Customer Reviews


389 Reviews
5 star:
 (192)
4 star:
 (91)
3 star:
 (38)
2 star:
 (29)
1 star:
 (39)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book adaptation.
I really enjoyed this movie based on the very popular YA novels by Veronica Roth, it provided everything I enjoyed so much in the books. This could be the new teen movie franchise with a fantastic cast, great customs and amazing story. I would recommend this film to anyone who loves action, romance and YA themes.
This movie stayed as true to the book as it could...
Published 3 months ago by Deanna Palmer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well cast adaptation of the popular YA novel, slightly underpowered but enjoyable.
A well cast and fairly faithful adaptation of the novel - Shailene Woodley as “Triss” manages to portray both strength and vulnerability without any of the regrettable simpering or coyness that often accompanies YA novel-to-movie franchises. Theo James is suitably brooding as her love interest, Four. Cinematic and well structured, this is nonetheless a very...
Published 1 month ago by Jessica Wolfe


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book adaptation., 28 Jun 2014
This review is from: Divergent [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this movie based on the very popular YA novels by Veronica Roth, it provided everything I enjoyed so much in the books. This could be the new teen movie franchise with a fantastic cast, great customs and amazing story. I would recommend this film to anyone who loves action, romance and YA themes.
This movie stayed as true to the book as it could while not being the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Sci-Fi Adventure, 12 Aug 2014
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Divergent [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Divergent (DVD).

DVD Info.
Region 2.
Ratio 16:9/2.35:1
Certificate 12a.
Running time 139 minutes.

Cast.
Shailene Woodley as Beatrice "Tris" Prior
Theo James as Tobias "Four" Eaton
Ansel Elgort as Caleb Prior
Kate Winslet as Jeanine Matthews
Jai Courtney as Eric
ZoŽ Kravitz as Christina
Miles Teller as Peter
Maggie Q as Tori
Ashley Judd as Natalie Prior
Tony Goldwyn as Andrew Prior
Ray Stevenson as Marcus Eaton
Ben Lloyd-Hughes as Will
Christian Madsen as Al
Amy Newbold as Molly
Mekhi Phifer as Max
Ben Lamb as Edward
Justine Wachsberger as Lauren

Box Office.
Budget $85 million
Box office $274,945,239

Whats The Story.
In a futuristic Chicago, society is divided into 5 factions. Abnegation the selfless, Dauntless the brave, Erudite the intelligent, Candor the honest & Amity the peaceful, When all teenagers reach the age of 16, they must choose to either stay in their faction of birth, or transfer into another faction.

Beatrice Prior must make the decision to stay with her family in a faction she feels she isn't right for, or to transfer into another faction, & leave her family behind.

What follows is a highly competitive initiation process to live out the choice Tris has made as she must undergo extreme physical & intense psychological tests, that transform them all.

But Tris has a secret that she is Divergent, which means she doesn't fit into any one group. If anyone knew, it would mean a certain death.

Forced to hide this deadly secret, Tris has to make a difficult choice who is drawn to her enigmatic mentor, Four who appears to both threaten & protect her.

As a dangerous conflict develops amongst the factions a dark secret threatens peace & a potential uprising, Tris must rely on her strength and courage not only to survive, but to save the people she loves.

Timelord Thoughts.

Divergent, is based on a series of novels by author Veronica Roth & has been adapted into a movie which sequel is due out in 2015, I haven't read the novels so my first viewing of this film was watching it with my 13 year old Niece & to be honest I thought it wouldn't be that good, how wrong I was.

Wihin 30 minutes I was completely hooked & immersed in the storyline of why a dystopian future has divided itself into 5 factions, Abnegation the selfless, Dauntless the brave, Erudite the intelligent, Candor the honest & Amity the peaceful.

Shailene Woodley is decent enough in the lead role of Beatrice (Tris) who gives a good performance throughout the movie & while Woodley is not quite on par in the acting department as the outstanding Jennifer Lawrence of The Hungar Games movies which this film has had many comparisons made against, Woodley is a competent actress & carrys the film well through her character.

Theo James is intriguing & enigmatic as Four who at first we the audience know little about & are slowly given litle hints about his past & why he is like he is & what his characters motives are, James is good throughout & did his own fight & action scenes in this movie & his overall results are pretty impressive.

As for Kate Winslet her character Jeanine Matthews is more of an extended cameo role in this movie, yet Winslet makes her characters motives extremely clear & it will be interesting to see what happens next for the Matthews character in the upcoming sequel.

Overall, Divergent is a thought provoking sci-fi movie that asks questions about individualism, our choices & our personal freedoms that also showcases the lengths of those in power will go to if they see someone who is different as a potential threat as they seemingly wish to abolish free will of thoughts as there intentions are for all to adhere to a certain set of well-defined rules resulting in the one's who are capable of independent thought are seen as a potential threat to society & deemed as outcasts to be executed on the spot which is a excellent premise for good sci-fi movies as Divergent delivers a clear honest message of the endless struggle between the human spirit, individuality & conforming to a certain set of rules.

A enjoyable sci-fi adventure that raises some great questions about society in general that reflect upon current worldwide issues that face the real world today.

Timelord Rating.
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faithful Adaptation. Good Performances., 19 April 2014
Based on the young adult novel (series) of the same name, Divergent is the story of a post-Apocalyptic Dystopian society (a future Chicago), where districts and livelihoods are seperated into "factions" according to personality traits and human virtues such as intelligence, bravery, selflessness and truth etc. These factions are known "Abnegation", "Amity", "Candor", "Dauntless" and "Erudite" The story focusses on Triss (Shailene Woodley) a young female from Abnegation (selfless) who on the day of the "choosing ceremony" (where 16 year olds choose which faction they will belong to) chooses to join "Dauntless" (brave) who police the streets of Chicago. In choosing to live in "Dauntless", Triss must leave her family behind, including brother Caleb (Ansel Elgort) who chooses to live in Erudite (intelligent) and her parents who remain in Abnegation (who govern all 5 of the factions). In order to succeed in Dauntless and avoid being "factionless" (the state of failing your human traits and being banished to the streets with no identity) Triss must prove she has what it takes to be brave, strong, courageous and fearless. Whilst she proves to be both brave and fearless, she also shows signs of being intelligent, selfless and truthful, making her "Divergent", a state which is considered dangerous by the Government. In order to avoid being killed, Triss must keep her "Divergent" status secret.

Meanwhile, Erudite run by the tyranical Jeanine (Kate Winslet) is plotting to overthrow Abnegation to gain control of the whole city. When the citizens of Dauntless, including Triss's new friends Christina, Will and Al are drugged using a serum which causes them to be under the control of Jeanine (in order to kill and eliminate the people of Abnigation) Triss joins forces with a Dauntless trainer named Four (Theo James) who she had previously developed feelings for, her parents (Tony Goldwyn and Ashley Judd) and Caleb to stop Erudite from taking control of the whole system. She must also avoid her own iminent death once her status as being "Divegent" is revealed.
"Divergent" is similar in context to other young adult Dystopian fantasies, such as Suzanne Collin's "Hunger Games" trilogy. Both feature a headstrong adolescent female lead who is thrust into conflict and war. Both feature a power-hungry antagonist who wants to control the whole of society for their own selfish needs and both feature a male sidekick whom the protagonist falls in love with. However whilst Divergent and The Hunger Games share similar traits they are also very different. Katniss's goal in Collins series was to free society from the clutches of an evil elitist freemason government and protect her family from war and anhialation. Triss on the other hand is on a journey of self discovery. Her aim is to find out where she really belongs and how she can use her status as being Divergent to help others whilst maintaining strength and the intelligence to out-wit her enemies.

Woodley is a great aspiring actress and she makes Triss both likeable and believable. She is a flawed heroine, much like Jennifer Lawrence's Katniss and regularly requires the assistance of her mentor "Four" (played by an angsty Theo James) however in the third act when the action really picks up she completely steals the show and gives Triss the girl power you'd expect from a kick-ass protagonist. Kate Winslet hams up her role as super bitch Jeanine and whilst her pasty faced demeanour sometimes seems too unlikely (after all Winslet is reknowned for playing the girl-next-door types) you can tell she is having a blast. Jai Courtney on the otherhand steals the show as Eric, the truly dispicable and wicked leader of "Dauntless" who subjects his new students to a terrifying boot-camp of physical and mental tests. Eroc makes for a very disturbing villain and is in my eyes the main antagonist of the whole film (and book).

Also unlike The Hunger Games, there is far more focus on the impending war and action and less focus on the romantic sub plot involving Triss and Four. There are a few romantic scenes, however this is pleasingly even further away from Twilight than The Hunger Games was (which focussed a lot on the love triangle between Katniss, Peeta and Gale). The action scenes are loud and brash (gunfire, combat etc) however the psychological tests which Triss undergoes are what make the film tense, thrilling and exciting. One scene where Triss must jump from a tall building into the abyss will have your heart racing.

The musical score is very dystopian. Light and peppy one moment and dark and moody the next. It tells a story in its own right.

I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys these kinds of stories. It is ultimately a story of sacrifice (there are a few tear-jerker moments) and self belief, however there are elements of family, war, poverty, ignorance, racism and romance thrown into the mix. Divergence is an emlntertaining way to spend a couple of hours and fans of the book will be pleased to know that it remains pretty faithful throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's all about fitting in, 12 Aug 2014
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Divergent [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Divergent is a movie adaptation of a popular young adult post apocalyptic novel.

For the uninitiated:

In a world sometime after the collapse of civilisation as we know it [something demonstrated by a rather impressive opening few shots] people live in a city where society is divided into various factions. Each of which is based on a human virtue. From selflessness to intelligence to love to honesty to daring.

Those not in a faction live lives of total emptiness and despair.

When teenagers come of age they have to take a test which shows them which faction they best belong to. Then they choose which one they want to join.

When Tris Prior [Shailene Woodley] takes the test, her results are inconclusive. Which means she's divergent. Someone too individual to fit into any single faction.

Divergents are public enemy number one in this society.

Forced to hide in plain sight, she joins Dauntless. The faction of the daring.

A dangerous training programme awaits. Where she finds enemies. Friends. Allies. And a dangerous conspiracy that threatens to shatter the status quo....

Divergent endeavours to make social points about society and individualism, and make you think about them as well.

Whilst also being an action and a thriller movie with it.

Those who have read the book will find a relatively faithful adaptation. Perhaps the best you could have hoped for. It does have to change some things and leave other things out. But that's all to make it work as a film.

The characters are all pretty well drawn. Shailene Woodley is a capable lead. It moves along at quite a decent pace. And does contain a few good punch the air moments as characters achieve certain things.

Being based on the first in a trilogy of books means that a lot of this is set up, and thus many things will only be explained in subsequent films.

If you've not read the books, you'll find it's one of those movies where all the exposition you need comes in a quick narration at the start. If you're prepared to pay attention to all this, then you shouldn't have any trouble getting into it.

This has been labelled as the new Hunger Games/Twilight. Which it is only in the sense that it has done well enough, unlike so many other films labelled that way, to get sequels.

It might be a film that will slightly divide opinion. But, just like jumping through a hole in a roof of a building without being able to see what's below, trying something new is often worth the risk. So be dauntless, and give it a go.

The dvd has the following language and subtitle options:

Languages; English.

Subtitles: English.

It begins with several trailers, which can be skipped via the next button on the dvd remote.

It has a few more extras than most dvds of late:

A commentary from the director.

A commentary from two of the producers.

A marketing gallery: four different cinema trailers for the film plus a gallery of movie posters.

The video for Ellie Goulding's song 'Beating Heart' which features in the soundtrack.

Four minutes worth of deleted scenes. Which can only be watched all in a row.

'Faction before blood' a fourteen minute long featurette all about the world of the movie, with the actors discussing it. What may seem like stating what you already know at first does actually result in some thought provoking discussion about the issues it all raises, so this is worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well cast adaptation of the popular YA novel, slightly underpowered but enjoyable., 11 Sep 2014
This review is from: Divergent [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
A well cast and fairly faithful adaptation of the novel - Shailene Woodley as “Triss” manages to portray both strength and vulnerability without any of the regrettable simpering or coyness that often accompanies YA novel-to-movie franchises. Theo James is suitably brooding as her love interest, Four. Cinematic and well structured, this is nonetheless a very “safe” movie and therefore the terror or the fear landscapes or Triss’ brutal fights during training is never particularly realised, robbing the story of its stakes to a certain degree. Fans of the book should be pleased, but this isn’t quite in the same league as, for example, the Hunger Games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oringinal idea., 29 Sep 2014
By 
R. S. Corbin "888" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Divergent [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
The story follows one female character and her search for her true identity. After the great war everyone is put into one of five classes. Does without a class, determined by a test, are called Divergents. The central character is of course a divergent, and finds a ally in one of the people close to her.

The film is over 2 hours, and it shows as it struggles in sections to maintain the watchers interest. I struggled through this film. I cannot recommend it simply on that alone.

There is no bad language or sexual content, and violence is minimal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good. More to come., 7 Oct 2014
By 
Richard Morton (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've not read the book(s) so I can't really compare notes between the two but as a film I enjoyed Divergent. I think it survives the inevitable comparisons (with The Hunger Games) and has set up an interesting franchise of its own.

Shailene Woodley carries the film well as Tris, one of the Divergents of the title. Set in a seemingly barren post apocalyptic future, the last remnants of humanity are holed up in city protected from the rest of the planet by a surrounding wall. They have been largely divided into five subcultures (or factions) who all have their own specific roles to play in the society. Tris is a very rare thing, someone who doesn't fit into any of these factions, therefore she's Divergent.

I won't regurgitate the whole plot of course but we follow Tris as she attempts to find her way in this world and stay out of the clutches of shady government types who aren't too keen on Divergents. The film has much working for it - the future world is well realised and the acting is for the most part pretty good, including a couple of hissable turns from Kate Winslet and Jai Courtney.

There's a few twists and turns in the plot, some family drama, a fair bit of tragedy, a dose of romance (of course) and a suitable amount of action to keep things ticking along. The foundations have been laid for further installments and it looks like it's a story worth sticking with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm Divergent Too, 12 Oct 2014
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Divergent [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this film even though it is probably aimed at a young audience. I identified with the chief protagonist,Tris, whose individuality renders her unable to fit into any of the five factions that make up a futuristic ,dystopian Chicago society. She is a Divergent, someone who cannot be pigeon holed into one category by the ruling elite. They see such types as dangerous ,unpredictable and a threat to social cohesion and they are hunted down and killed. Tris hides her secret and joins the daring ,warrior faction Dauntless.The film follows her progress as she undergoes a difficult training programme ,falls in love and tries to avoid detection. However in the background, one faction tries to usurp the governing role of another and this threatens Tris's family and the protective role of her Dauntless faction. Can she avoid detection and use her multi faceted skills to save the day ? "Divergent" is an exciting,imaginative film and is a critique of bad minded ruling elites desires to crush individuality and homogenise society into manageable ,ignorant little units. There's plenty of action,suspense and romance in this highly entertaining film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Diverges, 16 Aug 2014
By 
Davron (Exeter, Devon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Divergent (DVD)
If you liked hunger games you will be bound to draw comparisons because the plots are similar. IMO HG is a clear winner. I did stick with the movie and quite liked the idea of factions and indeed Kate Winsletts performance, however it was quite ponderous and not very deep. I was expecting rather more special effects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Divergent, 11 Oct 2014
I read the book before watching this and was very happy to find it was a great adaptation. It's easy for me to say that I enjoyed the film just as much as the book, if not slightly more! I suggest reading the book before watching the film as it helps you understand it a bit better.
It's set in a dystopian Chicago where there are five factions; Abnegation (selfless), Erudite (smart), Candor (honest), Amity (peaceful), and Dauntless (brave). At the age of 16, they must choose what faction they want to be in; whether that's staying in their parent's faction or transferring. Each take a test to help them choose which faction they really belong in. Tris' results come back inconclusive, meaning she is Divergent. She knows being Divergent is dangerous and she must keep it from everyone. She must do her best to fit into one of the factions; it could mean her life if someone finds out.
The cast was great, all the acting was spot on. They made good choices when they chose Shailene Woodley and Theo James to play Tris and Four. Kate Winslet was amazing as Jeanine and I particularly liked Eric and Peter in this. There's some good special features on the Blu-ray, I don't know about on the DVD. One of the deleted scenes include the knife-in-the-eye scene from the book, it's a shame they cut it from the film but I'm glad they filmed it at all and that it was there to watch.
This film is full of suspense and action. Fans of the book will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Divergent [DVD] [2014]
Divergent [DVD] [2014] by Neil Burger (DVD - 2014)
£7.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews