Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A day in the life of a Thief!
First lets get the negatives out of the way... the one real/only issue I have is the loading screen when suddenly opening a window/door etc into another part of the street you are struck with a rather irritating loading screen... being next gen you'd think it'd run smoothly and transitions would be extinct, but alas loading screen comes and in my opinion it breaks the...
Published 6 months ago by MrZodiac

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent game, but not without fault.
I want to express straight away that I am a newbie to the thief series. Although I am not able to comment on the how this new game compares to previous in the series, I am going to try to complete this review from a 'newbie perspective'.

Firstly, I think thief, overall, is a decent/enjoyable game, especially to play in short bursts. The map is a decent size and...
Published 5 months ago by Mr. J. W. Brown


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent game, but not without fault., 10 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. J. W. Brown "J.Brown" (York, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thief - Limited Edition Metal Case with Bonus Bank Heist Mission (PS4) (Accessory)
I want to express straight away that I am a newbie to the thief series. Although I am not able to comment on the how this new game compares to previous in the series, I am going to try to complete this review from a 'newbie perspective'.

Firstly, I think thief, overall, is a decent/enjoyable game, especially to play in short bursts. The map is a decent size and there is lots of places to climb, enemies to sneak past. and of course, LOOT!

However, there are lots of issues with the new thief game. Firstly, the loading and frame rate is totally unacceptable for a 4th Generation Console - there were games on the PS3 with less loading times than this, and bigger maps. Whats more, the game feels very short - completed in less than a week (and I am not an 'avid' gamer, a serious gamer could complete this in days…). The side missions are also rather unengaging and repetitive - open this window, find the secret passage, steal this, disable these traps, find the safe combination - good for the first few times, but soon to be found lacking.

In addition, the cutscenes within the game lack quality - whilst the graphics are worthy of a next-gen console, the dialog is totally stagnant and appalling, exposing the weakest aspect of the game, which is the actual campaign storyline. I also find the reliance of thief on 'light' a bit tedious. For example, enemies can see you from 3 miles away if you stand under a torch, but are totally blind to you if you stand in front of them in the relative dark. In addition, on some levels it is physically impossible to go unseen, which ruined the stealth aspect of the game for me.

However, what kills this game most for me (and I have already mentioned this) is the repetitiveness. In this game, every mission feels the same - takedown or avoid guards, pick the lock, get inside and steal something. Although I know the aspect of stealing is the main part of thief, it feels as though this has been poorly executed. In addition, whenever Garrett (the main character for those whom don't know) finds himself in a tight spot throughout the campaign, he typically faints and with NO explanation, apart from hallucinations, has escaped or killed guards. This makes the game feel artificial and unbelievable.

I enjoyed thief as a game, but judging by the comments of hardened veterans of the series it is not the game it once was for them. Sadly, the game was so short (complete with all the side missions and areas you could steal from in 'free roam'), I yet again have a next-gen console and no fresh games to play.

Role on May 27th, Watch Dogs better live up to the hype!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Shame, 7 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thief - Limited Edition Metal Case with Bonus Bank Heist Mission (PS4) (Accessory)
I was really looking forward to playing this game. Within a few hours of playing it, I lost interest. The controls are unresponsive at times and the camera views make it really hard to see where you are jumping to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A missed opportunity, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thief - Limited Edition Metal Case with Bonus Bank Heist Mission (PS4) (Accessory)
I was new to stealth games when I purchased this. Not new to stealth in games, but I've never previously played a game that fits into the "stealth" genre. I was quite excited to see a game like this come out, and was hoping for a refreshing change in gameplay from GTA-style madness. And, in a lot of ways, I wasn't disappointed. The game offers excellent and unique stealth mechanics that are intuitive and work very well.

The object of the game is about as simple as you probably imagine. You are a master thief, moving through The City stealing various objects; often as part of the main story, sometimes for random characters, more often than not just for your own edification. Garrett's tactics are almost exclusively stealthy, as you would probably expect. Hiding behind objects, in objects, in shadows, and in one scenario hanging from a hook. In the missions, the options available for stealth are about as varied as you can imagine, and there are often multiple ways to approach the scenarios - one of the main story missions that springs to mind sees you finding an entrance to a manor, and there are probably about half a dozen different ways to get in, and in each way multiple options to sneak in undetected. The AI in the guards is not perfect, but they do a reasonable job when it comes to detecting Garrett if you put a foot wrong, and the game has programmed the guards with multiple levels of awareness - detection is not an all-or-nothing event.

For all the excellent stealth mechanics in the game, I have to say I feel that the rest of the game let it down.

The story is based in the supernatural for some unexplained reason. I can't say it's the most interesting story out there. In fact, I struggle to remember and honestly struggle to pay attention to it. It's just not very interesting or engaging. And I don't think it serves the concept of the game very well. I was expecting to be, primarily, stealing. Instead, many missions see you hunting for information and stealing gold coins whilst you do it, which isn't really what I was expecting. Indeed, you're generally not looting high-value items like a "Master Thief", but rather larger numbers of smaller items; a bit more like a petty thief to be honest. Having said that, the missions are very well designed levels, and it's clear that a lot of thought went into the design and execution of the main story missions.

Then there's "The City". You'll notice that I've not named the city. That's because the developers felt that they didn't need to name the city; perhaps because they didn't want to tie the game to a specific time and place? Sadly, the generically named city feels very generic and uninteresting. Beyond being set in the medieval era there's nothing particularly memorable about it.

The open world is very poor, and I'm quite surprised to see it released in this format for 4th generation consoles. Each area of the city is self contained, and to move between areas you'll be faced with quite a few loading screens - for a game released a few months after Grand Theft Auto V; one of the biggest (if not the biggest) open world games ever created; it's very disappointing that the rather compact city is restrictive in this way. The main missions take place in their own self-contained levels. What little impetus there is to get you exploring The City is lost when you find that, for most of the game, The City is crawling with guards who will try to kill you on sight, which doesn't really encourage you to explore. Furthermore, the game keeps directing you to the next story mission, with little option to deviate (or so it seems). In GTA and Assassin's Creed (to name but two successful open-world games), you'll find the main story missions and side missions available in an omnipresent mini map. However, in Thief, there is no mini map. A pointer in the centre of the screen directs you to complete the main story, and if you happen to stumble upon side missions then so be it. It's a real shame, because you'll generally find yourself just pursuing the one path of the main story and missing the side missions.

And then there's combat. Many previous reviewers have commented that combat is not necessary in a stealth game - if you are successful then you should be able to avoid combat situations. And I agree entirely. However, for a Master Thief, Garrett's fighting skills are frankly pathetic. You can choose to shoot arrows at your enemies, however it takes multiple arrows to kill your enemies (unless you shoot them in the head) and your capacity for carrying arrows is very limited. Melee combat is particularly poor, and I find it not very responsive or effective. If you are detected (and you will be at some point), you're best to run away and, if that's not possible, you might as well just give up because you've got no chance. Combat is poor, and whilst I suspect that this was a deliberate decision made to encourage the use of stealth, it also means that if you are detected you're pretty much done for, and I think there would be more potential for getting out of sticky situations if Garrett could hold his own a bit better in fights.

There's a lot of good in this game. The stealth mechanics are excellent and it's clear that a lot of effort has been put in to make the main story missions enjoyable, and to encourage you to slow down and use your brain to work out how to get around a problem. However, the main story is let down by a bland, uninspiring (and unnamed) city and an open world that almost goes out of its way to encourage you not to immerse yourself in it. As such, I find myself progressing through the game rather slowly. I often want to play Thief, but when I start playing the game I find there's little to keep my attention.

It's disappointing that a very solid concept for a game with potentially excellent gameplay has been let down somewhat by its execution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 24 April 2014
This review is from: Thief - Limited Edition Metal Case with Bonus Bank Heist Mission (PS4) (Accessory)
The most boring game I have ever played sold it after only a couple of goes not worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre game, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thief - Limited Edition Metal Case with Bonus Bank Heist Mission (PS4) (Accessory)
Thief is not a bad game, but it's not great either. It's basically a corridor simulator with a bit of parkour added in. There's no jump button either, which seems a bit weird. Stealth is pretty good, but you can just go around nailing all the guards and no one cares. If you love stealth games try it out, but otherwise steer clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gameplay=meh, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thief - Limited Edition Metal Case with Bonus Bank Heist Mission (PS4) (Accessory)
Delivery on this game was great, arrived 4 days earlier than expected. The case came damaged pretty badly but this was second hand so I didn't mind.
The gameplay is meh. The levels are very small and quite restrictive. If you're looking for nostalgia, this does not have it. This game is completely different to the older ones. The closest one in similarity is number 3 and it's worse than that again. Buy only if you have a few hours to kill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars don't buy, you will be robbed at how bad it is. The irony of it!, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thief - Limited Edition Metal Case with Bonus Bank Heist Mission (PS4) (Accessory)
I had high hopes for this game and I was so excited when I received it through the post, the excitement stopped when I started playing the game. The frames per second was always dropping....got really annoying! Graphically for a new gen game it was awful, the cut scenes were even worse! To top it off, the story was a little confusing and a little boring...(I have a thing were I need to finish a game once ive started regardless of how bad it may be). Trying to stealth around was difficult because if their was say enemies on different levels of the building it would sound like they are always next to you....i always had to play with headphones in so you can only imagine how annoying that is as well.

I gave it 3 stars because the game does have some potential but failed to deliver with poorly made story telling (the most important part).

The only fun I had was doing the stealth kills and side missions to build my character up.

Its a game I wouldn't rush out to buy for sure, save your pennies....if you really wanna play it I would recommend buying a second hand copy or just waiting till the price drops (alot).

Sorry, but the game was pooh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not even a 'shadow' of it's former self, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thief - Limited Edition Metal Case with Bonus Bank Heist Mission (PS4) (Accessory)
From the outset the game looked promising, rather inviting with the rich graphics of the PS4, but that's pretty much where the good things to say about the game stops, I played the game through on Master difficulty, because I like a challenge and generally the harder difficulty allows you to feel immersed in the characters role especially in a game such as this, but this just doesn't do that, Garret is totally lifeless compared to his former self in previous titles of the series and the gameplay is rather wooden, great you can skulk around in the shadows but you don't actually do much else! If it wasn't for the graphics and the potential it could've had it would've only got 1 star!
If you're new to the series give it a go, if you are a fan good luck enjoying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thief - Limited Edition Metal Case with Bonus Bank Heist Mission (PS4) (Accessory)
good game at first then starts to get a bit repative graphics are very good looks brilliant but spoilt by game play
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very entertaining, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thief - Limited Edition Metal Case with Bonus Bank Heist Mission (PS4) (Accessory)
Not very entertaining, not a very good story, seems too similar to Dishonored. The controls are sloppy and awkward. Wouldn't buy again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thief - Limited Edition Metal Case with Bonus Bank Heist Mission (PS4)
29.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews