Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I think Ronnie would give this 5 stars
Well done to everyone of the bands for this great tribute to Ronnie James Dio. Not a poor track on the album, but then all are classic tracks and you can't beat RJD. I know Ronnie left his mark on me and others as one of the best vocalists ever.
Published 5 months ago by Edguy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Nice Tribute that Could have been better
A little disappointed I have to admit. The album contains some very good covers and then again it contains some okay covers.
Published 24 days ago by P. A. Robinson


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I think Ronnie would give this 5 stars, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well done to everyone of the bands for this great tribute to Ronnie James Dio. Not a poor track on the album, but then all are classic tracks and you can't beat RJD. I know Ronnie left his mark on me and others as one of the best vocalists ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic..., 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ronnie James Dio - This Is Your Life (Audio CD)
What a great album. All RJD classics and not a duff version amongst them. The Metallica medley is a revelation. Fantastic stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All hail RJD, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ronnie James Dio - This Is Your Life (Audio CD)
Just back from work and hastily unwrapped the cellophane and put the CD into the player and must admit although I'm only on my first listen - I'm extremely happy to say "It rocks!".

It's also for a very good cause so don't be "The last in line" and miss out, get it today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential addition.........., 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ronnie James Dio - This Is Your Life (Audio CD)
...To any rock fans music library.

We know the tracks, they just sound a bit different - in a good way I hasten to add!

Get it bought, and you'll be doing good if you do as some funds go to the Ronnie James Dio Stand Up and Shout Cancer Fund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best tribute albums ever, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ronnie James Dio - This Is Your Life (Audio CD)
Ronnie James Dio passed away back in 2010 and ever since his impact has been felt across the heavy metal world and his music continues to inspire thousands all over the world and here, on this album some of those very people who were inspired by Dio pay tribute to the main man himself. This album is a collection of Dio's hits performed by some of the biggest names in Metal today. Metallica, Judas Priest, Motorhead, Scorpions, Slipknot, Tenacious D, Anthrax, Slipknot, Saxon, Steel Panther and more are all represented here.

The standout tracks for me personally are Metallica's Ronnie Rising (A Light in the Black, Tarot Woman, Stargazer AND Kill the King mixed into a 9 minute long epic) which is hands down Metallica's best studio recording in years, Tenacious D's The Last in Line which features real vocal power from Jack Black and an oddly fitting recorder solo, Scorpions' Temple of the King which is easily the most emotional track on the album featuring the best guitar work and finally Halestorm who deliver a pure balls to the wall rocking rendition of Straight Through The Heart. The fact that this album closes out with Dio's own recording of "This is Your Life" makes quite an emotional impact and is certainly the perfect closer for this CD.

However, there are some tracks that don't quite work as well. Motorhead's Startstruck feels quite limp in comparison to the other offerings and similarly Rob Halford's Man on the Silver Mountain, whilst a solid cover, lacks the power you'd expect from the Priest frontman who produced Painkiller and Halford and thus feels like a bit of a letdown. That said, having Dio himself close out the track was a classy move.

All in all, this is an extraodinarily good album with many different takes on some of Dio, Rainbow's and Black Sabbath's best tracks. I am a little disappointed that there's no Heaven and Hell on this album but that just goes to show how great Dio's material really is.Anybody who was a fan of Dio should instantly pick this up, not only is it great music, but it's for a great cause with 100% of the profits going to the Stand Up and Shout charity for Cancer Research. Fans of Dio and metal in general won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This shouldn't work...but it does, 31 Mar 2014
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ronnie James Dio - This Is Your Life (Audio CD)
Bearing in mind what a great vocalist RJD was, it is extremely brave of the illustrious gathering here to even attempt some of these songs, but when even Tenacious D seem to be taking things seriously (or at least nearly seriously - I'm not sure about the flute solo!) then you know you have something worthy here. Of course the songs are well nigh classics anyway so it would take a special lack of talent to ruin them but it could also just as easily have been karaoke Dio by numbers. I am therefore glad to report that the artists here turn in some great performances, with Anthrax, Adrenaline Mob and Killswitch Engage perhaps rising furthest out of the pack for me. Loathe though I am to say it there is one track that doesn't quite work for me - I'm not sure that Glenn Hughes quite nails Catch the Rainbow - but really everyone gives it their all, displaying sufficient vim and gusto to show that they were treating the project with the respect that it deserves, both for the late great singer but also for the charity this album supports. I should really knock a star off for the daft cover but that would be churlish so all I will say is GET IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ronnie James Dio - This Is Your Life, 3 April 2014
By 
C. L. Podbery - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ronnie James Dio - This Is Your Life (Audio CD)
Long awaited and does not disappoint. A fantastic way to celebrate Ronnie James Dio's life. Love the selection of artists too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great tribute album to one of rocks greats., 14 April 2014
By 
Dale Butterworth (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ronnie James Dio - This Is Your Life (Audio CD)
A must buy for any Dio fan great covers of some of his best work. Well worth buying with money going to the cancer trust set up in his name. It's one of my most played albums at the moment great songs and performances from some of rocks greatest artists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Halestorm Rock, 12 April 2014
This review is from: Ronnie James Dio - This Is Your Life (Audio CD)
Saw Halestorm at The Forum, Kentish Town, on 9th April 2014. Their version of Straight Through the Heart was absolutely brilliant live, Lzzy Hale was honoured that she had been asked to record a track for this album. A rock chick doing it for the girls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top, top release., 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ronnie James Dio - This Is Your Life (Audio CD)
Usually I avoid tribute albums like the plague, plus I never, ever, ever like remixes. So, bearing that in mind, I have had to enjoy/endure a huge helping of humble pie with 'This is your Life'. I bought it for my son and refused to give it to him until it was uploaded to all my music systems! It's fantastic. Refreshing takes on the master's classics. Buy it now. You'll do some good for charity plus will spin it for years to come. Perfection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ronnie James Dio - This Is Your Life
Ronnie James Dio - This Is Your Life by Ronnie James Dio (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews