Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic
Wow, this guy is talented.

This is a CD of Spanish music for guitar and orchestra. The music is pretty tight in terms of not straying or wandering from the tempo at all but the effect is great. His great charisma is very obvious and he plays with flair and huge technical proficiency. Of the CD as a whole Milos himself has described it as "the most intense...
Published 6 months ago by SM

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
Bought this as had bought his most recent release and loved it. This, however. I feel drowns him out as he is accompanied by orchestra. Prefer to listen just to him, raw if you like, as he is just heavenly and restful. This was pleasant in parts but not for me.
Published 2 months ago by J A Walker


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 18 Feb 2014
By 
SM (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Aranjuez (Audio CD)
Wow, this guy is talented.

This is a CD of Spanish music for guitar and orchestra. The music is pretty tight in terms of not straying or wandering from the tempo at all but the effect is great. His great charisma is very obvious and he plays with flair and huge technical proficiency. Of the CD as a whole Milos himself has described it as "the most intense and substantial" of all his CD's so far. This I would agree with - and it adds to how very good this recording is.

Although young, it is very clear that he is heading toward a great career - I for one will be watching with interest. I would highly recommend this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Significant 'Milostone' in Classical Guitar recordings !!, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aranjuez (Audio CD)
This recording is a must-have for anyone interested in classical guitar and indeed, I would say if you only ever buy one classical album in your life, then get this one.
Firstly, the pieces themselves are among the finest every conceived for the instrument and highlight the sheer genius of the blind composer Rodrigo as well as Manuel de Falla. The former, whose 'Concierto de Aranjez's second movement is as famous as it is beautiful (and when you understand the 'meaning' behind that particular movement, the beauty, the turmoil and the final ascending arpeggio, it can reduce you to tears). It is good to see the Fantasia given an airing as well which is all too often forgotten about.
The arrangement of de Falla's Three Cornered Hat is a Spanish tour de force but it is his original composition for the guitar, the Hommanaje de Debussy that we see the guitar being taken seriously by a mainstream composer. It may not be easy on the ear for some people, but the brilliance of the composition to exude so many of the guitars textures in one short piece demands sheer mastery.
Milos has now firmly taken the 'baton' following on from Segovia (whom I had the prviledge of meeting many years ago) and Julian Bream and John Williams who have done so much for the instrument. He has taken from their inspiration and aspects of their playing and has defined his own clear and articulate style which is a joy to listen to.
The classical guitar needed a new 'champion' to promote and make the instrument accessible to the world again. Milos has finally arrived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Its good, 30 May 2014
By 
P. C. Anthony "jasper61" (Derby, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aranjuez (Audio CD)
A good interpretation of Aranjuez of which I have a few versions and with the added tracks of other guitar pieces it makes for a relaxing listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Guitar music, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aranjuez (Audio CD)
This is the third album of Milos' guitar playing that I have bought. I love the Classical Guitar and Milosz is a great guitar player. This third album is very good and I really enjoy listening to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful album for all those who think the classical guitar ..., 21 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aranjuez (Audio CD)
A wonderful album for all those who think the classical guitar is a thing of the past. This fresh approach will revive your interest and taste on guitar music. A most for the beginner and a good compliment for the avid classical music collectionist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aranjuez (Audio CD)
greatly enjoyed worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An exemplary Aranjuez and Gentilhombre pairing for the 21st century, 7 Aug 2014
By 
Yi-Peng (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Aranjuez (Audio CD)
I know that the major labels are down in the dumps and may not be putting out the quality product of the past. However, this recording of the Rodrigo duo is an excellent offering from Milos Karadaglic, Yannick Nezet-Seguin and the LPO. This release shows that the major labels can still produce quality releases. Milos plays these two Rodrigo concertos with aplomb, intelligence and sensitivity, and Nezet-Seguin's orchestra makes perfect partners for him.

The first movement of the Aranjuez is so arresting and Milos relishes every moment, interacting wonderfully with Nezet-Seguin and the orchestra. It is a bubbly, sublime rendition of the concerto and the different sections shine and blend well. In the famous slow movement Milos is well-partnered by the cor anglais player. This is a poetic rendition of the second movement and he manages the all-important cadenza very well. The high-spirited finale tops off the Concerto well. It is wonderful to hear Milos doing the Gentilhombre fantasia. It just feels of a piece with the Aranjuez with its nostalgic sensibilities, yearning for a long-vanished Spain. He fits the Baroque sensibilities well when he plays the little first-movement fugue. I love his interaction with the orchestra in the torch dance and the canarios. Although these two concertos have been recorded many times, Milos makes them sound so fresh, newly-minted and engaging, with no annoying histrionics. I'm sure that Rodrigo would have loved this version if he were alive to hear this recording.

In between these two concertos Milos offers some solo pieces. There are two Falla pieces and one Rodrigo piece. Milos's playing is a balance of energy, precision and feeling. I sometimes wish I knew the meaning of the Invocacion y danza (i.e. what Rodrigo intended for this piece.) It is a worthy sketch of Spain that complements the two main works. As this is an excellent release I also bought the Japanese SHM-CD with the guitar piece Recuerdos de la Alhambra as a worthy encore.

All this is given excellent recording with the right perspective. In the two concertos there is an ideal balance between the guitar and the orchestra.

Even if you own other recordings of the two Rodrigo pieces, this one is worthy of consideration. It can even be a first choice. It nicely complements my Sollscher recording very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real treasure, 5 May 2014
By 
Mrs. Marilyn Mahabir (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aranjuez (Audio CD)
Milos is a real treasure. We went to see a concert where he played all the music on this disc. It is a terrific reminder of such a great evening. He plays so beautifully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aranjuez (Audio CD)
A wonderful album. Such beautiful guitar playing. Whatever your musical persuasions this is unmissable. Sheer brilliance. Would love to see him in concert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aranjuez, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aranjuez (Audio CD)
Amazing, brilliant, what a talent well worth the listen, can't wait for the next album ideal for any guitar lover
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aranjuez
Aranjuez by London Philharmonic Orchestra and Milos Karadaglic and Yannick Nézet-Séguin
Buy MP3 Album£8.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews