Customer Reviews


279 Reviews
5 star:
 (119)
4 star:
 (59)
3 star:
 (37)
2 star:
 (24)
1 star:
 (40)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be fooled, there's a lot more to this than you think...
It took me 119 minutes to complete the campaign first time round and I got a grade C. In a first for me in 2 decades of gaming, I immediately played the campaign again, this time it took me 90 minutes and I got a grade B. I'm going to keep doing it until I get that elusive S rank - this will probably take a good few hours. MGSV is an excellent game and people really...
Published 12 months ago by Mr. T. Fern

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I was expecting a bigger game than this, considering ...
I was expecting a bigger game than this, considering its half the price of a full game, this is just a demo really, wait for it to go down in price £5-£10.
Published 9 months ago by WAYNE JOHNSON


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I was expecting a bigger game than this, considering ..., 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes (PS4) (Video Game)
I was expecting a bigger game than this, considering its half the price of a full game, this is just a demo really, wait for it to go down in price £5-£10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly short, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes (PS4) (Video Game)
Excellent gameplay but RIDICULOUSLY short. Can be speedrun in about 10 minutes...unbelievable. This isn't worth £23...it's a single level demo.

This is the kind of thing Konami used to release for free as a demo - MGS fans will remember the demos for MGS and MGS2, which actually had more gameplay than Ground Zeroes.

Avoid this unless you're an MGS fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be fooled, there's a lot more to this than you think..., 28 Mar. 2014
By 
Mr. T. Fern "Frozen Reflection" (Brighton UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes (PS4) (Video Game)
It took me 119 minutes to complete the campaign first time round and I got a grade C. In a first for me in 2 decades of gaming, I immediately played the campaign again, this time it took me 90 minutes and I got a grade B. I'm going to keep doing it until I get that elusive S rank - this will probably take a good few hours. MGSV is an excellent game and people really shouldn't get hung up on the main story being potentially very short (you can do it in about 15 minutes if you really thrash about) because the replay value is immense and there are a further 5 missions to complete once you have completed the main story - these can take about an hour if you are being methodical.

The graphics are amazing on the PS4 and the gameplay is fluid and a lot less frustrating than other MGS games, for the price this is a fantastic buy - it also comes with some bonus stuff for next year's Phantom Pain which is nice. Ignore the haters, this is an excellent addition and a real show of next gen power. You've kept us waiting Snake but it was definitely worth while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's more complex than you think!, 8 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes (PS4) (Video Game)
The prologue to Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain definitely lived up to its hype. Think of MGSV: Ground Zeroes as the Tardis in Doctor Who, from the outside it can be beaten in a few hours and you can be done with it but on the inside it has a multitude of collectibles to be found, extra cassette tapes to be played to discover hidden dialogues and more to the story, awesome soundtrack (as all MGS titles tend to have), Sandbox fun that can be a good time kill for anyone who loves the freedom to approach missions in different ways such as stealth, all out guns blazing or even comically knocking out enemies in a jeep and driving them off a bridge after bailing out.

This game is definitely for those who want a slight taste of what MGS V: The Phantom Pain will have to offer while at the same time discovering some new story content and trying to ace every mission this prologue has to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slicker than snot?, 23 Sept. 2014
By 
G. Evans "Valaraukar" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes (PS4) (Video Game)
I'm really enjoying this game. It's the slickest looking game I have so far on the PS4. It's a sizeable demo, but still a demo, so I'm looking forward to the main game 'phantom pain'... The gamecon video demo of the full game looks good, so bring it on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars short but worth playing before phantom pain release., 19 Mar. 2015
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes (PS4) (Video Game)
Although short, this game serves as a warm up to the phantom pain game mechanics. I have completed all the mgs games around a hundred times each and when playing this for the first time it takes a bit of getting used to. That being said, once u are comfortable with look distance of enemies and tactics to stay hidden you really do have so much freedom to play this however you want. Whether u want to stealth and take em all out silently or spot all enemies then go out all guns blazing. But without this game I am guessing going straight into playing the phantom pain upon its release u will be walking into a slaughter or an uncomfortable learning curve. It is a good demo level and a good variety of different missions to get u ready for what will most definitely be a top title for ps4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's not bad only because somesone told you so, 21 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes (PS4) (Video Game)
A game that was "destroyed" by videos of people completing the main mission in a bunch of minutes, which appearently was enogh to say that this game was nothing but an overpriced demo.
I've played it for about 2 weeks, and didn't get even half of the stuff unlocked. The game map and every mission allows yuo to play as you prefer, so, to me at least, the replayability of the game was absolutely enormous.
Also, every fan will love all the extra contents that allow you to get more background stories about the characters from Peace Walker.
It's 4/5 because the control system isn't perfect and, yes, even with all this stuff, the launch price was still too high
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This game is amazing and really gets you pumped for The Phantom Pain ..., 24 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes (PS4) (Video Game)
This game is amazing and really gets you pumped for The Phantom Pain even though some people said it feels like a add on it is VERY challenging but fun to play the problem is I'm terrible at this game because you need to be quiet,sneaky and stealthy and not kill anyone to get S-Rank. I really recommend this game and for a current price of £15.99 it's a bargain lets hope it doesn't go up in price. I hope I've helped if you were wondering if you should buy it or not :) .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I don't regret my purchase, 28 Mar. 2014
By 
MyKeyReviews (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes (PS4) (Video Game)
I can understand why a lot of people felt they had been mugged off, however I personally have had the complete opposite experience.

The graphics are stunning and the gameplay runs very smoothly, combined with the ease of use controls (which I feel has been done very well), makes the game incredibly enjoyable to play.

If you put the amazing graphics, gameplay and all the side missions aside and take a look at just the main story, then this is an EXTREMELY short game; I completed the main mission just under two hours (obviously my first play-through I had no idea where I was going).

You get quite a few minutes of cinematics before and after the main mission, which I thought was thoroughly enjoyable, but it does feel very short in all, so if you're specifically wanting this for the story and nothing else, there is a very big chance you'll be disappointed.

I honestly hope they include Ground Zeros with Phantom Pain, so for those who are only interested in the story don't miss out, though that would mean they would have to wait around a year from the release of this game.

If we look deeper into what this game actually offers as a whole package, then you may actually feel you've got your moneys worth:

You have 6 missions altogether, one which is the main story and the rest are all side missions, these vary from infiltrating and assassinating certain individuals, grabbing classified information or blowing up enemy defences. Some missions are easier than others and whilst it's all based in the same area that's featured in the main game, each mission does feel different:

- Ground Zeros (main story).
- Eliminate the Renegade Threat.
- Intel Operative Rescue.
- Classified Intel Acquisition.
- Destroy the Anti-Air Emplacements.
- Déjà Vu (unlocked after getting all the Xof badges).

- Jamais Vu (EDIT: With the latest game update, you will now have this ready to play, now making it 7 missions!).

If you avoid looking at the walkthroughs which are circulating the internet and do it all by yourself, you should find that you'll get many hours of gameplay time; I certainly have and I've still got lots more to do! (Though I may not be as good as the average gamer).

Okay, so you've then finished all the levels? How about 'S' ranking them all on both difficulties? Or go even further by completing all 15 of the trophies (No platinum unfortunately, however there are 13 bronze, 1 silver & 1 gold to collect, the lack of platinum is apparently due to Sony not allowing platinum trophies on non-full priced games).

- Reunion: Reunite with Chico or Paz.
- Downfall: Clear the "Ground Zeroes" mission.
- Genesis: Clear a Side Op or Extra Op.
- Accomplished: Clear all missions (including Side Ops and Extra Ops).
- Skilled: Clear any mission (including Side Ops and Extra Ops) with a S-rank.
- Hero: Clear all missions (including Side Ops and Extra Ops) with a S-rank.
- Rescue: In the "Ground Zeroes" mission, rescue the prisoner to be executed and extract him via chopper.
- Depth: Clear the "Eliminate the Renegade Threat" Side Op by extracting both targets.
- Pacifist: Clear the "Intel Operative Rescue" Side Op without killing a single enemy.
- Infiltration: Clear the "Classified Intel Acquisition" Side Op while riding in the back of a truck
- Extraction: In the "Destroy the Anti-Air Emplacements" Side Op, rescue and extract all prisoners via chopper.
- Reminiscence: Recreate all scenes in the "Déjà-Vu" Extra Op.
- Unlocked: Unlock all trials.
- Information: Obtain all cassette tapes.
- Insignia: Obtain all XOF unit patches.

So all in all, there are many things to do within this game, which will give you plenty amount of hours worth of gameplay, which is why I believe my £25 was money well spent.

If you want this purely for story, I'd say keep your money and try to borrow it off a friend as you'll probably just feel you've been mugged off; but for those who want to play the main story and have the challenge of completing everything, then this is definitely a game I'd recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Although if you try and take your time and beat it in the best way possible, 20 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes (PS4) (Video Game)
There is more to this game than meets the eye. Yes, the primary game can be completed in less than an hour. Although if you try and take your time and beat it in the best way possible, a good two hours. Then, there are several side missions all of which take an hour minimum on average. Secret missions can also be unlocked, stacking this games lifetime up to a good 10 hour game without even going through it thoroughly. Don't forget it's got amazing graphics and gameplay. Although it gets you seriously pumped for Phanton Pain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes (PS4)
Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes (PS4) by Konami Digital Entertainment BV (PlayStation 4)
£18.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews