Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent remixes
A great album with remixes that are not sampled do death. I really enjoyed it
Published 4 months ago by Stig Aspeli

versus
14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Trying to love, but appreciate the work.
When I first heard of the project I was very excited about the prospect of hearing all these old ZTT tunes remixed. The first initial tinge of disappointment was that it was 80% FGTH. Not so much of a problem, but this compilation is worth more than 1 AoN track, and Propaganda's P-Machinery is a massive omission. But I digress...

To the mixes themselves, well,...
Published 7 months ago by N. R. Rees


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Trying to love, but appreciate the work., 1 May 2014
By 
N. R. Rees "Agent Balti" (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: So80s (So Eighties) Presents Ztt (Audio CD)
When I first heard of the project I was very excited about the prospect of hearing all these old ZTT tunes remixed. The first initial tinge of disappointment was that it was 80% FGTH. Not so much of a problem, but this compilation is worth more than 1 AoN track, and Propaganda's P-Machinery is a massive omission. But I digress...

To the mixes themselves, well, by god they are long. Which, to me, normally isn't a bad thing but in some places here less could be more. The mix of "Duel" is far too long. It's 6 minutes in before you get to vocal and before then you have elements of the start, middle, end, middle, start, end...and then the vocals. At least to have a smattering of vocal (or even some clever choppy vocals) before the 6 minute mark when, frankly (no pun intended) I was getting a bit bored.

"Two Tribes" is a mess, I can't get to grips with what B&J are trying to achieve. Like Duel, it's a bit all over the place. Whereas "Warriors..." I think they hit the nail on the head, with some nice beat editing (which I thought there would be more of, but sadly there isn't.)

"The Power of Love" does lift out the magic of the composition quite well, but again they fall into the trap of having elements of the ending before even the vocal has begun (and given the amount of 'depth' we were told they had on offer, I would have thought this kind of 'bedroom mixing' that even I did in the 80's would be avoided.)

I really do appreciate the 'art' of what the B&J have done, I just wish the mixes could have been a bit more playful and not so rigid and strict. What do I mean? Well, the best example I could think of, and I must admit I was waiting for it...is in "Dr Mabuse" when the vocal of "Kein Zurueck fuer dich" is sung. I would have liked the music to have gone quiet and just to have left the words...but the mixes are too structured and clearly became a labour of love for B&J to allow themselves to have some fun! The mixes would still have been faithful but would have shown a bit more flair.

Now, if B&J could do the same for Depeche Mode...hugely unlikely though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent remixes, 18 Aug 2014
By 
Stig Aspeli - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So80s (So Eighties) Presents Ztt (Audio CD)
A great album with remixes that are not sampled do death. I really enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So80s (So Eighties) Presents Ztt (Audio CD)
As expected super nice 80s music in not standard versions, nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So80s (So Eighties) Presents Ztt (Audio CD)
It's as if Blank and Jones have unearthed a heap of authentic Frankie and other ZTT 12"s from the 80s.

My advice: Wait until the wife's out, grab a beer or wine and pump this thing through your 5.1 surround system on all channel stereo. You won't look back, believe me! Hell, Blank and Jones have even put in all the text titles for us, knowing a heap of us will do just this.

I can't get over how good this is. Long live Blank and Jones. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great sound quality and new elements from original masters, but some out-stay...., 28 April 2014
By 
M. B. Wilson "crushtrash" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So80s (So Eighties) Presents Ztt (Audio CD)
...their welcome (unfortunately). When I first saw the tracklisting my heart sunk a wee bit as there was so little non-FGTH on offer, and several tracks were over 10mins long. However generally B&J have done a great and sympathetic job to tracks they clearly love - including some slightly odd FGTH b-sides/LP tracks as those were the master tapes were made available to them. B&J's approach includes extended, constructed intros and outros, something which may not appeal to all, but is an interesting alternative to the original 12" mixes.

However, there are plenty of highlights for those who like the original versions, plus those who like the Razormaid approach to layering and re-construction. All 3 Propaganda tracks are excellent, "Duel" in particular having a lot more space than the original mixes, and keyboards brought to the fore that you will recall as counter-melodies low in the original mix. "Dr Mabuse" is approached in a similar way, the 'seagulls' segment overlaid with some keyboards that are clearly original but work much better in their new setting!

For me FGTH's "Relax", "Rage Hard" (using elements from both main 12" versions)and "Warriors" are worth the entrance price alone, but I agree that 16 mins of "Pleasuredome" is over-indulgent, and doesn't seem to really add much to the original (bar several minutes). "Power of Love" is also very long, but nicely arranged. "Two Tribes" is ok too, but I found the repeated use of the "If your...tagged for identification" line a tad lazy, as there are several other dialogue items they could've used.

Sometimes vocal lines are edited, or placed slightly unexpectedly, such as in "Relax", which can throw the listener on first listen, and a few tracks may arguably lose some of the original energy. Further listens do allow you to adjust your initial expectations though, and in most case the tracks gain in other ways (never been a fan of "San Jose", still not!).

Aside from all the tracks we would've liked to have seen here, but tapes not currently available for B&J to work with, AoN "Moments in Love" is a disappointment. Maybe because the original 12" is pretty much spot on, if lengthy. The Paul Morley snippets and false start mean you don't get much of the track in its strongest form. Shame B&J couldn't have done a re-edit of "Close" too, as they did with Human League's "Don't You Want Me", as that would have been preferable to balance the Frankie material. Maybe if there's a second volume....?

4 strong stars, rated from the MP3 edition (CD with the booklet seems to be in short supply at present). One for the fans, but don't get rid of your original 12" mixes, just add these to them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, respectful, but flawed., 29 April 2014
By 
Dominic Smith (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: So80s (So Eighties) Presents Ztt (Audio CD)
Well it is hard to improve on perfection, but B&J have had a good and respectful go. It is rather like turning up at a garage and seeing your favourite classic car taken to bits and then examining all the parts; interesting, but ultimately they work better as a whole. All the ‘versions’ have appeal, apart from ‘Duel’; it is a personal favourite (and the original 12” Bitter Sweet mix is just wonderful). Sadly though B&J have over-sweetened it and taken out the mystery and bitterness. Just don’t think they’ve understood the song or its lyric. Would have been good to hear a version of p:machinery. Give it a go; its a refreshing meander through the archive, but stick with, now easy to find, original mixes if you want the crown jewels in all their glory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So80s (So Eighties) Presents Ztt (Audio CD)
unusuall selection but magic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars They indulge the mix but forget the song, 3 Aug 2014
This review is from: So80s (So Eighties) Presents Ztt (Audio CD)
I tried to like it and and I can clearly say that I appreciate the effort. But: What has come out of all the work is am okay CD that has some moments but that lacks an overall concept for the songs and thus an overall magic. Yes, okay, Blank and Jones have taken the material and added a few axtra effects and "oohs" and "ahhhs". But taking "Warriors of the Wasteland" as an example: What they basically did is cut the original song to pieces and then put it together in a number of astonishing ways. I liked the verse that Holly sang when in the background there is the string tone going all the time, but that happens just one verse and the end of the song is just the rythm, as if they wanted to fill some time.
The magic of the Trevor Horn mixes to me were that he took a song, added an intro and an outro and maybe some new instrumentation and then you had something special. You can compare the process with word formation. You take a word (say "Frankie"), add a prefix ("re") and a suffix ("sized") and you have created a totally new word: "refrankiesized". To take the comparison even further: Blank and Jones have not "refrankiesized", they cut the whole word into its tiny fragments, the letters, and thus end up with "rekrafinesized". Hm, not so convincing. The only time I felt the whole thing worked was with "San Jose". Maybe that's because Blank and Jones have already worked with Cafe del Mar tunes. Here they add an intro and outro and we have the whole thing nicely tied together. Or: Maybe it's just me and my preferances. But: This CD will go in the file "Collectibles" and not in my daily listening file.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The devil is in the detail, 29 April 2014
By 
J. C. Murphy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So80s (So Eighties) Presents Ztt (Audio CD)
I think other reviewers are missing the point somewhat. Yes these are essentially reverential revisits to classic tracks we all know inside and out. The really interesting thing about this compilation for me is how B&J have focused on the all the little subtleties of the original mixes and brought them into the fore of the mix - the wonderful conga and bass section of Dream within a Dream is given more space to breath and extended slightly, the bassline in Welcome to the Pleasuredome is so clean sounding and you can hear the little half notes and runs in the sequence like never before, it's incredible (and if you can't listen to the full 16 mins in pure delight at the clarity of the mix, I don't think you should be here!) - percussion is emphasised too - listen to the clarity of the bongos and hi hats on Two Tribes - so 'up' in the mix, as they should perhaps have been from the start - sounds aggressive and urgent and the vocals are brought to the front too. Interestingly also with Two Tribes you can clearly hear another synth sound sitting directly underneath the sampled and sequenced bassline - again, they've let this solo for a little while towards the end of the track - perhaps as a 'look what we found' gesture? I love these little Easter Eggs!

Art of Noise are under represented - I would have loved to have heard a re-construction of Beatbox for instance.

They could have just left Power of Love at the wonderful strings section - I always thought that song was cloying and sickly sweet sentimental rubbish........San José too, a cover that should never have made the final cut of any record!

Overall it's the nuances that work for me - the air around the Linn drum kick in Duel - little things like that - it's a producers record and a nod to Trevor Horn's amazing original production, but stands up in it's own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovingly recreated from the original mastertapes, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So80s (So Eighties) Presents Ztt (Audio CD)
Blank and Jones have lovingly recreated your favourite tracks from the ZTT 80s catalogue (Apparently there's no Seal or later stuff as ZTT don't own the rights to this stuff). This is a remix project in a similar vein to The Beatles "Love" collection, or Michael Jackson's "Immortal" collection, in that the tracks have been exclusively remixed from the original sources, only using the original sources, and sounds available at the time of original production. It makes for a very subjective and interesting collection.

There's plenty here to keep the Frankie Goes to Hollywood fan happy, and let's face it, the bulk of ZTT's output from the 80s was FGTH, and certainly the most important so far as the commercial side of the business goes. Highlights for me below:

Starting off with Relax, which is pretty much where it all began, this mix is very good, mixing some elements not normally heard on most of the mixes.

Two Tribes is an excellent mix, combining most of the best bits of the multitudinous mixes from the time, again, bringing new elements to the fore.

Duel sounds completely different to any mixes head from the original sources before. Not as hard as Jewelled or Jewel, but subtle nonetheless.

Dr. Mabuse is sublime, scarier than any of the earlier mixes, which should be point surely with this track.

The Power of Love is brought to new heights of wonderfulness with the string section brought forward for it's own solo, which lasts nigh on 3 minutes, sounding beautiful. Was this Anne Dudley's finest hour?

A Dream Within a Dream is a Propaganda classic once again.

But, subjectively, why oh why go through Welcome to the Pleasuredome (probably the most overrated track here) for 16 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

So80s (So Eighties) Presents Ztt
So80s (So Eighties) Presents Ztt by Blank & Jones (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews