Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A diverting demonic romp
A demon hunter rolls into Smalltown, Tennessee; his sword (blessed with holy water) hidden in the folds of his drover’s coat. A horde of lesser demons, disguised as low-life human trash, cause chaos killing civilians. An honourable local lawman, previously clueless about the existence of demons but an admirably fast learner, joins the fray. A greater demon, whose...
Published 4 months ago by Rowena Hoseason

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars OK read
I have read sooooo many of these same stories that after a few pages, I skipped to the end and wasn't surprised.
Published 4 months ago by Rosalind DETERVILLE


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A diverting demonic romp, 2 April 2014
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Called: Southern Watch #1 (Kindle Edition)
A demon hunter rolls into Smalltown, Tennessee; his sword (blessed with holy water) hidden in the folds of his drover’s coat. A horde of lesser demons, disguised as low-life human trash, cause chaos killing civilians. An honourable local lawman, previously clueless about the existence of demons but an admirably fast learner, joins the fray. A greater demon, whose top-dollar suit is really rather too sharp for the rural setting, attempts to summon something grievously big and bad which might bring about the apocalypse. Something big and bad ends up… trapped inside a dairy cow called Creampuff.

I admit it. Author Robert J Crane got me in the early chapters with the cow called Creampuff and its unlikely possession by an unearthly inhabitant.
But even before that laugh-out-loud moment, I was enjoying this new additional to the urban fantasy genre. Not that the action takes place anywhere urban, so maybe this would be better described as ‘modern magical mythology.’ Consider it in the same category as Harry Dresden or the Iron Druid and you’ll know what to expect. And there’s more than a passing resemblance to the early Dresden files – in an entirely good way.
‘Called’ is action-packed, witty and quick-paced. The writing is clean and crisp. Wry observations about the ridiculous nature of human (and demon) behaviour abound, so look out for the PC-demon who doesn’t want anyone to think his murderous rampage is in any way stimulated by racial bigotry (he’s killing people cos they’s good, not cos they’s black…). The key characters are easily identifiable and the kind of guys you want to spend some time with.
As well as that underlying thread of intelligent, off-beat humour (hello Creampuff), ‘Called’ also gradually reveals an intriguing back-story which comes to light in asides and insinuations. There’s obviously plenty more to come in future books, centred around this particular hotspot of demonic activity and the motley crew of humans (and otherwise…) who have assembled to fight the demons. Even so, the promise of more to come is secondary to the story told in ‘Called’. It’s not just an introduction to a new series but stands alone as a fulfilling supernatural escapade in its own right.

Although the blurb mentions sex, violence and coarse language, those aspects aren’t overwhelming and all serves the plot (it wouldn’t get more than a 15 rating at the movies and mostly it’s pretty much PG stuff).
It certainly provided me with a couple of hours of entertainment, and I’ll be moving right along to the next episode…

7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Southern watch, 1 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Called: Southern Watch #1 (Kindle Edition)
Took me a while to get into it but well worth it. I didn't want to put it down and was glad to have the next book to follow on with straight away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this Author!, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Called: Southern Watch #1 (Kindle Edition)
I started reading Called whist waiting for Robert to finish writing The Girl in the Box book 10, so glad I did, it's a great read, not my normal genres!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Southern Watch #1, 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Called: Southern Watch #1 (Kindle Edition)
Before I read this book, I had never heard of Robert J. Crane. So it was a bit of a gamble. But I found the story very riveting. It kept me very attentive from page 1. The only downside to it, is that it was too short. Never the less, I am hooked, and will be reading more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 7 Jun 2014
This review is from: Called: Southern Watch #1 (Kindle Edition)
I am a huge fan of Crane and this book delivers again. Fantastic from start to finish. Have not been able to put down from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Its a winner, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Called: Southern Watch #1 (Kindle Edition)
What an entertaining book. It ticks all the boxes for me. Cleverly written, beautifully descriptive, funny, laugh out loud funny in fact.
The path of the two main characters cross and the fireworks start.
I never like to give plots away.. But I wil say if ever I get a cow I will call her Creampuff.
This is one of those books you simply can't not enjoy.
Well worth the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good page turner, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Called: Southern Watch #1 (Kindle Edition)
I took a chance on this book (mainly because it was free). I'm glad I did. It's no literary masterpiece, but it is good fun. I'm no expert on grammar but there seem to be a few mistakes dotted throughout the book, but this doesn't detract from what is an enjoyable read.

The concept/idea of the book is a nice take on urban fantasy.
At times dark but with a gritty sense of humour throughout.
If you've read any of the Constantine graphic novels or Terry Brooks Running with the demon series you won't be disappointed with this.

I shall definitely purchase and read the others in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you mixed Supernatural with Jack Reacher, you'd get this guy, 24 April 2014
By 
K. Cooper (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Called: Southern Watch #1 (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant, brilliant, did not want this book to end. Reminded me of Supernatural & Jack Reacher rolled into one. Good starting storyline, great character building, can't wait for the next instalment.

Pacy, action filled, funny script but gripping. Would like to see a bit more depth in the next one but I am committed to this series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable first novel in series., 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Called: Southern Watch #1 (Kindle Edition)
Has a bit of a 'Supernatural' vibe going on here but is none the worse for this. Worth a read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good solid read, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Called: Southern Watch #1 (Kindle Edition)
This book was recommended. Touches of Hiaasen without the environmental undertow, comedic in parts which helped the main character although a little more background on the main protagonist may have thickened it up somewhat. I really enjoyed it and would urge anyone to download and give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Called: Southern Watch #1
Called: Southern Watch #1 by Robert J. Crane
0.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews