Customer Reviews


398 Reviews
5 star:
 (287)
4 star:
 (63)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny for 15+ hours of action packed awesomeness!
Simply brilliant. Watched the 23 episodes in four days. It completely blown my expectations away. Compared to the first few episodes of The Flash, the acting in this is top notch, you get attached to the main cast very quickly.

There are many twists and has a fine balance between action and talking/character development. The flashbacks to the Island are also a...
Published 3 months ago by sonia99921

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Arrow
The series are okay. The most interesting and important part is what happened on the island- the short story telling is what drives you to guess what will happen, and how did he survive. First episodes were really enticing, but after that we were led to cheesy dialogue, story and somewhat annoying characters (there are few interesting characters, that are going to be...
Published 9 days ago by Arturas B.


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny for 15+ hours of action packed awesomeness!, 8 Nov. 2014
Simply brilliant. Watched the 23 episodes in four days. It completely blown my expectations away. Compared to the first few episodes of The Flash, the acting in this is top notch, you get attached to the main cast very quickly.

There are many twists and has a fine balance between action and talking/character development. The flashbacks to the Island are also a very fine touch! Eventually I got gripped on the flashbacks to find out and see what happens!

All in all, this series is worth watching, and if you are not a prime member, I suggest you buy it too if you like the DC comics and characters, and even if you haven't heard of the character in the comics, give it a try, you will most likely be pleased you did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great start, 17 Nov. 2014
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this first season of 'Arrow' to be a thoroughly enjoyable watch with a nice mixture of action and comedy. The first few episodes of the series are somewhat episodic in nature (and probably a little formulaic) but once the series hits its stride the plot does improve greatly with the final few episodes being very good.

The overall plot arc for the series sees Oliver deal with a list of corrupt people that his father left him while he slowly begins to discover his calling as a hero and the fact that the threat to Starling City (changed from the Star City of the comics for some reason) is far more dangerous than he thought. The plot of each episode is generally interspaced with flashbacks to Oliver's time on the island (often with something to do with what is going on in that episode) and I feel that this was a good way to handle things.

One thing I liked about the series was the amount of other DC characters who made an appearances (including some of my favourite DC characters such as Deadshot, Deathstroke and Huntress) and while some have been changed quite a bit to fit in with the series (such as Firefly, the Royal Flush Gang and Count Vertigo) I still enjoyed their inclusion because it give a sense of a wider world to the setting.

The acting in the series is a little stiff in places but as the series goes on, everyone involved seems to become more comfortable with their roles. John Barrowman is particularly good as Malcolm Merlyn (he does play villains very well) while Emily Bett Rickards is also very good as Felicity Smoak. Stephen Amell is reasonable as Oliver Queen but I feel that he did a better job of portraying the Oliver in the island flashbacks than he does the Oliver in the main storyline.

Overall this first season of 'Arrow' was a good start to the series and I would say that it is probably my favourite DC show at the moment (although Gotham may supplant it in the future). Overall I feel that this season is well worth around four and a half stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Let The Wild Rumpus Start!, 30 Dec. 2014
By 
Theo (Gondwana) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This didn't grab me the first time I saw it. But somehow I wound up giving it a second chance, and I'm glad I did.

Perhaps the reason why it didn't appeal at first is that it possesses neither the high fantasy of the more overtly fantastic superhero tales, nor the gritty realism of so many noir offerings. This show exists in a space all its own, and it took me a couple of takes to adjust.

Make no mistake: although there's no-one flying around in a cape, judged by the standards of the real world, this show is utterly absurd. I do find myself thinking, from time to time, of a "bit" I once saw a standup comedian do, comparing Bruce Wayne to Ross Perot. It's also the kind of show where you quickly learn to accept that the extras are never going to learn to shoot straight - or if they do, it will only be at each other. But as you start to get into it, you somehow find yourself accepting the show's own reality and terms of reference. And even when the necessary willing suspension of disbelief does crack (which occasionally it does) that's all part of the fun.

In fact, one of the things I enjoy most about this show is the way that, at the end of an action-packed, cliffhanger scene, the music rises up to a such a crescendo of suspense that it's almost impossible not to take a step back and just burst out laughing. Angel (the Buffy spinoff) often ended scenes in exactly the same way, and pulled off such moments magnificently. Arrow manages the trick almost as well. Both shows have that same ability to confront the audience with absurdity while keeping their own gaze steady and unwavering: playing it straight, never giving us that knowing wink. If we laugh, we laugh on our own. There's no canned track to accompany us.

Not that I want to give you the impression that this show is entirely "comic book". Or at least, what most people who don't read comic books would think of as "comic book". This version of Oliver Queen doesn't shoot arrows with boxing gloves on the end that knock crooks out. His arrows are razor sharp, and there are plenty of times when he is quite willing to use them to put people in the ground. There is at least enough gritty realism for that.

There are shows in the superhero genre that I encourage even friends with no pre-existing interest in the genre to watch. Shows that I believe are good enough and smart enough to convince any fundamentally open minded person that this much maligned genre can be, and sometimes is, home to intelligent, thoughtful offerings.

Arrow does not rise to that level. Not quite. I wouldn't put it in the same league as Angel. Or Justice League Unlimited for that matter. But for anyone who does already love the spandex set, I would say that this is a highly original reinvention of a long established character. One that, to its credit, is also very much aware of that character's history - most especially as a voice of social and political protest.

And hey, if you just want to watch the world's first parkour superhero run around and leap through the air a lot while he smacks down some baddies, that's fine too.

Theo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, gripping, fast paced,, 6 Aug. 2014
By 
Just finished Season 1. If you loved Batman the dark knight you will love this show (another reviewer has already written the best review too)To add from a housewife's point of view though. It is well directed and you can just sink into the show like a good book! It is gripping with twists and turns. I picked this to watch with my husband, knowing he would enjoy it, as he loves DC comics and marvel based movies. I did not expect to get hooked too, as I am more of a book worm than tv. You do not need to know the ins and outs of the comics it is based on, to enjoy this show. It has good over evil with you asking yourself are they a goodie or baddie all the way through. Great cliff hangers and a little bit of romance thrown in, but not too much to make it icky. It is fast and leaves you wanting to watch more. This is one of the best TV shows since 24 and to be honest I enjoyed it even more! Can not wait to watch season 2 and 3 hope they are making a season 4. I liked the fact it is not riddled with bad language either, just oodles of great acting, effects and story line. Loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dark Knight for tv, 28 May 2013
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Dc comics character Green Arrow gets a stylish very impressive debut season. At first i was dissapointed that this wasn't going to be a spin off of Smallville. Green Arrow had previously appeared as a supporting character on the young Superman show and had grown into a fan favourite but Arrow is a very different and darker take on the character. Spoiled playboy Oliver Queen returns home to Starling City a hero after surviving a shipwreck and being declared dead for 5 years but is disturbed to find how corrupt his home is. He turns himself into the vigilante Green Arrow using skills he had learned while shipwrecked on a mysterious island after his yacht sinks and goes after the rich, powerful and corrupt people that run the city. A very good cast, Stephen Ammell is good as Oliver Queen who quickly makes both friends and enemies with the police wanting to bring the Green Arrow down and a mysterious Dark Archer wants Green Arrow dead and is just as good and deadly with a bow and arrow as he is. Characters from Dc comics appear in the show, though minor characters that only comic book fans will recognize. A very strong pilot episode gets you hooked and there are twists and turns throughout leading to an excellent and gripping season finale. This is a better show than the fun but flawed Smallville.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very watchable, 12 April 2014
This review is from: Arrow (DVD)
Given that it's based on a comic book character and that the episodes are only 40 minutes long then it's OK that they defeat each bad guy on the list quickly and easily. The longer story arcs develop quite nicely and the characters fit in well with the various interwoven plots. The season ends on a cliffhanger and leaves the viewer wanting more. Very watchable light entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 12 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm very surprised that this series is rated 15. My 13 year old daughter and I watch it very happily and I'm very fussy about what she watches. There's no swearing, no sex and no real violence (it's all off screen or implied or people being shot with arrows, but not gruesome). Compared to stuff on TV which seems directed at youngsters I'd say this was very, very innocent. Also, it has such a good message for kids: good can win out over evil if you're willing to stand up and be counted.
It's a very well produced series. The acting is spot on and it doesn't take itself too seriously. Really good family entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Plot Twists and Action Packed!, 22 Mar. 2013
By 
A. C. Benjamin (Amsterdam, NL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Unlike many new series, Arrow does not let you down after the pilot, but builds the characters, plot and back story brilliantly. Okay, every now and then there is a cheesy bit, but those bits can be forgiven by the overall quality of the production. Stephen Amell is particularly good and believable, and carries the series well. Many of the cast members are really good quality actors, although a couple of the main character actors I would replace. Particularly the actor who plays the sister of Oliver I find weak, but so far, just a minor annoyance (just as the rat-rug Stephen has to wear in the flashbacks).

Here in Europe, we're further behind in the series than in North America, but I find it so exciting to watch, I can't wait for the next episode so I've been watching bits and pieces on Youtube.
Fortunately, the broadcaster here in the Netherlands sends out each episode twice - first on Sunday evening, and then again late night Wednesday. Second time round you see more of what's going on, because it's so fast paced, somethings get missed the first time.

I'm really looking forward to getting the series on DVD! There is already a second series contracted - yay!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is Arrow Worth Your Time and Money?, 18 May 2013
Yes and yes. This is quite honestly up there with the great shows of the past 10 years. It is gripping and very entertaining, and surprisingly believable which is rare for a comic book TV show. It takes a lot of inspiration from Christopher Nolan's Batman trilogy, that being its one hero fighting to save a city full of crime. For the most part there is a new story each week, but most follow the overall story arc of the series, and builds up to a truly epic climax. The first few episodes are enough to keep you entertained but are not enough to keep you wanting more, but that doesn't last long, about 4 episodes in I was eagerly awaiting the next, then the next and so on, and none disappointed me. That's what I want from a TV show and Arrow delivered it perfectly.

My opinion is If you like Batman Begins, The Dark Knight or The Dark Knight Rises you should give Arrow a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arrow hits the Target, A superb first series, 28 Sept. 2013
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Trivia.
1)Kate Cassidy is the Daughter of Singer/Actor David Cassidy.
2)Kate Cassidy also appeared in the recent A Nightmare On Elm Street Remake.
3)John Barrowman was Captain Jack Harkness in Doctor Who & it's spin off series Torchwood.
4)Kelly Hu first movie appearance was in Friday the 13th Part 8 Jason Takes Manhattan other movie credits are The Scorpion King & X-Men 2 as Lady Deathstrike.

Review.
This series is one of the most entertainingly enjoyable series I've watched in years.

From the opening episode with the rescue of Oliver Queen from a shipwrecked island to him being found & rescued& returned home 5 years later, But was the ship sinking a accident or was somebody behind it?, Is there a mystery to the Queen family???, Whats the mystery with Oliver's dads Robert Queens diary???.

The flashbacks are great they are not confusing & they add a layer of mystery & intrigue to the story's arc, We see a spoilted playboy rich kid over the course of the series left stranded on a island but slowly starts to change his morals & ethics becoming a man whom after 5 years is rescued & returns to Starling City, A man now with a new moral code of ethics & a goal to right his father Robert Queens wrongs, To protect the city as Arrow a Emerald Archer with great skills of archery & athleticism.

The cast are exellent, Stephen Amell is just outstanding & perfect casting as Arrow instantly making the role his own, I like how in flashbacks we see this unlikable character that somehow Amell makes likeable, To the different personality of a changed man with a code of morals & ethics.

Stephen Amell is so good as Oliver Queen that i completely forgot about Justin Hartley's version in Smallville.

Supporting cast do well too, What surprised me the most was how good John Barrowman was in this as Malcom Merlyn he really is quite sinister & mysterious yet likeable & charming, But what hold does he have over the Queen family especially Olivers mother Moira?? Played by Susanna Thompson whom has also appeared in Star Trek Voyager as The Borg Queen.

Colin Salmon does well as Walter, Moiras second husband whom senses all isn't right in the Queen empire & eventually goes missing???.

Willa Holland plays Oliver's troubled vunerble sister Thea, Whom brothers return is a welcome but shocking return for her to cope with.

David Ramsey as bodyguard John Diggle who eventually helps Oliver on his quest is a Alfred type role to Oliver, Diggle the one who can keep him on the right side of wrong who Oliver respects & trusts. Also helping Oliver on his quest is Felicity Smoak played by the beautiful Emily Bett Rickards who's the computer whizz who aids Oliver when Oliver's stepfather Walter disappears.

Rounding out the cast is Kate Cassidy as Laurel Lance, Queens ex girlfriend who blames Oliver for her sisters death as he was having a affair with her sister aboard the ship when it was capsized by a storm (or was it??).

Colin Donnell stars as Tommy Merlyn, Oliver's best friend & son of Malcolm Merlyn, Tommy a bit of a playboy like Oliver was & starts a relationship with Laurel is there a connection between the two familes???.

Paul Blackthorne plays Quentin Lance Laurens father & a detective in Starling City who has issues over his other daughters death Sara & is constantly suspicious of the Queens family's motives.

The episodes expand on character development as the show goes along little by little we learn a bit more backstory or a plot twist in the present yet the storys thread isn't complicated or confusing like Lost was, The flashbacks to the island add to the drama & are crucial to the plot development.o

The action scenes are expertly executed they are on par with any comic book movie you may of seen recently the fight scenes have a brutality to them & many villians get a Arrow though them, Theres no cutaways with the violence the series delivers film quailty production all the way throughout the season.

Another mystery in Arrow is who's the Dark Archer with the same skills as Oliver doing in Starling City & what is his agenda & motives???.

The villians are excellently portrayed nothing is black & white in this series as all the characters seem to have interesting story arcs.

This has become must watch tv for me and yet another example of tv becoming more entertaining than the movies, A superb first season & definitely recommended to fans & non-fans, Great storytelling,Intriguing plot twists & a exellent Stephen Amell in the lead role makes this one the best tv shows I've seen in years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews