Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read with a few flaws
This book is about a male witch who is part of a supernatural enforcement agency. He appears to a commit a murder while drunk and the book attempts to unravel the truth about what happens.

The book is quite well written and a reasonable page-turner. It starts off with an interesting event (discovery of the murder in mysterious circumstances). I did find myself...
Published 1 month ago by J C Mitchinson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars two dimensional and 100% predictable
Nor Reines best, I'm afraid. The lead character is bland at best. The scene setting flimsy and gives the reader little sense of the world this is set in. Supporting characters undeveloped. Feels like a vague idea the author had flung together for a quick buck.
Published 4 months ago by DDGwacott


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read with a few flaws, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Witch Hunt: An Urban Fantasy Mystery (Preternatural Affairs Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book is about a male witch who is part of a supernatural enforcement agency. He appears to a commit a murder while drunk and the book attempts to unravel the truth about what happens.

The book is quite well written and a reasonable page-turner. It starts off with an interesting event (discovery of the murder in mysterious circumstances). I did find myself interested to see what would unfold and if he actually killed the woman.

The world was quite well constructed and I really liked the idea of Helltown. The writing about the incubii was great; you could really feel their sexual power!

The lead character was a bit surface, not a lot of emotions going on, as were the other characters, (with the exception of Domingo, who had at least the potential to have a good backstory). I could not work out if the lack of depth in the characters was a flaw in the writing, part of the style of the book or the actual personality of the characters. However, a book of this type doesn't really require hugely deep characters, as it's more of a plot-driven speed ride, so it didnt put me off entirely. As it's part of series, hopefully the characters will develop.

I had two major gripes. The first one was how often and how much the lead character perved over and objectified the females he encountered. By the fifteeth time he drooled over Suzy's legs or Isobel's boobs, I just rolled my eyes. We get it, they're hot, he's horny, enough already. This happened even when they were in life or death situations. I know that if you are about to die, your sex drive might be up; this isnt the issue for me. It was the language, the constant talk about long legs, globe-like asses, black lace underwear, curves, pert breasts etc. It mayaswell of had a Beavis and Butthead type of "huh huh" alongside it. Again, if it had been clear that this was the personality of the character, it wouldn't have been so annoying, but it wasn't clear, to me, anyway.

The other gripe was ending an action scene with "don't ask me how we escaped, cos I don't know" followed by some dubious tense language "we had been running" "I had been hitting" etc. If you get your characters into a situation, get them out of it, don't cop out.

All this said, it was a good book and I will probably read the next ones (and I'm really fussy)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars two dimensional and 100% predictable, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Witch Hunt: An Urban Fantasy Mystery (Preternatural Affairs Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Nor Reines best, I'm afraid. The lead character is bland at best. The scene setting flimsy and gives the reader little sense of the world this is set in. Supporting characters undeveloped. Feels like a vague idea the author had flung together for a quick buck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Witch Hunt: An Urban Fantasy Mystery (Preternatural Affairs Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
rather far fectched but enjoyed it none the less
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, 14 July 2014
By 
Fren (Northumberland, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Witch Hunt: An Urban Fantasy Mystery (Preternatural Affairs Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
There is nothing wrong with this book, I made a mistake when I chose it. It just isn't my cup of tea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Witch Hunt by AN Reine, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Witch Hunt: An Urban Fantasy Mystery (Preternatural Affairs Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
You've done it again Sara another couldn't put down book. Really looking forward to the next in the series. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Different, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Witch Hunt: An Urban Fantasy Mystery (Preternatural Affairs Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Well that was different. Really enjoyed it. Good read has we always wanting to read the next chapter. Yes a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Witch Hunt: An Urban Fantasy Mystery (Preternatural Affairs Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent read very fast paced and action through out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The new SM Reine series, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Witch Hunt: An Urban Fantasy Mystery (Preternatural Affairs Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this new series by SM Reine. The main character is a witch who works for a supernatural law enforcement agency. After taking a girl home for the night, he wakes to find her dead on his bathroom floor, and no memory of how she got there. He is arrested for murder and the story follows his attempts to prove his innocence. Not SM Reine's usual storyline but really good (in fact I preferred it). Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rating, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Witch Hunt: An Urban Fantasy Mystery (Preternatural Affairs Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I really liked this book as it was fast paced and was fun to read. I'm not that big of a fan of witches but this book didn't force them down your throat. Not every sentence was about spells or something
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant read!, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Witch Hunt: An Urban Fantasy Mystery (Preternatural Affairs Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Read the sample and had to download this book! Start to finish was brilliant. Loved the easy flow of the writing and even more the story! Will be reading the next addition to this series and all the other books too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews