Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars27
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 25 March 2014
Alexandre Desplat is a frequent collaborator with Wes Anderson, and he does not disappoint here, as it is intrinsicall part of the whole movie experience. Due to the rather idiosyncratic nature Anderson's work he requires an OST that will enhance his individualistic style and I believe that Alexandre Desplat delivers a signature sound track that does it job and then some. This then is exemplified by orchestral elements with keyboard instruments and ambient hums, weaving together eclectic variations of a few melodic themes. Then add influences of eastern European folk music and you have classic must have OST.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2014
Another delightful Wes Anderson soundtrack, well worth the purchase. A combination of French and Balkan influences with a hint of Vivaldi makes this a fantastic soundtrack in its own right, elevating what was an already fantastic film to 'best film of the year' territory.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2014
Love this soundtrack to such a fabulous movie! Quite traditional and quirky sounding but that's what I like. Alexandre Desplat's work is wonderful. I already own several other soundtracks of his and he knows how to capture the essence of each film he composes for. By far this has to be my favourite soundtrack of his so far!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
Very original, unique and evocative. Fantastic soundtrack that really fits the visuals and story. Listening to this brings all the images from the wonderful film to mind. Strongly reccommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2014
This was cheaper to buy hard copy, and at least old fashioned husband can actually play it in the car!
Saw the movie, and found the music entertaining, and the cd doesn't disappoint.
Has a recognisable style as by same person who did Monuments Men I think.
Only problem is my teenage daughter had it on a loop while revising, and you can have too much of a good thing.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2015
Bought this before seeing the film having heard a snippet on Classic FM. It certainly didn't disappoint.. as quirky as I am expecting the film to be...as an amateur musician I found it not only different, delightful and evocatively but intriguing on a compositional level. Love listening to the different levels/lines taking place in many of the pieces.took a few plays to get used to the fact that there were 32 little (short) tracks and some abrupt halts.. but I suspect when I see the Film it will all make sense. Many of the tracks are humourous and always bring a smile and this is one of the very few CD's that I have ever played daily for so long- addictive almost.. Clever and cheering. No wonder it won.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2015
The best use of dulcimers since The Third Man, this score is lost beneath the endless pastels of Wes Anderson's psychedelic vision. Heard in isolation, though, it's a real revelatory delight. Recommended for anyone with any interest in traditional folk music, but especially for those classical music aficionados who occasionally indulge in the folky stuff. It's really rather brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2014
The film was wonderful and I enjoyed it, the sound track is well worth having.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2015
Desplat's most elaborate, quirky, ingeniously orchestrated and performed score, a joyful and humorous masterpiece that blends perfectly with the source music while retaining its very distinctive musical identity !!! GODZILLA, THE IMITATION GAME & THE GRAND BUDAPEST HOTEL the perfect Desplat sounds of 2014 !!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2015
Wonderful soundtrack, just makes me smile, you have to love the film to really appreciate it. Wes Anderson does everything to perfection, the devil is in the detail so the soundtracks to all his films are always truly wonderful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)