Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not quite as good as Misty Island Rescue, but still splendid
Here is a short version of the plot. Percy feels rather depressed because he thinks that Thomas doesn't have time for him anymore. But Diesel, Den, Dart, Norman, Paxton, Sidney and Diesel 10 all persuade Percy to be their friend. But Percy doesn't know that they are just plotting to take over the Steamworks!!!!

This is a really exciting film. True, I think...
Published on 22 Sep 2011 by Tom and Daddy

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the story you think it is
Freed from the constraints of the five-minute TV format, the makers of Thomas and Friends take the opportunity of an hour long special to explore the murky politics of industrial relations on the Isle of Sodor. The plot centres around the neglected underclass of the diesels. Unloved by the profoundly ‘trainist’ fat controller, the diesels languish in a dirty...
Published 2 months ago by Jeremy Williams


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the story you think it is, 9 Oct 2014
By 
Jeremy Williams (Luton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Freed from the constraints of the five-minute TV format, the makers of Thomas and Friends take the opportunity of an hour long special to explore the murky politics of industrial relations on the Isle of Sodor. The plot centres around the neglected underclass of the diesels. Unloved by the profoundly ‘trainist’ fat controller, the diesels languish in a dirty and semi-derelict dieselworks while the privileged ‘steamies’ enjoy a smart and state of the art steamworks.

Since the fat controller “doesn’t listen to diesels”, the disenfranchised diesels have no recourse but direct action. They organise themselves and stage an illegal occupation of the steamworks. Finding themselves forced out, the steamies come to see the diesels’ point of view and join the petition to get the fat controller to build a new dieselworks. Which he does. Hurrah. Now everyone can get back to Being Really Useful.

That’s not the story the makers of the programme think they’re telling, but it genuinely is the plot. And just in case you missed it, it’s recapped in song at the end.

Yes, there’s also a sub-plot about Percy being insecure, something about a missing hose, and lots of ‘wheeshing and whooshing’. The trains don’t just ‘go’ somewhere. They wheesh and they whoosh, they clatter and clank, they roll and they rumble, all the way from the bargain bin to the charity shop DVD shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Strange, dark and sinister, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
'Scary' and uncomfortable for a young toddler, sinister and dark full of manipulation, deceit and confusion - what on earth where the makers thinking??? This is dark, miserable and utterly depressing using the darkest most loathsome aspects of human nature applied to children's train characters - if you want to witness bullying and manipulation in 'the playground' then this is the DVD for you - I have never been so disgusted with a children's programme - which is a shame because my son loves Thomas the Tank Engine - all the others are great, some are a bit preaching or contain some tough lessons but this one is to be avoided completely, it really is that dark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not quite as good as Misty Island Rescue, but still splendid, 22 Sep 2011
Here is a short version of the plot. Percy feels rather depressed because he thinks that Thomas doesn't have time for him anymore. But Diesel, Den, Dart, Norman, Paxton, Sidney and Diesel 10 all persuade Percy to be their friend. But Percy doesn't know that they are just plotting to take over the Steamworks!!!!

This is a really exciting film. True, I think Misty Island Rescue is better, but there are rather dark scenes (dark for a HIT Entertainment at least). It includes laughs, evil, and even some mild horror (for three-year-olds).

If only I could watch this in 3D, or even 4D - that would probably make it even better than Misty Island Rescue.

Most things in it are really excellent. Although this is a five-star review, I was disappointed that Flynn didn't run on roads.

I liked Belle and the CGI animation - I think it looks better than that in Misty Island Rescue, and that was better than Hero of the Rails.

I give thumbs up to this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars hdtv, 6 Oct 2011
i bought a bluray of this for my 3 yr old who loves thomas,thinking it would be better as i have an hdtv.I was wrong.When it is a bit dark in the film at the diesel works its so grainy that it looks like a pirate copy,and there is some random barely noticeable flashing,but you do notice it.It wouldn't be so bad if it wasn't for the fact that around 60% of the film is in dimly lit and scary diesel places.I have to say i was gutted,it could just be as i have an hdtv,but it's not even 8 months old so i know it isn't the tv going wrong and everything else i play is ok on it.It's not the sellers fault but i just wouldn't recommend if you have an hdtv,you will notice it's shortcomings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good but prefer Misty Island Rescue, 4 Oct 2011
By 
Mark Lyttle (Belfast, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent quality animation, but storyline not quite as engaging as Misty Island Rescue. My son (aged 6) really enjoyed it though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In my opinion....fab., 5 Oct 2011
Great buy for any thomas fan......well worth the money because you also get two free children tickets to Drayton Manor which we intend to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More Fun On Sodor!, 11 July 2014
By 
Mr. C. Gelderd "aka GelNerd" (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a 2010 CGI feature-length ‘Thomas & Friends’ movie narrated by Michael Angelis with the voices provided by Ben Small, Keith Wickham, Matt Wilkinson, Kerry Shale and Teresa Gallagher.

After a fire stars on the Island of Sodar, Thomas (Small) and Percy (Wickham) race to help and encounter new fire train Belle (Gallagher) whom Thomas takes a shine to straight away. Their friendship soon leads to Percy feeling sad and lonely. As Diesel (Shale) notices this crack in the friendship, he influences Percy to spend more time at the Diesel Works with the Diesel engines. He does so, and is soon influenced and manipulated by Diesel 10 (Wilkinson) who wants to exploit Percy’s good nature for their benefit.

As Diesel 10 uses Percy to get the Diesels in with the Steam-works in a plot to take over the steam engines on the island, Thomas and Belle are unaware of the plot happening behind their back, and with the arrival of new fire truck Flynn (Rupert Degas), Diesel 10 continues his plot.

Only when it is too late does Percy see what has happened, and so swallows his pride to rally Thomas, Belle and the others to confront the Diesels and save the Steamworks from being run amok…

The introduction of wonderfully scary and evil Diesel 10 adds a nice good vs evil theme to this film, with the steam engines going up against the Diesels in a battle for the prestigious Steam-works compared to the dirty, run-down Diesel-works.

A great new fire train, Belle, features here and she is a worthy addition to the team, with lots of great sequences with Thomas that add to the fact you feel so sorry for Percy as he takes centre stage here to simply be isolated, and then manipulated for the Diesels.

Of course, the moral tale of friendship and respect echo here but it’s very well told and narrated, with good effects and great detail in the fire sequences; that classic element of Thomas danger never far away from funny and sweet drama and humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
really pleased with the item and speedy delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sure a young friend will be delighted on his birthday
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great value, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fab dvd for a boy birthday gift or just being good my nephew was well chufed to be given this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Day of the Diesels
Day of the Diesels by Greg Tiernan
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews