Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Andy's Review
I have been a fan of this series ever since it was first broadcast in the 1990s, so I was delighted when it was reissued at a reasonably affordable price. I must say I'm not disappointed - not only is Chris Barrie' s performances good as I remember, but he is ably supported by all the cast, especially Pippa Haywood, Julia St. John and (from series 2 onward) Judy Flynn...
Published 4 months ago by Andy Casey

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great comedy !!
Great DVD 7 disk set but disappointed that sub titles only available on 3 of the disks. Still enjoy to watch over and over again!
Published 4 months ago by nicola atkins


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Andy's Review, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Brittas Empire (The Complete Brittas Empire - Series One to Seven) (DVD) (DVD)
I have been a fan of this series ever since it was first broadcast in the 1990s, so I was delighted when it was reissued at a reasonably affordable price. I must say I'm not disappointed - not only is Chris Barrie' s performances good as I remember, but he is ably supported by all the cast, especially Pippa Haywood, Julia St. John and (from series 2 onward) Judy Flynn. I have already watched series 1 & most of series 2 already. A real 90s classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 100% FUNNY!, 30 May 2014
This review is from: The Brittas Empire (The Complete Brittas Empire - Series One to Seven) (DVD) (DVD)
Yes, all 7 seasons are so funny that its hard to believe....But it's a fact. These episodes can be seen over and over again. Chris Barrie is a brilliant comedian.....One of my favorite episodes is the one where Brittas is accused of killing some people at the center with a gun, and cutting the head of a guy he was trying to rescue, with a chainsaw, hehe...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Why don't they make comedy programmes like this anymore?, 10 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Brittas Empire (The Complete Brittas Empire - Series One to Seven) (DVD) (DVD)
Outstanding. Shame the Brittas empire had to end. The last series was so funny, they got better over time I think, the Christmas episodes were brilliant. I'm delighted with my purchase, pleased about the price too. Highly recommend this box set. We laughed so much. Hope you enjoy it too. Mrs Skinner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to Whitbury New Town Leisure Centre...and welcome back Mr Brittas!, 23 May 2014
This review is from: The Brittas Empire (The Complete Brittas Empire - Series One to Seven) (DVD) (DVD)
After gaining success in the cult sitcom Red Dwarf, Chris Barrie landed the role of the highly enthusiastic but totally incompetent Gordon Brittas, the manager of the Whitbury Leisure Centre who constantly depresses his entire staff.

While The Brittas Empire isn't as memorable as Red Dwarf it is still a great sitcom feature great characters including Brittas' long suffering wife Helen, the often tearful receptionist Carol, the totally efficient deputy manager Laura, the unhigeanic janitor Colin, male pool attendants Gavin and Tim who unbeknownst to Brittas are in a relationship, the enthusiastic and somewhat naive female pool attendant Linda and the usually unhelpful secretary Julie. Other characters would include Angie as Brittas' secretary in Series 1 (who left the show soon after for reasons unknown) and Penny as the the runner of the centre's beauty parlour in Series 6 (but was written out of the last series due to the actress having other filming commitments).

The Brittas Empire remains one of the more underrated British sitcoms ever made and shows another terrific performance from Chris Barrie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chris Barrie is one terrific actor. As good as I remember, 27 July 2014
This review is from: The Brittas Empire (The Complete Brittas Empire - Series One to Seven) (DVD) (DVD)
Superb! Up there with The Honeymooners.
Chris Barrie is one terrific actor.
As good as I remember......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great comedy !!, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Brittas Empire (The Complete Brittas Empire - Series One to Seven) (DVD) (DVD)
Great DVD 7 disk set but disappointed that sub titles only available on 3 of the disks. Still enjoy to watch over and over again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Sep 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Brittas Empire (The Complete Brittas Empire - Series One to Seven) (DVD) (DVD)
Great item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews