Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New author for me
This is the first book I have read written by this author and I really enjoyed it. Full of both suspense and romance, it has everything you want in a good read. Became quite a page turner towards the end and couldn't put it down.
Published 10 months ago by Mrs E Grace

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mills and Boone
OK so Chris Taylor has a nice style of writing, and there is in this book the premise for a good story, unfortunately the two do not go together in my opinion. Far too much time spent dwelling on the developing relationship between the two main leads and too little on the crime/thriller part. When the writer does step back from the will they/won't they/oh christ they have...
Published 7 months ago by anthony clark


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mills and Boone, 23 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Profiler (The Munro Family Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
OK so Chris Taylor has a nice style of writing, and there is in this book the premise for a good story, unfortunately the two do not go together in my opinion. Far too much time spent dwelling on the developing relationship between the two main leads and too little on the crime/thriller part. When the writer does step back from the will they/won't they/oh christ they have relationship she seems to have very little concept of, or inclination to include, any actual police procedural information. Any breaks they doseem to get come through coincidence rather than detective work, and the coincidences quickly stack up so thick it makes the story unbelievable. Not the worst book I have read by a long chalk, but far from the best. If you like romance books then this might be for you, but if you enjoy crime/thrillers then I would advise avoiding it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New author for me, 21 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Profiler (The Munro Family Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is the first book I have read written by this author and I really enjoyed it. Full of both suspense and romance, it has everything you want in a good read. Became quite a page turner towards the end and couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Below par police procedural hijacked by romance., 8 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Profiler (The Munro Family Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Ellie the bereaved cop and Clayton the bereaved federal profiler are thrown together during an investigation of a dead, and several missing girls. It all starts as a fairly bog standard serial killer thriller although it has to be said, the police don't come across as too brainy here. She's a 27 year old babe, he looks like Brad Pitt. The attraction is inevitable I suppose and presumably the mutual but covert letching consummates at some point although I didn't read far enough to see how it all worked out.

I lost patience after reaching the scene when the "profiler", whilst looking at the remains of a victim blurts out "what kind of sick bastard does this?" Well, fair comment but I can't help observing that as he's a criminal profiler surely he's supposed to know exactly what kind of person does that... isn't he? I'd expect a bit more insight.

In the meantime, despite being in the presence of said stinking, decomposing, dismembered remains, Ellie still manages to notice Clayton's aftershave. That must be some powerful scent...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well done Chris for the good writing skill you showed throughout this book, 27 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Profiler (The Munro Family Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Wow i absolutely adored meeting Clayton and Ellie in this fast paced thriller. Well done Chris for the good writing skill you showed throughout this book, and without the mistakes that other Kindle books seem to withold. Brilliant <3 <3 xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed!, 4 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Profiler (The Munro Family Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I have had a Kindle for 3 years and normally read 2 to 3 books a week. I have been very remiss in not submitting any reviews before.
If you are considering buying this book as a crime/mystery/thriller novel - it is not for you. The focus on the feelings and explicit sexual thoughts of the two main characters detract from the story. The actual storyline was very good, but ruined by the frequent unnecessary inclusion of phrases such as,'drop dead gorgeous' and sexual references.
This is not a book I would class as a crime /thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars a romance, not a thriller, 14 Mar. 2015
This review is from: The Profiler (The Munro Family Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Very disappointed with this book, I will not be reading anymore of the series. I'm so glad that it was free and that I didn't waste my money on it. The amount of stomach clenching, heat to the cheeks and heart jumping that went on was ridiculous. This was soft porn romance, not thriller writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A page turner? Only if you count turning great swathes of the book without reading it!, 26 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Profiler (The Munro Family Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Really disappointed! If I'd wanted to read a soft porn romance I would have chosen one and I resent having this foisted upon me! I'm not a prude, but I dislike sexually explicit books and skipped large parts of this. It went on and on and on for pages, very very boring. It took whole chapters. I got it, they had the hots for each other, but did the author have to peep writing about it in what felt lie virtually every paragraph? Every time one of the other met in the car, we were treated to their private thoughts boring, boring, boring, boring. This was meant to be a crime thriller about a cop and a profiler, but the cop was too busy snapping everyone's head off and the profiler never got around to profiling. This was certainly a page turner, shame I never read most of the pages I turned! This book has put me off the entire series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars He's no Cracker..., 24 Nov. 2014
This review is from: The Profiler (The Munro Family Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
There is not enough research done by the author on criminal profiling, I expected Munro to make intelligent comments and observations to warrant his position as The Profiler but the small amount of actual profiling he did could have been written by a 8 year old. The love story between the two main characters was one dimensional and boring, her face seemed to flush so often I thought she was on the change of life. The author has attempted to give depth to the characters by giving them both a 'tragic back story' (yawn) I don't understand the murderers reason for making a human doll or exactly how he was going to put the pieces together,was it to be animatronic? The ending is strange, why a rollercoaster, why at the top of the rollercoaster, why? To much focus on describing Munros buns and not enough focus on the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended, 13 Jun. 2015
By 
C. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Profiler (The Munro Family Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book, although having read some of the other reviews it has received I can't quite believe some of them were reading the same book.
Both the main characters have suffered tremendous personal loss and we meet them as they try to juggle stressful jobs, unresolved guilt and grief and personal needs. The Author does a fantastic job of articulating the psychological turmoil both are experiencing whilst weaving an intricate plot and a strong sexual chemistry evolving between Clayton and Ellie. There are a couple of instances when plausibility falters slightly - but the storyline and writing is so strong otherwise these moments barely distract the reader, and certainly do not deter from enjoyment of the book.
I would higly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst book I've read in ages, 31 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Profiler (The Munro Family Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The only reason why I finished this dreadful book was because I have a pathological need to finish all the books I start, no matter how bad they are. There were holes in the plot a mile wide and I have never come across such thick 'detectives' in a novel before. Even when presented with the most obvious clues they wilfully overlook them until it's almost too late. The ridiculous, unnecessary sex scenes seem to have been added by the author because he was worried how bad the rest of the book was. I must remember never to start another Chris Taylor again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews