Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars71
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Wow, this guy is talented.

This is a CD of Spanish music for guitar and orchestra. The music is pretty tight in terms of not straying or wandering from the tempo at all but the effect is great. His great charisma is very obvious and he plays with flair and huge technical proficiency. Of the CD as a whole Milos himself has described it as "the most intense and substantial" of all his CD's so far. This I would agree with - and it adds to how very good this recording is.

Although young, it is very clear that he is heading toward a great career - I for one will be watching with interest. I would highly recommend this CD.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2014
This recording is a must-have for anyone interested in classical guitar and indeed, I would say if you only ever buy one classical album in your life, then get this one.
Firstly, the pieces themselves are among the finest every conceived for the instrument and highlight the sheer genius of the blind composer Rodrigo as well as Manuel de Falla. The former, whose 'Concierto de Aranjez's second movement is as famous as it is beautiful (and when you understand the 'meaning' behind that particular movement, the beauty, the turmoil and the final ascending arpeggio, it can reduce you to tears). It is good to see the Fantasia given an airing as well which is all too often forgotten about.
The arrangement of de Falla's Three Cornered Hat is a Spanish tour de force but it is his original composition for the guitar, the Hommanaje de Debussy that we see the guitar being taken seriously by a mainstream composer. It may not be easy on the ear for some people, but the brilliance of the composition to exude so many of the guitars textures in one short piece demands sheer mastery.
Milos has now firmly taken the 'baton' following on from Segovia (whom I had the prviledge of meeting many years ago) and Julian Bream and John Williams who have done so much for the instrument. He has taken from their inspiration and aspects of their playing and has defined his own clear and articulate style which is a joy to listen to.
The classical guitar needed a new 'champion' to promote and make the instrument accessible to the world again. Milos has finally arrived.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2014
A good interpretation of Aranjuez of which I have a few versions and with the added tracks of other guitar pieces it makes for a relaxing listen.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2014
What an excellent technician on the guitar, but the difference that makes Milos brings the music to life with his amazing gift of expression of the music, be it classical or more popular. We shall surely hear much more of Milos now that the work of Williams and Bream is not so prolific. Bravo Milos !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2014
A wonderful album for all those who think the classical guitar is a thing of the past. This fresh approach will revive your interest and taste on guitar music. A most for the beginner and a good compliment for the avid classical music collectionist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2014
This is the third album of Milos' guitar playing that I have bought. I love the Classical Guitar and Milosz is a great guitar player. This third album is very good and I really enjoy listening to it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2015
Excellent playing and recording but only as a stereo recording but it is in H.D.Audio on this audio only Blu-Ray disc with a good selection of music and a modern digital recording in 24 bit sound.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2014
greatly enjoyed worth the money.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 August 2014
I know that the major labels are down in the dumps and may not be putting out the quality product of the past. However, this recording of the Rodrigo duo is an excellent offering from Milos Karadaglic, Yannick Nezet-Seguin and the LPO. This release shows that the major labels can still produce quality releases. Milos plays these two Rodrigo concertos with aplomb, intelligence and sensitivity, and Nezet-Seguin's orchestra makes perfect partners for him.

The first movement of the Aranjuez is so arresting and Milos relishes every moment, interacting wonderfully with Nezet-Seguin and the orchestra. It is a bubbly, sublime rendition of the concerto and the different sections shine and blend well. In the famous slow movement Milos is well-partnered by the cor anglais player. This is a poetic rendition of the second movement and he manages the all-important cadenza very well. The high-spirited finale tops off the Concerto well. It is wonderful to hear Milos doing the Gentilhombre fantasia. It just feels of a piece with the Aranjuez with its nostalgic sensibilities, yearning for a long-vanished Spain. He fits the Baroque sensibilities well when he plays the little first-movement fugue. I love his interaction with the orchestra in the torch dance and the canarios. Although these two concertos have been recorded many times, Milos makes them sound so fresh, newly-minted and engaging, with no annoying histrionics. I'm sure that Rodrigo would have loved this version if he were alive to hear this recording.

In between these two concertos Milos offers some solo pieces. There are two Falla pieces and one Rodrigo piece. Milos's playing is a balance of energy, precision and feeling. I sometimes wish I knew the meaning of the Invocacion y danza (i.e. what Rodrigo intended for this piece.) It is a worthy sketch of Spain that complements the two main works. As this is an excellent release I also bought the Japanese SHM-CD with the guitar piece Recuerdos de la Alhambra as a worthy encore.

All this is given excellent recording with the right perspective. In the two concertos there is an ideal balance between the guitar and the orchestra.

Even if you own other recordings of the two Rodrigo pieces, this one is worthy of consideration. It can even be a first choice. It nicely complements my Sollscher recording very well.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2016
A good, very good and clearly a very talented musician. If you like to hear guitar music played to the highest level.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99
£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.