useful when out on the hills and I have dropped it and got it wet with no effects. The screen is a really decent size - as someone who never takes their glasses or wears their contact lenses, this is important - and it's dead easy to use. The quality of the photos is really good too, the menu system is easy to use and it has a decent zoom. It doesn't come with a case - I did buy a neoprene type one just to protect the screen in transit, but I don't bother with it from then on and I'm confident that it will be fine in my pocket or rucksack.

All in all, a really decent camera that looks good and performs well. Ideal for those who like outdoor pursuits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning pictures. Rugged camera., 26 April 2014
By 
W. Rodick (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Length:: 9:10 Mins

Warning: video contains macro political statement.

It was not until I transferred its pictures to computer that I realised this camera's best quality. Colour. My two Canon cameras each profit from Auto Color Correction in Elements. When I click on this with Ricoh pictures nothing happens. They are already vivid, glossy colour. I am sure the electrickery involved in making the photographs is also part of making movies. I do not know of movie software that can tweak colour. And remember this Ricoh is built for underwater.

Strength is this camera's specialty. Freezing cold: no problem to -10ºC. Drop it about 2 metres from the ground: no problem. Crush it up to 100kgf: no sweat. Even sweat proof under 14 meters of it!

So, five stars for colour. And for macro setting, including an incredible 1cm movie making setting! Clearly close-up work is a specialty. But its widescreen horizon photos are great too.

Make sure you download and print the 247p manual. The Pan Focus option, for example, is for when someone else takes a picture of you: the entire scene front to back is in focus. I shall be using this Ricoh primarily for cycling. A handlebar bracket is available attaching centre of camera. That Shockproof statement will be severely tested. A movie entitled 'The Potholes of Cheshire' may be made. And I won't care if it rains!

Clearly its greatest strength is its underwater capabilities. Snorkelling through Australia's Great Barrier Reef should be easily recorded with this camera. From the smallest mollusc to the widest horizon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The camera is very good! The camera pack that I received had battery ..., 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ricoh WG-4 GPS Waterproof Digital Camera - Blue (16MP, 4x Optical Zoom) 3.0 inch LCD (Electronics)
The camera is very good!
The camera pack that I received had battery charger pins suitable for European region and the 'Quick Guide' is in French though the camera is on sale in Amazon, UK.
Wish that the images of the package contents had also been made available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews