Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars17
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 2 April 2016
This is a fantastic show! The animated Justice League series is one of my favourites. I arrived at this having watched 'Batman: The Animated Series' and 'Superman: The Animated Series' ... and, wonderfully, they all interconnect to form a whole. This is now known a the DC Animated Universe (which also contains several other shows, in addition to the one's mentioned).

These characters, as depicted in this animated universe, are amongst the very best of DC. Here we have Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, Green Lantern, the Flash, Martian Manhunter, and Hawkgirl ... as well as a few others, who occasionally join in (such as Aquaman). This first season establishes the Justice League, and the relationships between the characters. There are several storylines, most often consisting of two or three episodes. In total, 26 episodes.

This saga continued in season 2, and onward in season 3 (or Justice League Unlimited) and season 4. All excellent.

While the show is suitable for kids, it's also pitched at adults. There's some adult humour (e.g. the Flash boasting that he's the fastest man alive, and Hawkgirl saying how that explains why he hasn't got a girlfriend).

Overall, great stories and wonderful animation. The DC Universe doesn't get better!

The included episode story-arcs are: "Secret Origins", "In Blackest Night", "The Enemy Below", "Injustice for All", "Paradise Lost", "War World", "The Brave and the Bold", "Fury", "Legends", "A Knight of Shadows", "Metamorphosis", and "The Savage Time".
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 October 2008
This animated series following the adventures of DC's premier superhero team is set within the same DC Animated universe as Batman: The Animated Series, Superman: The Animated Series and The New Batman Adventures and includes some of the voice actors from those series.

This first season contains twelve adventures each split into two or three episodes apiece. All the episodes are or high quality with some great writing which is both funny and gripping. The voice acting is good throughout the season and although the animation itself is somewhat basic in places it is still passable.

Of the stories from this first seaosn the three part premier `Secret Origins' is my favorite with `War World' and `A Knight with Shadows' being other stories that I greatlly enjoyed. I haven't seen any of the other DC Animated Universe series but will definatelly be seeking to watch them after seeing this series.
22 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2007
Premiering on Cartoon Network in the fall of 2001, the Justice League has proving to be one of the most entertaining assemblies put together. The first season of Justice League is among the best that DC/Warner Animation has to offer. From the origin story to the epic 3-part finale. After buying season 2 a couple of weeks ago I ended up going backwards on purchasing season one. This first season includes some of my favorite episodes. I am not going comment on each individually episode because there are other reviewers who had done it already and has better knowledge on them then I do.

The seven members of the mightiest crime-fighting force, gives us a collection of entertaining adventures. The Justice League faces such dangerous rogues like criminal mastermind Lex Luthor, evil sorceress Morgaine Le Fey, genius primate Gorilla Grodd and the immortal dictator Vandal Savage. The episodes have likable good-versus-evil plots, refreshing characters, stimulating comic book action and colorful animation.

The episodes provided here will definitely entertain both youngsters and adults especially for fans of the Cartoon Network series. The 4-Disc set has a vibrant picture quality accompany by clear and pulsating sound that you won't get enough of.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2014
loved it still could use wider range of dc animations from cartoon network for free so it attracts more people to amzon than netflix where you have to rent them
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
Time to brush up on your DC comic law. Ready for the crop of Dc movies in works. Good show love it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 30 October 2011
Justice League, and its successor series Justice League Unlimited, are together quite easily the best superhero cartoons ever made - or at least that I've ever seen.

Justice League has its roots in Bruce Timm's original Batman: The Animated Series, and his not quite as successful Superman series. Both shows are part of the same continuity as Justice League, as too are less well known animated programs such as Static Shock,Batman Beyond, and The Zeta Project. But in my opinion, it's the Justice League shows that are the apex of the arc.

The art is stylish yet functional, following almost seamlessly in the style Bruce Timm first defined in Batman: The Animated Series. The characters and the world they inhabit are at once sleek yet densely solid, and everything has a certain visual gravitas. This fits perfectly with the writing, for unlike so many superhero TV-shows and movies, Justice League is a show with a great deal of self-respect. I actually stole that term - self-respect - from Steven Myers' review of Batman - Mask of the Phantasm, a feature-length production from the same continuity. It is the term that, perhaps better than any other, describes what makes this meta-series what it is. Within their own frames of reference, all of the shows within it take themselves seriously. While not without their own moments of humour, there is no camp parody, and there are certainly no moments where the writers give a nudge and wink to the audience to let us know that it's time to have a bit of a giggle over the absurdity of it all.

Perhaps the most astonishing thing for many adults then will be the fact that Justice League succeeds brilliantly on this entirely serious level. As incredible as it may sound to some people, this is a really good, intelligent, serious superhero cartoon. In episodes like Legends (parts 1 & 2) there is a combination of real pathos together with a quite casual, almost incidental implied social commentary; both of which are so lightly and deftly handled as to render ridiculous even the idea of comparing this show to old seventies horrors like Super Friends.

Finally, the series is graced with a full orchestral score for both title and background music. Again, this compliments the overall tone of the show perfectly.

So where does this product, Justice League Season One, fit into the picture?

Well, in my opinion, as good as Justice League is, Justice League Unlimited (which follows on more or less immediately in the same continuity) is better. On the other hand, because this is indeed very much a continuity - a cohesive universe with its own history and cosmology - it is best to start with Justice League and watch the entire thing through from the beginning. Bear in mind that there were two distinct seasons of Justice League before the switch-over to Justice League Unlimited, and you do now have a choice as to whether to buy the two Justice League seasons individually or together. Surprisingly, at the time of writing, it is actually slightly cheaper to buy them separately. As you can see from my Amazon Verified Purchase label, this is the option I chose.

For this reason, I cannot talk to you from personal experience about the extras you'll get if you buy the two seasons together. However, I can tell you that the extras you get with this product, Justice League - Season One (DC Comics Classic Collection), are superb. Both in the included "featurettes" and in the voice over commentaries, you do very much feel like you're getting a genuine insider's view from behind the scenes. You do feel like you're gaining real insight into how this show was made, and why things are the way they are in the final, finished version. Of course, I didn't always agree with the choices the writers ultimately made. For example, in the Legends episodes I mentioned earlier, I do wish they'd gone with their original creative impulse regarding the identities of certain "alternate" superheroes; I do believe that this would have greatly deepened the emotional resonance and undercurrents of the story (I won't say any more than that because I don't want to spoil things). But the point is, whether you agree with the writer's choices or not, you do come away feeling as if you've at least been privy to the discussion.

For me at least, that's what extras are all about.

Theo.
22 comments|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2015
For those familiar with the DC Animated universe, this is the culmination of that run of great shows (Batman: the Animated Series, Superman, Batman Beyond, The Zeta Project) where all of DC's big guns (and Hawkgirl) team up to fight bad guys.

The thing about writing this review is that I suspect that if it didn't come with the DCAU pedigree then I'dprobably be giving it five stars. It's a fun trip around the DC universe, with bigger threats than before, great character interplay, some genuinely dramatic moments and smooth animation. The characters all have their unique voices, and they develop as the series goes on - albeit at some uneven rates. GL gets most of the love this series, whilst the perennials Batman and Superman are less in focus - probably because everyone knows them so well.

So why four rather than five? Well, because some of the episodes aren't as strong as others and it's a bit uneven. There's a recurring problem with Superman, in that he plays the Worf a lot (TV tropes it if you don't understand that reference) and keeps getting laid out by things that he probably shouldn't, or sidelined so that other characters can be useful. It's understandable, but you can tell from it that they're still finding their way with how to handle a larger cast with more diverse powers.

That shouldn't put you off. It's a great series that gets better as it goes - and Justice League Unlimited really delivers on the promise you see here. It's not quite as good as some of the earlier cartoons in the DCAU (at this point) but that's rather like complaining that my diamond shoes are too tight. Suitable for kids, enjoyable for the superhero-minded adult. Enjoy!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2015
The inner child in you will love this, but the critical douche-bag in you will not... So get choosing on which you want to side with
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2016
I am hardly the biggest fan but for me personally I like the show even though the characters are a little one dimensional.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2014
As superhero addict this has been great to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)