Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars New duo Lenner and Duncan are a great addition to the cast of characters
This is the second in the Called: Southern Watch #1 series, a whole new ball game for high fantasy and urban fantasy author Crane.

It is darker, more risqué and offers scenarios that can push the boundaries. It just depends on what those boundaries are for each reader.

On a side note Crane seems to have it going on in the whole erotic scene...
Published 10 months ago by Cheryl M-M

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Short and sharp some depth toit see how the series goes
Published 5 months ago by mark flynn


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars New duo Lenner and Duncan are a great addition to the cast of characters, 1 May 2014
By 
Cheryl M-M (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Depths (Southern Watch Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This is the second in the Called: Southern Watch #1 series, a whole new ball game for high fantasy and urban fantasy author Crane.

It is darker, more risqué and offers scenarios that can push the boundaries. It just depends on what those boundaries are for each reader.

On a side note Crane seems to have it going on in the whole erotic scene creation. He has got the soul-eating, sorry soul-sucking by Gideon down to a fine art. Demon ejaculation 101 that's all I'm saying.

However that also seems to be whole point of his existence and thereby is his storyline, which means his scenes ultimately always end in self-gratification. Gideon isn't just your standard garden variety demon. He happens to be a the serial killing, rapist type of demon with sadistic tendencies.

Plays on Shakespeare's Shylock not withstanding, in this second book the characters are well-developed and the series is beginning to show a lot of potential.

I liked the way the demon hunting team led by fellow demons Lerner and Duncan gave Hendricks a wee lesson in good guy/bad guy criteria. The scenes with that particular trio were quite witty. I can actually see Lerner, Duncan and Hendricks being a great spin-off series.The triumvirate of demon hunters with a penchant for philosophical debates, discussions on the validity of religion, faith in conjunction with the religious theme of hell and relationship advice of the self-help guru kind.

Then there is the unknown factor called Starling. Dibs on her being some sort of demon of the ancient variety, perhaps something like The Source.
Seems as if something wicked this way comes is the theme for the third book. Not sure if the greater worry is Starling or the complete surprise reveal at the end of the book.

I received a copy of this book courtesy of the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Southern watch #2, 24 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Depths (Southern Watch Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Having read all available girl in the box books I move onto Southern Watch and have to admit literally flew through them whilst on a couple of days annual leave. Really good and fast paced reading although I'm not sure the author needs to go into graphic sex scenes as that's been played out too much since shades of grey. Non the less thoroughly enjoyed reading but can't find the third book :-/ so left a little lost now as what to read next
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Catch this Watch, 26 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Depths (Southern Watch Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Once again, I have read from start to finish ,an excellent story from a gifted writer ,it's action all the way with a bit of sex thrown in for good measure. I would like to thank Mr Crane for keeping me entertained for a couple of hours and recommend his work to everyone. (My wife says thanks also for keeping me quiet ) regards Jim
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You will love to hate the villian in this one, 5 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Depths (Southern Watch Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I have found the southern watch series to be a very good read. It can get a bit dark and the baddie is particulalry unpleasant taking self gratification to new depths. The one potentail problem with this series of books is that I have found myself going to bed later and later to read one more chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars better and better, 2 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Depths (Southern Watch Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
It's original storyline had me hooked in book one and in book two I found myself so involved again.
Slightly darker this time but fabulously entertaining nonetheless. A clever twisting tale that will hold you captive till the last page . Now if only I can wait for book 3.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Supernatural page turner., 22 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Depths (Southern Watch Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
A great follow up to Cursed. Interesting alliances as the story continues to build up. Eagerly awaiting the next instalment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must read, 20 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Depths (Southern Watch Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Im a big fan of this Author, if he has written it i will read it, this book is fantastic and i cant wait for the next part to come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 8 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Depths (Southern Watch Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Yet again Robert J. Crane has pulled it out of the hat with another incredible book. The storyline is detailed and intricate and the characters are well defined. This is another truly superb piece of literature and I cannot wait for the next book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 1 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Depths (Southern Watch Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Still reading this but again absolutely brilliant. Roberts books are just so good. So different from the type of book I would normally pick up. Well recommend any of his books. Girl in the box wow what can I say, if you haven't read them then get started..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Robert j crane brilliant author, 22 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Depths (Southern Watch Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Fantastic book.gave it 5 stars because I couldn't put it down. Fell in love with the characters love all robert j crane books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Depths (Southern Watch Book 2)
£3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews