Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably their best album.
It's quite hard deciding whether I like this one more than their first album. The second album didn't do it for me. But Joy of Motion is an excellent comeback. Full of grooves, jazzy sections, mind-blowing solos, and "thumping" (check out The Woven Web @ 1:30).

This album is so groovy that you'll be headbanging in 7/8 (time sig.) without knowing...
Published 8 months ago by howardashley

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
They need to bring something more to their sound...
Published 1 month ago by Eier


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably their best album., 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Joy Of Motion (Audio CD)
It's quite hard deciding whether I like this one more than their first album. The second album didn't do it for me. But Joy of Motion is an excellent comeback. Full of grooves, jazzy sections, mind-blowing solos, and "thumping" (check out The Woven Web @ 1:30).

This album is so groovy that you'll be headbanging in 7/8 (time sig.) without knowing.

I ripped this to my iTunes using Apple's Lossless Codec to give me the highest bitrate (roughly 1000kbps as opposed to 320kpbs). This is an album that NEEDS to be played in the highest possible quality! (though you need pretty decent speakers/headphones to make the most of it).

Anyways, best 10 quid I've spend on a CD in a looooong while.

Now to wait 3 years for their next album...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The joy of AAL, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Joy of Motion (MP3 Download)
After a few listens I came to the conclusion that this is their best album to date. Listen to this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tosin Abasi Is One Talented Djentleman, 25 Mar 2014
By 
Ian Devlin "ilikerock" (Glasgow UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Joy Of Motion (Audio CD)
This album - the third and latest offering from Tosin Abasi and his jaw-droppingly talented musical cohorts - is nothing short of breathtaking. I won't bore you with a track-for-track review (although Physical Education is a particular highlight for me just now); you can check them all out for yourself, but suffice it to say that the compositions and performances captured on this record are enough to make your nose bleed, your foot tap (if you can figure out the time signatures..!) and your head bang. How do you even conceive complex musical tapestries like these anyway?! I play guitar, but Tosin Abasi is one player who's musical brain-wiring and technique I can scarcely even begin to fathom. Put simply, Animals As Leaders is groove-prog-jazz-fusion-metal at its most genius and expert level of execution. Period. If you're already a fan, you really don't want to leave this one out of your AAL collection. Complete eight-string genius from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing album!, 9 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Joy Of Motion (Audio CD)
Amazing musicianship from the AAL lads! This album is on par with there self titled effort! Go and buy it! You will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Oct 2014
This review is from: The Joy Of Motion (Audio CD)
Simply outstanding playing and compelling listening from the cutting edge of the math metal crop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another really strong release!, 16 Sep 2014
By 
A. Stevenson "Al" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Better than Weightless, on par with self titled. Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius in the making., 2 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Joy Of Motion (Audio CD)
I get the desire for 8 and 9 string stuff now, initially when I was teaching Misha, Tobin and in particular Havier I really wanted them to use a hybrid 3 string super heavy bass neck along with a 7 string baritone neck and a 4 string standard length guitar neck. The problem being it was a little bit too much for them although it was essentially a 14 string triple neck work of art IMHO it did duplicates fair amount of notes between the base and the baritone but the thing is one note was super tight with a beautiful base harmonic where the other note was a super heavy super open ultra heavy distorted slap across the face, played together it is beyond supersonic and in my mind it is where multiple string guitar has to go. I applaud these guys for their pioneering work in proving that multiple heavy strings do not sound like a bunch of rubber bands haphazardly strung in a mess. Hopefully with a few more years I will teach the guys the joy of the 14 string and finally the true beast the 28 string which can take us Dow n below out hearing ability and into the development of vibration music as experienced by the deaf geniuses among us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 30 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
They need to bring something more to their sound...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Joy Of Motion
The Joy Of Motion by Animals as Leaders (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews