Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read
Wow, Mr Nuttall just gets better with every new book in this series. I am hooked. This new episode in the Empire Corps set is full of action which is both realistic and thought provoking. He is fully aware of the logistics and political side to any conflict and by marrying this into the story makes for better reading than a lot of sci fi battle stories which focus on...
Published 9 months ago by Mr. G. D. Cheal

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow build up but good towards the end
Very slow to start, found hard to read unlike the other . Novels. Love the authors other books not sure on this flowing Thu one through................. worth the read if just starting out long read for me tho
Published 8 months ago by richard Robinson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 3 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. G. D. Cheal (Crawley, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Retreat Hell (The Empire's Corps Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
Wow, Mr Nuttall just gets better with every new book in this series. I am hooked. This new episode in the Empire Corps set is full of action which is both realistic and thought provoking. He is fully aware of the logistics and political side to any conflict and by marrying this into the story makes for better reading than a lot of sci fi battle stories which focus on unbelievable action and techno babble. For fans who have read the other books it is a great culmination of events from the other episodes. This probably would not be nearly as good as a stand alone book (unlike some of the others in the series which could be read without too much prior knowledge) It is great to be back with the Commonwealth and some favourite characters have returned. Again the characters seem real and you can't help but feel for them, whether it's liking them or hating them. I am looking forward to reading more about Pete...I can't wait to read the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Three woofs on the aardvark fanciers guide. A real hum dinger with a real kick in the teeth at the end., 19 Aug 2014
By 
S. Pentney "The Scribe" (The English Riviera) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Retreat Hell (The Empire's Corps Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
Woof Woof. Another strong story continuing the saga across light years. Even as you read, you want to run outside and savage a cuddly toy. It is engrossing and the last few pages give you a kick in the teeth so unexpected your faith in humanity stalls. Can it get much worse? Can I stand reading it? Only time will tell. Even if I never shed this white coat, even if I have to have canine psychologists picking over my dog biscuits for the rest of my life, I fear I will not be able to refuse book nine. Go on, shatter your mental health and read this saga. A definite continuance of three woofs on the aardvark fanciers guide. Woof woof!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mr R, 30 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Retreat Hell (The Empire's Corps Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
When I first started this book l didn't rate it much, but l carried on with it and the story got better.

I am looking forward to reading the second half of the story. It's worth a try, if you like the other Nuttall books you'll like this one. Now, let me find and download the concluding book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Looks like we're into something big!, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Retreat Hell (The Empire's Corps Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
Yet another intriguing war scenario developing where our heroes are seemingly overcome by events beyond their control. Well written threads of interweaving lives of individuals that affect each other's activities-many left in the air to enjoy their progress in the next episode! Keep them coming Mr. Nuttall!
Harast
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Slow build up but good towards the end, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Retreat Hell (The Empire's Corps Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
Very slow to start, found hard to read unlike the other . Novels. Love the authors other books not sure on this flowing Thu one through................. worth the read if just starting out long read for me tho
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars its a great series, 14 April 2014
By 
M. L. Ajinkya - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Retreat Hell (The Empire's Corps Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
you really get to the point of wanting to read more & more, & get involved in the character's adventures
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not His Best, 11 April 2014
By 
J. N. Bullock "JNB" (Northumberland, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Retreat Hell (The Empire's Corps Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
Christopher Nuttall is one of those writers that can turn out an excellent, captivating, page turner or something that is a repetitious drag. Retreat Hell the 8th Empire Corps book is closer the latter than the former.

The plot is not too far removed from the previous book with our heros sent to help a colony world that is suffering an insurrection but unknown to them the insurrection is back by another star nation as a prelude to invasion. Alas our heros seem to do little right and much wrong while there enemies can to do nothing wrong leading of course to disaster.

Sorry this one was not for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Retreat Hell (The Empire's Corps Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
Very good, would like to read more of this series. Keep them coming like this and I will buy them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another piece of good writing, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Retreat Hell (The Empire's Corps Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
Well like the book says, "Retreat Hell" I got to see this all way to the end. A story woven together with skills and imagination. I can see a lot of the current state of society in the story, where 1% of Humanity is holding on to power and resources with total contempt for the need of the rest of humanity. Well done Mr Nuttal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the saga continues, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Retreat Hell (The Empire's Corps Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
Keeps on entertaining! The jump from chaos of ground war to the time lapse issues of interstellar war are well scripted. Looking forward to the next instalments to keep me occupied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Retreat Hell (The Empire's Corps Book 8)
£2.41
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews