Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Muppets... Again!
This film had big shoes to fill. The Muppets, its predecessor, was the perfect Muppet movie. It was nostalgic but fresh, familiar but surprising, filled with inventiveness and a genuine love of the characters.

In light of this, it was almost impossible that the follow-up wouldn't be in some way disappointing. Alarm bells rang for fans when we saw that Jason...
Published 4 months ago by David Morgan

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Damned with faint praise
Version I saw: UK cinema release
Actors: 6/10
Plot/script: 6/10
Photography/visual style: 6/10
Music/score: 7/10
Overall: 6/10
The record of Muppet movies is a highly variable one. Some of them, such as the Muppet Movie and The Muppet Christmas Carol, are rightly considered classics of family entertainment, while others fall flat. Muppets...
Published 13 days ago by Mr. R. A. Thompson


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Muppets... Again!, 17 Aug 2014
By 
David Morgan "mask_and_mirror" (Cardiff, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Muppets Most Wanted [DVD] (DVD)
This film had big shoes to fill. The Muppets, its predecessor, was the perfect Muppet movie. It was nostalgic but fresh, familiar but surprising, filled with inventiveness and a genuine love of the characters.

In light of this, it was almost impossible that the follow-up wouldn't be in some way disappointing. Alarm bells rang for fans when we saw that Jason Segel was not going to be present in any capacity. We also knew that the story had to be something new; the bringing-the-muppets-back-together formula wouldn't cut it a second time in a row. However, in the face of overwhelming odds and expectations, the director, cast and crew managed the incredible feat of making a film nearly as good.

And in this case nearly as good is good enough. This is in every sense a classic Muppet movie, and though the jewel-theif caper theme isn't new, the villains and settings are bold choices which create opportunities for fantastic comedy moments with the characters, old and new alike.

There is no Oscar Winning song here, but they are all very catchy and funny. Brett Mackenzie has turned out to be the perfect songwriter for the Muppets, and I hope his talents will return in future films.

The interplay of Sam the Eagle (who plays a CIA agent here) and his Clouseau-esque Interpol rival is particularly amusing and their song is my favourite. I wish they had used the full-length soundtrack version in the movie, which sadly omits a verse. I don't normally buy film soundtracks, but the Muppet movie ones are worth it.

So, for fans, don't expect the constant joy and emotion of the previous film. But this is still a five-star movie. If the next is half as good as this, I'll still be pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Family Movie, a Delight for Children (and Adults) of All Ages, 4 Oct 2014
By 
William Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Muppets Most Wanted [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is a superb and highly enjoyable family film. As a boy in the 1970's, I loved The Muppet Show. As a man aged in his 40's, I've been a big fan of the comedy of Ricky Gervais. However, I've never watched any of the Muppet movies.
When my 12 year old daughter persuaded me to buy this DVD, I was a bit sceptical, but I'm glad that I did.
It's the best family film I've seen this year, apart from, perhaps, Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes - Dawn of the Planet of the Apes [Blu-ray + UV Copy] .
Ricky Gervais plays Dominic BadGuy, ostensibly a tour promoter, but in reality, the right hand man of Constantine, the World's master criminal. Constantine is a frog, Kermit's doppelgänger, languishing in a Siberian gulag. Dominic persuades the Muppets to make a comeback, by going on a tour of theatres in Europe.
Constantine escapes from the gulag, and frames Kermit so that he finds himself imprisoned in the remote Siberian prison. The criminals then use the Muppets tour as a cover for their thefts of artwork from a museum and priceless artefacts held in bank vaults. The film is interspersed with absolutely wonderful song and dance routines, even Ricky gets into the act and proves that he can sing and dance (we already knew he could "dance" from his infamous routine in The Office - The Office 10th Anniversary Edition - Complete Series 1 & 2 and the Christmas Specials [DVD] ).
The script is unfailingly witty, with one or two slightly more risqué (but delicately referenced) jokes, for the benefit of adult viewers. The strength of the script, and the affectionately drawn characters of the Muppets, mean that the film has only a peripheral need for CGI.
The cinematography is lavish, with a lovely use of colour which is on a par with an Austen Powers movie - ( Austin Powers - International Man of Mystery [DVD] [1997] ). Dudley and Constantine carry out their robberies in Berlin, Madrid and Dublin, pursued by an indolent, bungling, Inspector Clouseau type French detective. Ultimately, the criminals want to heist the Crown Jewels from the Tower Of London, and as a cover, they arrange a wedding for Miss Piggy and Constantine to take place at The Tower.
As I watched this smashing film, I very fondly remembered the old Muppets TV show, which I'd watch each week back in the late 1970's.
All the old favourites are here, including Kermit, Fozzie Bear, Miss Piggy, Animal, the Swedish Chef, and Waldorf and Stadler. Numerous celebrities make fleeting appearances, including Ray Liotta, Salma Hayek, Stanley Tucci, Danny Trejo, Celine Dion, Tony Bennett and James McAvoy.
Both my daughter and I were hooked from the opening scene to the closing credits. If you're looking for a wonderful, perfectly executed family film, either for your own family, or for somebody else, this is an exceedingly good choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable and feel good movie, 11 April 2014
By 
Mr. P. Datta "Pritthijit" (Stockton on Tees, Teesside) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Muppets Most Wanted [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Since a child, I share fond memories of the Muppets. I enjoy watching the Muppets as a 35 years old. The Muppets: Most Wanted is an entertaining and feel good movie. I am a huge fan of the Muppets..The Muppet Movie 1979 and Muppets Manhattan are few of my favourite films in the series. I still enjoyed the new release.

The plot is about an evil frog known as Clonstantine. He replaces Kermit with the intention of framing the Muppets through a series of crimes. Ricky Gervais plays a key role. I will not comment on the significance of his role, as it would act as a spoiler. I tend not to add spoilers in my reviews. The innocent Kermit ends up in a Siberian prison in place of the evil frog. Poor Kermit misses out on an European tour of the Muppets, as it not the same without his presence. Kermit hilariously entetains prision inmates and is chased by a mad Russian prison guard. Do the vulnerable muppets realise that Kermit is a fake? Will Kermit clear his name? There are plenty of laughs and musicals. The musicals are cheesy and catchy. The personality of the muppets steal the show. The Muppets are known for creating chaos and show their own distinctive personality. The original muppets are featured such as Gonzo, Frozzie, Rolf, Animal, Scooter, Miss Piggy and so on. The nostalgic days are relieved through the musical shows. It feels good watching these moments.

Muppets: Most Wanted is great family entertainment film. Disney has added a new dimension to the franchise, since acquiring the exclusive rights. It is a popcorn film to enjoy. I would recommend the movie, if you are a fan of the muppets and love a good feel good movie. Great nostalgic memories. Thanks for bringing the muppets to the present day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Damned with faint praise, 8 Dec 2014
By 
This review is from: Muppets Most Wanted [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Version I saw: UK cinema release
Actors: 6/10
Plot/script: 6/10
Photography/visual style: 6/10
Music/score: 7/10
Overall: 6/10
The record of Muppet movies is a highly variable one. Some of them, such as the Muppet Movie and The Muppet Christmas Carol, are rightly considered classics of family entertainment, while others fall flat. Muppets Most Wanted in particular comes off the back of a very strong competitor, 2011's comeback hit The Muppets.
Most of the behind-camera team are the same, including director, writer and the Oscar-winning composer of the songs, Bret McKenzie. In fact, there is actually a strong Flight of the Conchords connection running through the film. In front of the camera, the Muppets are of course the same, but the human cast have been completely turned around.
Muppet productions have always been big on celebrities in large and small roles. Why do they seem to punch above their weight so consistently? I suppose it's just that stars feel the same affection for these characters as we do. Muppets Most Wanted really takes it to the limit though, with so many recognizable names and faces that some get more time in the end credits than within the film.
There are several good songs in there too. Songs haven't always been part of the Muppet formula, but when they have, they usually go down well. I have a lot of time for McKenzie, and it seems he hasn't lost his touch. The comedy is good too: I am always amazed at their ability to deliver a bad joke, tell you it's a bad joke, and make it funnier than a good joke.
So why didn't I enjoy it more? The plot is not great, but Muppet plots are generally not up to much, generally existing as little more than a hook to hang those gags and celebrity cameos on, with a bit of lesson-learning and heart-warming reconciliation at the end.
I think, when it comes down to it, MMW's failure is that it could not live up to it's predecessor. The Muppets was funnier, had better songs... and above all, had real heart. The relationship between Gary (Jason Segel), Mary (Amy Adams) and Walter (Peter Linz) had real life and affection to it, but without the other two, Walter just isn't that interesting a character.
The film is really not bad at all, and way better than its critics would have you believe, but there is really not much I can say about it that can't be followed by "but The Muppets was better". It doesn't just sound like damning with faint praise, it is the very textbook definition of damning with faint praise.
For my full review, see my independent film review blog on Blogger, Cinema Inferno: http://cinemainferno-blog.blogspot.co.uk/2014/12/muppets-most-wanted-2014.html
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Goodnight Danny Trejo...., 7 May 2014
This review is from: Muppets Most Wanted [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Kermit and his friends are approached by Dominic Badguy to go on a world tour. But this is all part of the sinister plan of Constantine, the world's most evil frog, to become the greatest thief of all time.

After making sure that Kermit is jailed, Constantine impersonates him as cover for his scheme.

While Sam the Eagle and Inspector Napoleon investigate, the Muppets find that Kermit has changed.

Only when Walter, Fozzie and Animal realise the truth, is there a chance to prevent Constantine from pulling off the crime of the century......

Muppets Most Wanted is a delightful movie from beginning to end, harking right back to the original TV series that started it all, and the musical numbers are much better this time, than the 2011 reboot.

Songs like The Big House, are toe tapping wonders of genius, and I've not laughed out loud at a film for a long time.

Gervais is good as the main erm, Badguy, and he handles somebody else's material really well, even though he does manage to get in his David Brent dance into the movie.

Fey is also good, her accent intentionally dodgy, and the scenes in the prison are some of the funniest the film has to offer,thanks to Clement, Trejo, and Liotta.

It's not big on narrative, but it does have a sound story, and some Muppet's get a little sidelined in this, Gonzo having really little screen time.

All in all, it's The Muppets, and if your a fan, you will find something here to enjoy, its a proper family film, and one that's worth seeing you.

Great cameos too...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EVILEN FROGEN,, 6 April 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Muppets Most Wanted [DVD] (DVD)
Another Muppet film, so you know what to expect. Corny jokes, song and dance, and spoofs of otherr films. In this film Constantine utilizes a Mission Impossible escape and replaces Kermit with the goal of doing "Pink Panther" type of crimes.

Where else are you going to see Danny Trejo and Ray Liotta perform a song and dance in their long johns? Tina Fey looked like she was having fun in her role as a prison warden. Of course they are Muppets so there are tons of cameo roles for established stars.

Good popcorn fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The music as always was brilliant and there was some very funny moments, 28 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The music as always was brilliant and there was some very funny moments. Its worth a watch. However the film didn't flow well and felt a bit jerky. Also far too many appearances of celebs. They took away from the film in the end and by the end I was groaning if another one showed their face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I've loved the muppets for years and was worried this film ..., 16 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Muppets Most Wanted [DVD] (DVD)
I've loved the muppets for years and was worried this film wouldn't live up to the 'the muppets (movie)" however I am pleasantly surprised!
The sorry line is fantastic, the songs are catchy (you can't help but sing them!!) and the characters are funny! Beat muppet movie ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My boys and I loved this at the cinema, 1 Nov 2014
This review is from: Muppets Most Wanted [DVD] (DVD)
My boys and I loved this at the cinema, and we now continue to enjoy it at home. A bit naughty sense of humour and Kermit in peril might scare toddlers but otherwise great fun for young and old (especially if like me you grew up with the muppets!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you like the Muppets you will love this it was funny ..., 16 Sep 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Muppets Most Wanted [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
If you like the Muppets you will love this it was funny and just up to there usual standard. The story was good so if you have always liked the muppets you will enjoy it if you are not a muppet fan well stick to what you like.
Really good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Muppets Most Wanted [Blu-ray]
Muppets Most Wanted [Blu-ray] by Ricky Gervais (Blu-ray - 2014)
£11.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews