Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Bank Job
Hot on the heels of The Bridge series 2 came Salamander to our screens. A Flemish crime drama this time and a very watchable one at that. It began with the very slick robbery of a rather anonymous Brussels private bank in which a select number of safety deposit boxes were raided. However the police were not even called and the damage repaired within hours as the bank...
Published 7 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
27 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Conspiracy rules!
Fresh from the brilliance of the Bridge I and II I was looking for something to replace the Nordic crime slot in my viewing and noticed another foreign import on BBC4. Okay it's not Nordic Noir and it hasn't the obvious darkness of The Killing or the aforementioned Bridge. Nevertheless, there is definitely something rotten in the state of Belgium and detective Paul...
Published 7 months ago by still searching


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Bank Job, 20 Mar 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Salamander: The Complete Season One [DVD] (DVD)
Hot on the heels of The Bridge series 2 came Salamander to our screens. A Flemish crime drama this time and a very watchable one at that. It began with the very slick robbery of a rather anonymous Brussels private bank in which a select number of safety deposit boxes were raided. However the police were not even called and the damage repaired within hours as the bank fought to cover up any intrusion. It was only a tip-off to Inspector Paul Gerardi that bought it to attention of the police but even then the Jonhkere bank denied anything had ever gone down. However when a number of high ranking politicians and public servants went missing, resigned or committed suicide even, Gerardi was again led back to the secretive Jonhkere bank and it’s corpulent and charismatic owner Raymond Jonhkere.

This was a compelling story of blackmail, revenge and intrigue concerning a secret organisation that pulled the country’s strings and had its roots back in the WWII resistance movement. Gerardi was forced to go into deep cover as Salamander had deep pockets and an even deeper desire to protect it’s secrets at any cost.

Gerardi is an excellent creation, the curly topped and unkempt cop with the David Ginola accent. Dogged and brave, he goes to the wire to bring the bad guys to book in the face of a shocking personal tragedy. The Jeffrey Archer-esque plot did waver slightly in parts and you didn’t need to be Tin Tin to work out the WWII back story but the acting throughout was good if let down only slightly by the weak action scenes.

Not as good as the Bridge or Arne Dahl but if like me you’re a bit hooked on European crime dramas then this won’t disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Suspense Drama, 25 Feb 2014
This review is from: Salamander: The Complete Season One [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great series, well-acted and brimming with suspense. It is tight in a way a modern BBC production would be languid and riddled with limp PC dialogue. This has no padding and moves at a pace, quite impressive and realistic. The notion of the elite running the show behind the scenes fits Belgium nicely, especially with the EU overlay on Belgium's seedy politics but it does beg the question why the BBC could never produce such a drama about The City-Palace-Whitehall Establishment and dirty secrets...........too close to home.

I am really impressed by Salamander an expected not to be !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very slick and very watchable piece of TV drama, 9 Sep 2014
By 
steve b (Dudley England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Salamander: The Complete Season One [DVD] (DVD)
The latest in a line of Euro cop shows to be taken up by the BBC, Salamander may not be up to the standard of Wallander, Spiral or The Bridge but it is still a very slick and very watchable piece of TV drama. It starts off with a scene we have seen many times before, a group of very professional criminals rob a set of safety deposit boxes, not for the money and jewels., although they take those as well, but for the secret documents contained in them. These are then used by the backer of the thieves to blackmail prominent men in Belgian government, business, law, banking and the military. Government officials want it all hushed up when a honest cop (Chief Inspector Geraldi) comes across the robbery. He soon finds himself in danger from both the robbers and the victims who want to keep the whole thing quiet.

Two things let it down, first Geraldi solves the mystery only with the most amazing piece of coincidence and I have never seen the streets of Brussels so devoid of traffic . Still it is worth watching particularly when compared to most of the American and British alternatives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Conspiracy rules!, 4 Mar 2014
By 
still searching (MK UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Salamander: The Complete Season One [DVD] (DVD)
Fresh from the brilliance of the Bridge I and II I was looking for something to replace the Nordic crime slot in my viewing and noticed another foreign import on BBC4. Okay it's not Nordic Noir and it hasn't the obvious darkness of The Killing or the aforementioned Bridge. Nevertheless, there is definitely something rotten in the state of Belgium and detective Paul Gerardi sets out to find and expose just what it is. It opens with a cleverly executed bank heist. The bank is private, solely open to only the most exclusive clientele who keep their dirty dark secrets safe from prying eyes, so they think, in safety deposit boxes deep in the vaults of the Jonkhere bank.

However, only a carefully selected 66 boxes are opened out of the hundreds that line the vault walls. What is it about this particular set of boxes that interests the burglars? Gerardi doggedly pursues the clues wherever they may lead and whatever the personal cost and they lead to the highest places in the land; no-one's secrets are safe and murder and mayhem follow.

This is a very well made crime series with excellent production values and acting to match. For me, though, it doesn't meet the exacting standards set by its Nordic counterparts; it's neither as tightly plotted nor pacey, especially towards the end when it appears to run out of steam but, these caveats aside, in the absence of Noir of the Nordic variety, recommended nonetheless!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars and I like it because it was not syncronized in english but ..., 20 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Salamander: The Complete Season One [DVD] (DVD)
actually I should give half a star extra ,as there were only few dead sequences.
and I like it because it was not syncronized in english but with subtitles instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great story. I hope they make another series, 21 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Salamander: The Complete Season One [DVD] (DVD)
An essential purchase for those who can't keep up with the often very long subtitles. A great story. I hope they make another series. Another good buy, Very watchable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three Language Special, 16 Mar 2014
By 
Charles Vasey (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Salamander: The Complete Season One [DVD] (DVD)
One of the pleasant byproducts of watching policiers and cycle races is that one sees different countries and hears different languages. With Salamander you also get a cracking mystery to resolve. Being set in Belgium the conversations behind the subtitles often seem to be in French, Flemish and English in the same sentence for Belgium is a country of many influences. Into the conspiracy, to which we are alerted early on, come the wonders of constitutional monarchies and the existence of large Roman Catholic monasteries. Add in the architecture of Brussels and the rich farmland around it and you have as strong a sense of location as the endless skies of Borgen or The Bridge. Then we have the unique features of the Belgian legal establishment much as Spiral allows us to see how the French manage such things (never was Juge Roban more needed than in Bruxelles). As with all conspiracies our hero must race against time, but in this case there are a number of parties in the race, sometime helping, sometimes hindering the others. There is also a reluctance by many of them to use ultimate force; they regret it when families are collateral damage, they hope money rather than blood can resolve all. The naked violence of many Hollywood (as against American) films is lacking though if push comes to shove they'll chamber a round with the best of them. I found it very engrossing, and at 12 episodes (compared to the Norse 10) it does like Spinal Tap and goes to eleven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Filip, 19 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Salamander: The Complete Season One [DVD] (DVD)
I would never suspected this series is wonderful. It was recommended to me by my friend, who so absolutely right . I can not wait for second part.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superbly Amazing belgian Crime Drama!!, 5 Sep 2014
By 
Jeffrey V. Ferguson "dr.ashtray" (Wakefield, QC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Salamander: The Complete Season One [DVD] (DVD)
One of my favourite series out of Europe in 2014!!! Brilliant!! Belgian Style!!! If you like this watch the series Spiral (Engrenages)!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 13 Sep 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Salamander: The Complete Season One [DVD] (DVD)
Really good story, though at times a little obvious, but still gripping to see the whole series through quickly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Salamander: The Complete Season One [DVD]
Salamander: The Complete Season One [DVD] by Frank van Mechelen (DVD - 2014)
£13.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews