Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great read. I would highly recommend it
This is a great read. I would highly recommend it.
Published 6 days ago by PAL

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed reading The Killing 3 however the author is in ...
I enjoyed reading The Killing 3 however the author is in a rut, It follows far too predictable a pattern. Apart from a change of some names it labours on and the ending is easy to guess
Published 3 months ago by Dust


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great read. I would highly recommend it, 24 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing 3 (Kindle Edition)
This is a great read. I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing 3 (Kindle Edition)
Extremely well written. Very descriptive. Had me hooked from the start. Just wish we could look forward to The Killing 4
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hewson Makes a Killing!, 4 April 2014
This review is from: The Killing 3 (Hardcover)
When I read that David Hewson had written a novel based on the Danish TV series, The Killing, and despite Hewson being an established and respected writer of detective crime fiction (set in Italy) I was still reluctant to purchase the book. However, thanks to excellent reviews in the media and recommendations from book stores I decided to invest. It is unusual for a book to be based on a TV series but Hewson has risen to the challenge with remarkable skill and having thoroughly enjoyed both The Killing 1 and 2 I had no hesitation in buying Hewson's adaption of the third and final part of the Danish series.

This novel is once again a tour de force for David Hewson and while the atmosphere of the series is masterfully reproduced and the plot is almost identical, Hewson himself has said that the adaptations are works of fiction in their own right and consequently, The Killing 3 is a fascinating story and a stand alone novel. If you have seen The Killing 3 on the television then you can expect quite a few surprises and a completely different ending.

To paraphrase the plot, Sarah Lund is contacted by her ex-lover, Mathias Borch, now working with National Intelligence who fears that what was first considered a random killing on the docks could quite well turn out to be the precursor of an assassination attempt on the Prime minister, Troels Hartmann. A shipping and oil company, Zeeland , owned by billionaire Robert Zeuthen becomes the focus of attention.

When Zeuthen's 9 year-old daughter is kidnapped the investigation takes on a new complexion as it soon becomes clear that her abduction is linked to the murder of a young girl in Jutland some years earlier.This case is very reminiscent of The Killing 1 and equally absorbing; as always, the writing is concise and clear and the dialogue true, insofar as possible, to the TV series.

Of course this novel is so much more than a thrilling crime story as it deals with the world of politics, big business and press machinations. Troels Hartmann is in the middle of a closely-fought and tough-tactics election campaign.

Lund's personal life is as intriguing, complicated and as angst-ridden as ever and that Hewson succeeds in translating Lund's character as perceived on television to a novel is a feat of masterly proportions.

I was hooked from the first page and would highly recommend this book to readers in general and to fans of the genre in particular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Killing 111, 28 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing 3 (Kindle Edition)
another great book, hated to put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed reading The Killing 3 however the author is in ..., 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing 3 (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed reading The Killing 3 however the author is in a rut, It follows far too predictable a pattern. Apart from a change of some names it labours on and the ending is easy to guess
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing 3 (Kindle Edition)
Another fantastic read from David Hewson. I have read all three Killing books and they are all equally brilliant.

The plots twist and turn so much I am always left quite breathless until the very end.

I just love Sarah Lund, who is flawed, complicated but above all a brilliant detective. I really like her instinct and logic applied to the case In hand and I really really hope there is a book 4. Borsch and Brix are just brilliant characters and I would also like to see how the potentially very good Juncker progresses.

Thumping good read and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you've seen the series, you must read the books!, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing 3 (Hardcover)
David Hewson was the perfect choice to adapt Soren Sveistrup's screenplays into novels. His writing style makes reading these books just as compulsive as watching the series.

If you've ever been curious about subtitles and tried them, you'll have discovered that very often the complete dialogue is missing, but these books give you the whole story, make the fast-moving action much easier to follow and the storyline more satisfying.

I have all three series on DVD and in books. They complement one another beautifully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant crime drama, 26 Aug 2014
By 
H. BROLLY "western man" (N Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing 3 (Kindle Edition)
Having read and thoroughly enjoyed books 1 & 2 it was inevitable I would want Book 3. I was not disappointed, this is a brilliant crime story interwoven with political and big business intrigue. Lund continues to fight her own family demons whilst being involved with a "kidnapping" which eventually leads to a child serial killer. This is as good and perhaps better than the others with a very dramatic ending. This was a fantastic trilogy and I would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Killing 3, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing 3 (Kindle Edition)
Sara Lund as her dysfunctional best with the usual political intrigue surrounding the story. I had watched the televised version of this book and it pre-warned me of the storyline. The book is well written and is a good sequel to the previous two versions although it looks like David Hewson will have to find another heroine to replace Lund given the finale of this one. If you like the Scandinavian stories you will like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best of the Killing series, 1 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing 3 (Kindle Edition)
For me the way in which the scene jumped from one story to another was distracting. This included the political story was dis joisted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews