Customer Reviews


953 Reviews
5 star:
 (496)
4 star:
 (219)
3 star:
 (91)
2 star:
 (66)
1 star:
 (81)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Visualises the Divergent world well
This is a good, if simplified, screen version of the original book. The film does an excellent job of visualising the world of this trilogy: the ruins of Chicago, the Dauntless headquarters. Unfortunately, despite the 2 hours+ running time, the characters are only sketched in: Triss and Four are suitably pretty but Four, especially, lacks the hardness of the book. The...
Published 1 month ago by Roman Clodia

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ... is well presented in the opening scenes with some nice CGI. Unfortunately interest is only maintained for the ...
The concept of a future world centred on Chicago where people are divided into factions according to their personality is well presented in the opening scenes with some nice CGI. Unfortunately interest is only maintained for the first 20 minutes. The storyline gradually becomes erratic as does the script and the characters lose their credibility. The film urns into just...
Published 11 days ago by Quantum Mechanic


‹ Previous | 1 296 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Visualises the Divergent world well, 22 Feb. 2015
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Divergent (Amazon Instant Video)
This is a good, if simplified, screen version of the original book. The film does an excellent job of visualising the world of this trilogy: the ruins of Chicago, the Dauntless headquarters. Unfortunately, despite the 2 hours+ running time, the characters are only sketched in: Triss and Four are suitably pretty but Four, especially, lacks the hardness of the book. The other Dauntless initiates Peter, Al and Will barely exist as characters, and even Christina has little more than a walk-on part.

Despite that, though, I liked the energy of the film and the chemistry between Triss and Four. If you've loved the books then this is definitely worth watching - if you haven't, then this film version doesn't do justice to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm Divergent, 12 Oct. 2014
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Divergent [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this film even though it is probably aimed at a young audience. I identified with the chief protagonist,Tris, whose individuality renders her unable to fit into any of the five factions that make up a futuristic ,dystopian Chicago society. She is a Divergent, someone who cannot be pigeon holed into one category by the ruling elite. They see such types as dangerous ,unpredictable and a threat to social cohesion and they are hunted down and killed. Tris hides her secret and joins the daring ,warrior faction Dauntless.The film follows her progress as she undergoes a difficult training programme ,falls in love and tries to avoid detection. However in the background, one faction tries to usurp the governing role of another and this threatens Tris's family and the protective role of her Dauntless faction. Can she avoid detection and use her multi faceted skills to save the day ? "Divergent" is an exciting,imaginative film and is a critique of bad minded ruling elites desires to crush individuality and homogenise society into manageable ,ignorant little units. There's plenty of action,suspense and romance in this highly entertaining film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable stylish teen dystopia despite flaws., 20 Mar. 2015
By 
FallenGrace (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Divergent (Amazon Instant Video)
Divergent is actually based on the first of a series of Novels written by Veronica Roth, (I have yet to read them). They have a lot in common with the recent Hunger Games films (which I haven't seen, but have read). Having not read the books I passed on the film originally but as it's on Prime I gave it a go.

The film is set after an unspecified war which seems to have leveled earth and society as we know it. Chicago has been turned into a giant walled city to protect against unspecified dangers. The city government is split into five groups each representing a human trait, (honesty, intelligence, peace, courage, selflessness) each member goes through a test to deem which faction they are in to continue society, if you don't pass the test you become factionless, a form of homeless.

This entire set up and test is ridicuous. It implies that people only have one trait of strength, and if they don't fit they are completely useless and given nothing to do, even manual labour? How does that possibly work?

At 16 children take the faction test to see where they belong, faction before family. Beatrice Prior (Shailene Woodley) gets an incredibly rare result, she has qualities of every faction (like normal people?) Making her a Divergent. Divergents are feared and hunted which is also never explained forcing Beatrice to hide what she is.

Hiding among Dauntless, the faction of courage which are essentially the city's soldiers, Beatrice is helped by Four (Theo James), a Dauntless member who knows who she is before they uncover a plot which could both destroy the city and endanger Beatrice's parents.

The story is full of holes and unexplained threads but despite that I rather enjoyed it. The training sessions where she learns to fight and go through test simulations are pretty action filled and the entire film has a pretty nice artistic flair to it. The acting is pretty decent with some likeable and unlikeable (intentionally) characters throughout.

Overall I didn't expect to enjoy this very much and came out pleasantly surprised. It's not a film I would really bother watching again but I think it's worth it if you're into this genre. I may have to give the book series a try.

Recommended if you can look past the large plot holes.

+ Some nice action scenes.
+ Training and simulation scenes are fun.
+ Great art style.

- Faction government makes no sense.
- Quite a lot of unexplained plot threads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, But I can see why you might not think so, 13 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Divergent (Amazon Instant Video)
I figured that I would try my best to write a fairly non-bias review of this movie without actually revealing much of the plot for those who do decide to sit down and watch it. I personally enjoyed it, but I can see why others might not, or might expect something different from the film. I also do not watch films of this genre very often and as such cannot make comparisons to other films which others seem to compare it to.

Firstly, I've seen a lot of other people complain that the film burns slowly or is just downright dull, but I think that is much more to do with the perspective your watching it from than the actual content.
Yes, if you read "Action-Adventure" and immediately clicked on the film, you will be quite disappointed as although there is a fair amount of action sequences it does take time to build to that point. One thing that did stand out to me rather nicely from the action point of view however is the lack (or maybe, concise nature) of monologuing to buy time and instead, people actually seem to shoot, which I found a rather pleasant change.
However, if you are someone who has read the books (*disclaimer* I have not) or someone who maybe likes a bit more plot and a bit less action, the film actually delivers surprisingly well. The plot unfolds at a decent rate in my opinion, and any condensation of this would of killed the appeal that the film did have for me. Again, as mentioned the faction system in place by the government seems a bit extreme, but you can see where its coming from at least, and the plot line whilst being fairly linear does have some slightly unexpected moments.

For something that is supposed to be aimed at a YA audience (only something I discovered watching/having watched the film) the romantic aspect isn't overplayed very much and the film actually steps away from some of the traditional prioritisation of a loved one in dangerous circumstances.

Lastly, there is a fair amount of pretty decent CGI, and a few not so well crafted sweeping shots but they mainly come at the start so the immersion is not ruined half way through the movie, which is always a plus.

TL;DR
+ Slow but interesting plot narrative which is only mildly linear
+ Good character development (Although book readers may disagree)
+ Good action sequences

- Action sequences are a bit few and far between
- Fairly predictable protagonist (but not enough to deserve any less than 4 stars in my opinion)
- Some dodgy CGI at the beginning of the movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ... is well presented in the opening scenes with some nice CGI. Unfortunately interest is only maintained for the ..., 7 April 2015
By 
Quantum Mechanic (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Divergent (Amazon Instant Video)
The concept of a future world centred on Chicago where people are divided into factions according to their personality is well presented in the opening scenes with some nice CGI. Unfortunately interest is only maintained for the first 20 minutes. The storyline gradually becomes erratic as does the script and the characters lose their credibility. The film urns into just another mediocre 'shoot em up' hollywood sci-fi film. Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Held Back by Business, 26 Jan. 2015
By 
bizmandan (staffordshire, england) - See all my reviews
Ok, let’s address the elephant in the room, Divergent was made purely to ride the coat tales of the massively successful Hunger Games franchise, a fact that would make most people apprehensive at the least. Who wants to watch the poor mans Hunger Games when you can just watch the actual Hunger Games? Well I can honestly tell you that the concept and characters are original and compelling enough for this film to be enjoyed without comparison to the afore mentioned franchise, that’s not to say that Divergent is better than Hunger Games, it’s just, Different.

From the get go I found this film drawing me in with its notion, Chicago, post a non-descript war, that has made the surrounding areas uninhabitable, found the only way to live peacefully is to divide society into several factions. There's Dauntless, the brave warriors; Amity, peaceful farmers; Candor, truth tellers; Erudite, the brainy; and Abnegation, the selfless. Teenagers take a test to determine which faction suits them best, but they are still free to choose what faction they would like to live their life in, those who don’t fit in any of the groups become the factionless, and live life out in squalor and poverty. Each of the five factions help balance with the other four and thus society carries on peacefully with stability. The reason the film drew me in straight away is that I found myself thinking, “that is actually a great way of doing things, I wonder if that would work in real life?” this is actually a weird line of thinking for a future dystopian film to provoke, so straight away, I had to give the story, or at least the concept, top marks. But we already knew that this film would provide us with an interesting story as it so proudly displays in the opening credits “Based on the book by Veronica Roth”.

All of the back story of this particular literally universe is skimmed over within the first twenty minutes of the film and that is a hell of a lot of back story to fit into less than half an hour, this results in the world that Divergent is set in being a little ambiguous, that is not a bad thing in itself, but when you are aware that this story is based on a trilogy of books, just like the previously mentioned Hunger Games and the unfathomably successful Twilight series,
How twilight should have ended
you can almost hear the Hollywood executives rubbing their hands together in greedy glee and you realise why so much is being held back; there has to be enough story to fill another three films after this one!

Although the realisation that this story will not reach its conclusion until at least 2017 is annoying to say the least, the addition of Shailene Woodley as the lead in this franchise makes it all so much more bareable. She is absolutely wonderful as Tris, our protagonist, she is able to kick ass, be believably smart and is a plausible teenager despite being in her early twenties at the time of this being filmed. Tris decides to become Dauntless, and much of the film consists of her training to become part of that faction. For a good proportion of the film nothing really happens apart from Tris’ score going up and down on a leader board, something that sounds completely mundane, I know, but Woodley keeps us engaged and interested in what her character is going through, and she should be commended for her part in this film.

Because of the solid lead that Woodley provides, director Neil Burger manages to keep the film as interesting as it can be, without accidently pointing out the blatant missing pieces of the story too much. The director, cinematographer, production designer, costumer designer and CGI artists all combine to give the film a great dystopian/utopian look, an oxymoron in visuals, if you will. It’s a production choice that I like a lot, it tells a story on its own, just by looking at this production you can tell that these people went through some sort of tragedy, but are working recovery. It’s a subtle aspect to the film but it’s one that I really appreciated.

What lets Divergent down is the issues I have already addressed, although this seems like and original and interesting story, Divergent is essentially the foundations for what, Hollywood hopes, is another multimillion dollar cash cow franchise. If this world that Veronica Roth created was allowed to reach its full potential without hindrance by big business I feel like this film could have been something truly great for the ages, instead it is something that is just adequate. Maybe my opinion will change when the inevitable sequels come my way. But for now i will say this is a perfectly good film, on its own with a strong, intelligent, brilliantly played female lead, awesome visuals and great action to be enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars but decent enough dystopian sci-fi action to provide a couple of hours' entertainment (I actually liked it a little better than, 7 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Divergent (Amazon Instant Video)
Definitely pitched towards a Hunger Games audience, but decent enough dystopian sci-fi action to provide a couple of hours' entertainment (I actually liked it a little better than all that aimless running around in woods).

I'm fairly sure I've seen most of it before in various other films or series, but it was put together convincingly and paced well enough to keep me watching. Three stars because 7/10 rounded down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast-paced, futuristic action film, 21 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Divergent (Blu-ray)
Was surprised at how much I enjoyed this, as I had wondered if it would come across like a poor copy of the Hunger Games. While the lead is no Jennifer Lawrence - and the plot is not exactly deep - it's a fast paced film that really keeps you watching. Also liked the soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sadly lacking, 3 Feb. 2015
By 
Steve B (Northumberland, UK) - See all my reviews
I loved the book that this film is based upon, but feel that the film is a very poor relation. So much of the book is about character interactions with the other 'Initiates' and how Tris develops as a person through these, but in the film you're barely even aware that the others have names, never mind characters!

There are other aspects where it fails, such as:

"Whoops, someone very close (won't add a spoiler) just got killed, and so onto the next scene" - Hello - major trauma just skipped over!

"I'm terrified of heights, so let's just walk casually from the middle of this narrow bridge to the building it's connected to" - totally unreal.

There were some bright spots - another death was handled so totally differently and I actually felt some solid emotion coming through which was a delightful breath of fresh air from the film. However, most of the film was emotionally flat in my opinion.

I really wanted to enjoy this movie after reading the book, but try as I could I found it flat and dull. :(

I'm sure some will truly enjoy this movie adaptation, but sadly I'm not one of them. I expect I'll watch the others but I'll not be holding my breath waiting for them to come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very typical Hollywood formulaic teen-take on a post-apocalyptic world, 4 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Divergent (Amazon Instant Video)
I wanted to enjoy this film, but as others have commented it’s an old story retold. It is not bad, but just a very typical Hollywood formulaic teen-take on a post-apocalyptic world. The other thing that was clear was that it has been written with the prospect of a sequel. Again, nothing wrong with that except that for me this film didn’t seem complete, and more like an episode from a US mini-series rather than a complete film.
In summary, somewhat disappointing rather than being bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 296 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Divergent [DVD] [2014]
Divergent [DVD] [2014] by Neil Burger (DVD - 2014)
£4.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews