Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 stars... Early contender for Album of the Year
Temples is an up-and-coming indie-rock band. They have created quite a buzz with their early singles, in particular their very first single "Shelter Song" in late 2012. After a couple more singles in 2013, now finally comes the highly anticipated full-length debut album. If you are unfamiliar with the band's sound, think early Beatles-meets-the Byrds-meets-BJM,...
Published 2 months ago by Paul Allaer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the hype
Having read the reviews and coverage both here and in "Shindig" and "Record Collector", I was hoping for something really special, but this is not it. OK, it's good to hear a young band trying to do something a bit different, but even if this album had come out in 1968 you wouldn't put it in the first rank of originality. And what on earth is the drummer...
Published 20 days ago by telemad


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 stars... Early contender for Album of the Year, 17 Feb 2014
By 
Paul Allaer (Cincinnati) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sun Structures (Audio CD)
Temples is an up-and-coming indie-rock band. They have created quite a buzz with their early singles, in particular their very first single "Shelter Song" in late 2012. After a couple more singles in 2013, now finally comes the highly anticipated full-length debut album. If you are unfamiliar with the band's sound, think early Beatles-meets-the Byrds-meets-BJM, adjusted for the 21st century.

"Sun Structures" (12 tracks; 53 min.) opens with the afore-mentioned "Shelter Song" (1st UK single), with one of the more distinctive (if derivative) opening guitar riffs in a long time. Much has been made of singer-guitarist-producer James Bagshaw's love for the 'simple' song structures of Beatles songs, and it reflects in the opening track more than any other song on here. But in a sense, "Shelter Song" is a bit misleading as the album quickly becomes denser, with lots of reverb and at times a wall of sound, aided by a generous use of Mellotrons (check the title track). "Keep In the Dark" (3rd UK single) is a lighter tune, carried by acoustic guitar (and reminding me of some Oasis songs). "Mesmerise" (4th UK single) comes next, and continues in the same vein. By track 7 we get "Colours to Life" (2nd UK single), another stand-out song, an up-tempo rocker that is just one of several tracks reminding me in spirit, if not more, of Tame Impala's "Lonerism" album from late 2012 (just as Temples were starting, coincidentally). Towards the end of the album, the album starts to lag a bit. "The Guesser" is the weakest track on here for me. It would've been better to keep the album at 10 tracks and a shorter running time, but in the end it's a minor quibble.

All in all, "Sun Structures" is a fantastic debut album confirming the promise of the early singles, and then some. I know that we are early in the year still, but I'm guessing that this will be a strong contender to make the top of my "Best Albums of 2014" list come later this year. If you loved Tame Impala's "Lonerism", you will absolutely love "Sun Structures" too. Temples will be touring the US in a couple of months and I already have my tickets for when they come here to Ohio in late April. Can't wait for that! Meanwhile, "Sun Structures" is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sonic Masterpiece, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sun Structures (Audio CD)
If you want to make comparisons with Tame Impala go ahead. Whereas TA have produced a great album it doesnt have the drive or power of the Temples offering here.
The fact that these guys are British leads you to believe that they are only influenced by UK artists of the sixties. I firmly belive that whilst Tame Impala are wholeheartedly basing their sound on that era, Temples are equally influenced by the likes of Prince and rock bands like Black Rebel Motorcycle club and the more 'pop' sound of Kula Shaker.
The great songs here are numerous and I believe the whole album able to sound fresh and exciting. The only let down are the slower tracks otherwise it would b 5*****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mod Freakbeat Returns, 11 Feb 2014
By 
oxxo (san francisco) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sun Structures (Audio CD)
It seems fitting that Temples' debut arrives on the 50th anniversary of The Beatles' performance on the Ed Sullivan Show. All I can say is, I haven't been this excited for a new UK band since the early days of Oasis. Hard to believe that we've been waiting for this album since "Shelter Song" was released in late 2012, but the wait was well worth it.

Temples has perfectly captured that freakbeat sound of the 60s without sounding the least bit derivative or precious; brilliant, dense layers of studio psychedelia set to a solid beat. Although their closest sounding contemporaries are likely Toy, Tame Impala & The Black Angels, enthusiastic comparisons to The Beatles, Beach Boys, Byrds, Zombies, Kinks, Phil Spector, T Rex, etc will rightfully ensue. They've expertly blended all of it into something genuinely modern and unique.

Standout tracks: Shelter Song, Keep In The Dark, Mesmerise, Colours To Life, A Question Isn't Answered.

I predict that 2014 will see a distinct rise in the number of American pop psych bands faking British accents because of Temples...

Oh yeah, and we'll all fall in love with James Bagshaw's hair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sun Structures [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I love this LP so much! Not a single song that wasn't enjoyable. The fact amazon got it to me so quickly and in good order added to excitement on getting this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the hype, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sun Structures (Audio CD)
Having read the reviews and coverage both here and in "Shindig" and "Record Collector", I was hoping for something really special, but this is not it. OK, it's good to hear a young band trying to do something a bit different, but even if this album had come out in 1968 you wouldn't put it in the first rank of originality. And what on earth is the drummer about - quite apart from playing virtually the same thing on most of the tracks, his drums sound as if it they were recorded in an empty community hall. Surely we have come on a bit since then?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good debut, worth the hype, 27 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. C. J. Sutherland (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sun Structures [VINYL] (Vinyl)
a good debut and well worth a listen. similar sound to tame impala which was one of the reasons for purchase and i was not disappointed. nice packaging too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars stunning debut album from this band, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sun Structures (Audio CD)
A simply stunning album. Every song on this album takes me somewhere else id rather be!!! Wish them all the sucess they deserve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sun Structures (Audio CD)
The more I listen to it the better it gets! A great album from some very talented young artists. Very psychadellic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth waiting for, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sun Structures (Audio CD)
I have been waiting a very long time for this ever since I 1st heard Shelter on 6Music several months ago. Very chilled out album and has a very 60's feel to it. Well worth it..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars New psychedelia, 6 Mar 2014
By 
Simon Smith "Alty fan" (West Midlands UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sun Structures (MP3 Download)
Temples are creating a bit of a buzz at present and featuring at the right sort of festivals - SXSW and Primavera Sound being two. They play psychedelic pop/rock like it's 1968 which is either a good or a bad thing depending on your tastes. Generally the album is quickly accessible with strong tunes and sympathetic production. They've been added to my "one's to watch" list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa0dd3108)

This product

Sun Structures
Sun Structures by Temples
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews