Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I SEE YOU WERE HAVING A CRISIS OF CONSCIENCE
Mitch Brockden (Dominic Cooper) is from South Chicago with a checkered past and criminal step-brother. He has been able to hide much of this as he is a family man climbing the ladder as a city prosecutor. He doesn't lose cases. After a night out with the boys he drives intoxicated and hits another man. He calls 911 then flees the scene. Clinton Davies (Samuel L. Jackson)...
Published 18 months ago by The Movie Guy

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable execution, doubtful plot
High flying District Attorney Mitch Brockden (Cooper) finds his life turned upside down, when he is involved in a hit & run accident, but as he covers up his own involvement, things begin to take a frightening turn when he uncovers an even more gruesome discovery that leaves him in a catch-22 situation of moral ambiguity.

Canadian crime thriller Reasonable...
Published 14 months ago by Jules


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable execution, doubtful plot, 8 May 2014
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Reasonable Doubt [DVD] (DVD)
High flying District Attorney Mitch Brockden (Cooper) finds his life turned upside down, when he is involved in a hit & run accident, but as he covers up his own involvement, things begin to take a frightening turn when he uncovers an even more gruesome discovery that leaves him in a catch-22 situation of moral ambiguity.

Canadian crime thriller Reasonable Doubt is very predictable, that we figured out the whole plot within the first 20 minutes or so of it's 80 minute run time. And parts of it's story are pretty contrived to say the least, while it misses a beat to add some exciting action towards the end, instead deciding to rely purely on low key suspense & psychological thrills that is palatable enough for the most part, albeit very hard to swallow in places (walking out of police station with a gun in hand ? seriously ?). On the plus side it manages to offer an interesting & enjoyable enough experience in it's execution, thanks to some good cinematography, credible acting performances & that it moves at a good pace that pushes you along to the next part of it's story, so that you don't get too bogged down in the details of how you got there.

The acting is passable enough to maintain immersion. Dominic Cooper (The Devil's Double) is beliveable as the upstanding successful prosecuting lawyer Mitch Brockden , stuck in a catch-22 situation as he's dragged down into a traumatic state of panic trying to keep his house of cards upright as long as possible & do some detective work to dig himself out of a hole. Samuel L. Jackson (The Negotiator) was a surprise inclusion, not needing to break a sweat in his limited on screen time, but never the less giving a quiet, powerful & at one point a scary stare with some good camera work that made us jump out of our seats, lol. He does himself no injustice as the sinister Clinton Davis who crosses paths with Mitch in a game of cat & mouse. Gloria Rueben (ER) as the suspicious detective, Ryan Robbins (Sanctuary) , Erin Karpluk (Assault On Wall Street) & Dylan Taylor (Copper) as Mitch's brother , wife & co-worker respectively are able in support.

In conclusion, you know what's coming way before it get's there, but it's that anticipation of experiencing the execution that keeps you watching on. Contains strong language, violence & mature themes. Worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Reasonable Legal Thriller lacking a Stand Out Performance, 23 Nov. 2014
By 
Bill (England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Reasonable Doubt [DVD] (DVD)
Dominic Cooper plays Mitch, a thirty-something prosecution attorney with a formidable success rate. He lives in a dream home with a beautiful wife and baby. He's admired by colleagues, feared by opponents, and loves his work.
Mitch gets drunk with some work colleagues one evening, and makes the fateful decision to drive home whilst inebriated. He becomes involved in a hit-and-run incident, and decides to keep his involvement a secret.
Samuel L. Jackson plays Clint, a man who finds himself in the wrong place at the wrong time, and is charged with the murder of the pedestrian knocked down by Mitch's S.U.V. In a strange quirk of fate, Mitch finds himself as the attorney appointed to prosecute Clint's case...
Dominic Cooper is a likeable actor, but I'm not convinced he's strong enough for a lead role. His character in this movie is a little bland, and he doesn't show any real emotion when stuck in the midst of a terrible moral dilemma with potentially life-changing consequences. I'm a lawyer, and if I was in Mitch's shoes, I'd be in a truly terrible state. Dominic doesn't really get any of this across to the viewer, his performance is too varnished and fails to move.
Samuel L. Jackson is a charismatic actor, who often steals each scene he appears in, but here, he seems to sleepwalk his way through the role. He does nothing manifestly wrong, but there's little or none of his usual tub-thumping bravura. As a man wrongfully charged with a crime carrying a sentence of twenty years to life, I'd expect Clint to be in an even worse state than Mitch, but this never comes across on screen.
However, although the two main characters in the film are a little insipid, the script is reasonably good, and there are enough twists in the tale, and misdirection, to keep the movie reasonably interesting and entertaining.
As a solicitor myself, my two personal favourite lawyer films are Paul Newman's Verdict, and John Travolta's Civil Action, both of which are superb - Verdict [Blu-ray] [1982] [US Import], Civil Action [DVD] [1999][Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC].
Thank you for taking the time to read this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kept in the dark?, 5 Nov. 2014
By 
Malcolm (Edlesborough UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Reasonable Doubt [DVD] (DVD)
Was not very impressed with this DVD.
Have not seen it advertised for cinema, so can only assume that it went
straight to DVD.
My main gripe is that it was either shot in the dark, or that my disc
was an iffy copy as both day light scenes and those shot at night were
very dark, so much so, that I could not always tell what was happening.
Neither Samuel L Jackson nor Dominic Cooper had much impact for me, and
they are both excellent actors when the script allows. The film is a
Canadian production, directed by Peter Howitt who directed Johnny English
he uses the nom de plume of Peter P Croudins on this film so perhaps even
he was not too sure about it?

A lack of subtitles did not help.
I could only muster 3 stars for this offering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull and Predictable, 30 Aug. 2014
By 
This review is from: Reasonable Doubt (Blu-ray)
The only things I liked about the film are : that it is nicely shot giving a rich, warm feel to the movie (although it looked more like a tv production) and Samuel L Jackson's performance was suitably menacing but he is in a movie not worthy of his talent.
There was a good concept at the beginning but from the moment Mitch (Dominic Cooper) realized who the killer was, the film became cliched, rather silly, very dull and predictable. It lacked tension and even the action sequences was very boring to watch. The music made it more interesting than it actually was.
What is noticeable is that the director used a pseudonym ; he probably didn't want to be attached to this mess. This is a forgettable film not worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Being reasonable - doubtful!, 17 July 2014
By 
Mrs. L. Evans - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like Samuel L Jackson films but I'm afraid this is not one of the good ones. His performance seemed to be done on autopilot, whilst his co-star Dominic Cooper was not a strong enough actor for a major role.

The film was very predictable, right through to the end - definitely one to rent not buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother, 1 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Reasonable Doubt (DVD)
Both the main actors seemed to coast along in this film. Dominic Cooper does not have enough acting skill or charisma to lead a film like this and Samuel L Jackson must have realised what a load of rubbish this was because he was not his usual brilliant self.

I particularly disliked the fact that most of the film was shot in darkness - it made it very difficult to see what was going on. I kept falling asleep during the film which says it all really. The last 10 minutes were the best when the film seemed to "wake up" at last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I SEE YOU WERE HAVING A CRISIS OF CONSCIENCE, 18 Jan. 2014
Mitch Brockden (Dominic Cooper) is from South Chicago with a checkered past and criminal step-brother. He has been able to hide much of this as he is a family man climbing the ladder as a city prosecutor. He doesn't lose cases. After a night out with the boys he drives intoxicated and hits another man. He calls 911 then flees the scene. Clinton Davies (Samuel L. Jackson) is arrested for the murder after police find the bloody body in his vehicle. Clinton claimed he found him in the road. Mitch must prosecute Clinton for a crime that he himself committed.

Now that could make a good movie in itself, except it gets really twisty. There are decent clues dropped along the way for the twists, so they don't come too unexpected...except maybe that one thing. The courtroom drama is over after 30 minutes and the rest of the film becomes a crime drama with Samuel L. Jackson in a fitting role.

Parental Guide: Infrequent F-bomb (One I recall). No sex or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonably good film, 25 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Reasonable Doubt (DVD)
There seems to be a trend in ‘straight to DVD’ movies these days... it involves getting an A-list star’s face on all its promotional material and basically marketing it as if they’re in it all the way through. In the case of ‘Reasonable Doubt’ you may have noticed Samuel L Jackson’s foreboding face glaring at you from the posters. Yes, he is in it. No, he’s not in it as much as most people would probably like.

It’s about a District Attorney (who’s definitely NOT Samuel L Jackson) who, while driving home drunk, runs over a man and then leaves him for dead. Later he discovers that Samuel L Jackson has been charged with the crime and so our tipsy lawyer must search his soul as to whether or not to let Sam take the fall. There are a few more plot points which I won’t go into, as they will give away the ‘twists and turns’ that are involved.

Regarding the ‘twists and turns’ – you may see some of them coming and you may not believe the others. There are a few moments in the film where you really do have to ‘suspend your disbelief’ to actually carry on watching. Just enjoy Sam’s performance and don’t think too much about the gaps in logic.

Basically, ‘Reasonable Doubt’ is an okay film. If you like thrillers you can certainly do worse. It’s one of those films that, if you stumble across it on TV late at night, it’s worth watching. However, you probably might feel a little cheated if you paid full price to buy it on Blu-ray, especially as Samuel L Jackson isn’t in it as much as most people would probably like.

Best to watch/rent first before you buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars absolutely awful, 25 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reasonable Doubt (DVD)
Absolutely awful. What Samuel L Jackson was thinking about I know not. The rest of the cast are dire. The plot has every cliche in the book plot and dialogue turgid and full of totally unnecessary swearing. Also run time is 75 mins not 93 which turned out to be a great blessing. dplease do not waste your time. AM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very clever. It makes you think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Reasonable Doubt [DVD]
Reasonable Doubt [DVD] by Peter Howitt (DVD - 2014)
£4.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews